Prendergast Villa beat ten-man Tenby 2nds to secure Division 5 Cup glory

Winners Prendergast Villa


2022 Division 5 Cup Final


Prendergast Villa 3 – Tenby 2nds 1


An excellent second half display earned Prendergast Villa a thoroughly deserved victory over ten-man Tenby 2nds to lift the Division 5 cup at Monkton Lane.

There were no goals in the first half, but things certainly changed in the second period as both teams looked to settle this clash in 90 minutes.

Joe John scored from the spot as Gareth Richards doubled the lead, William Malone pulled one back two minutes from full time, in added time Simon Gilderdale struck Villa’s third with a penalty.

Tenby 2nds have beaten Prendergast Villa twice in the league, last November won 3-0 at the Clicketts and followed up with a narrow 4-3 win away, however they could not beat them a third time as Adrian Blundell’s team bagged the silverware in a highly entertaining tussle at Monkton Lane.

Both teams played last week but the game was abandoned early as Prendergast Villa’s midfielder Jake Davies suffered a double leg break, he was present at the final as Pembrokeshire Sport wishes him a speedy recovery.

On the hour mark The Seasiders were reduced to ten men as Benjamin Howells was issued a second yellow card making his way for an early shower, this led to John who opened the scoring as the 37-year-old hit the back of Teejay Gardner’s net from the penalty spot.

That goal inspired the Villa as they continued to put Tenby under pressure, they were rewarded as Gareth Richards was on target with his side’s second.

In the 88th minute William Malone pulled one back to set-up a tense finale, but deep in stoppage time Villa were awarded their second penalty of the evening, up stepped Simon Gilderdale who confidently smashed the ball into the back of the net to earn his side cup joy.

After the final whistle there was a proud moment for Villa manager Adrian Blundell as his son Kieran, aged 17, who was skipper, collected the silverware at the end of a terrific final.
Prendergast Villa: Gareth Bicknell, James Thomas (87’ Daniel Grant), Beau Mogford, Andrew John, Simon Gilderdale, Simon Atyeo, Kieran Blundell (Captain) (72’ Jack Cade), Gareth Richards (81’ Curtis Elliott), Joe John (83’ Ryan Clark), Lee Davies, Damien Ellis (58’ Liam Eaton).
Tenby 2nds: Teejay Gardner, Elliot Moorhouse (84’ Boris Suffolk-Hickman), Callum Karaka (84’ Connor Wilkins), Benjamin Howells, James Gardner, Charlie Greggory (39’ Sam Sarrionandia), Matthew Webb, Cameron Ennis, William Malone, Sam Coleman, Kurt Sarrionandia (65’ Michael Ryder).
Referee: Tom Bevan.
Assistants: James Olyott & Keith Amos.
Fourth Official: Sion Jenkins.

Runners up Tenby 2nds