Three centuries as county lose to Glamorgan Seconds

Pembroke County CCC

Pembroke CCC (245 all out) lost to Glamorgan CCC 2nds (321 for 7)

Umpires: Steve Blowes & Denis Chiffi
Scorer: John Laugharne (Neyland)
Venue: Cresselly CC
There were three centuries for spectators to savour as Pembroke County Cricket Club entertained Glamorgan County Cricket Club’s second string at Cresselly, with visiting centurions in opening bat Connor Brown and No 5 Lorenzo Machedo, whilst Simon Holliday maintained his terrific run of form in this county with another three-figure score.

In a 40-over a side tussle there were runs aplenty but it was the visitors who eventually ran out victors by 76 runs but several young county players showed the spectators that they can play at this level.

Glam make a solid start

Glamorgan SecondsGlamorgan opened their innings with Connor Brown and Jack Murphy, the former Cresselly fast bowler who is now playing county cricket as a stylish opening bat and was made captain for the day as fellow Pembrokians Ashley Sutton and Tom Mansbridge were also given a run-out and made something of an impact.

Murphy looked in good nick as he scored 24 out of the first 39 runs but then was well caught by Toby Hayman off the bowling of county skipper Matthew Davies – and the visitors lost another wicket six runs later when Owen Morgan was removed by Henry Durrant with the assistance of a Jack Bowen catch.

Machedo moves to speedy century

Sutton entered the fray at No 4 and shared a partnership of 93 with Brown in which he scored 34 but was then bowled by canny spin bowler Kurtis Marsh, which brought Lorenzo Machedo to the crease and he joined Brown in raising the tempo.

They added 58 runs before Brown was caught by Ross Hardy to give skipper Davies a second scalp, the opener having 12 fours and five sixes in his classy 108 which showed why he is on the fringes of a first team place.

Mansbridge then chipped in with 20 in a stand of 100 with Machedo, who rapped 16 boundaries and five sixes before the innings closed on 321 for 7, with Machedo undefeated on 124 as Durrant, McDermott-Jenkins and Davies all claimed a brace of wickets each.

Sutton and Holliday start really well

Umpires with Matthew Davies and Jack MurphyPembrokeshire also made an excellent start to their response as Dan Sutton and Simon Holliday hit the loose ball to the boundary and took every chance of adding to a total which reached 104 by the 16th over before Sutton finally departed for 43, including seven fours and a six before he fell to Greg Thomas.

Toby Hayman was unluckily run out early on and was soon joined back in the pavilion by Richard Jones and Jack Bowen to wipe out such a promising start as Holliday survived one half chance to steadily build towards yet another big score.

Ross Hardy smashed two big sixes in his 17 but Tom Davies could only manage a single; whilst Brad McDermott-Jenkins promising start as he belted two sixes ended with him on 13.

Kurtis Marsh (three fours and a six in his 21) stayed with Holliday until the opener finally ended his innings on 111 when he was finally by Prem Sisodiya with 13 fours and three sixes to his name.

There were three wickets for Brad Evans and two apiece for Sylvester, Sisodiya and Thomas as Glamorgan won – but Pembrokeshire gave a good account of themselves as the visitors were accompanied by former Glamorgan and England fast bowler Steve Watkin.
Glamorgan CCC Batting:

Connor Brown ct Ross Hardy b Matthew Davies 108
Jack Murphy ct Toby Hayman b Matthew Davies 24
Owen Morgan ct Jack Bowen b Henry Durrant 6
Ashley Sutton b Kurtis Marsh 34
Lorenzo Machedo not out 124
Tom Mansbridge ct Ross Hardy b Brad McDermott-Jenkins 20
Prem Sisodiya ct Dan Sutton b Brad McDermott-Jenkins 0
Gregg Thomas st Richard Jones b Kurtis Marsh 0
Brad Evans not out 0
Extras 5
Total (7 wickets) 321
Pembroke CCC Bowling:
Tom Davies 8-1-20-0; Henry Durrant 8-0-49-2; Brad McDermott-Jenkins 7-0-63-2; Kurtis Marsh 8-0-54-2; Matthew Davies 5-0-50-2; Simon Holliday 2-0-22-0; Ross Hardy 2-0-29-0.
Pembroke CCC Batting:
Dan Sutton b Gregg Thomas 43
Simon Holliday b Prem Sisodiya 111
Toby Hayman run out 7
Richard Jones b Andrew Sylvester 6
Jack Bowen b Brad Evans 6
Ross Hardy b Gregg Thomas 17
Tom Davies b Prem Sisodiya 1
Brad McDermott-Jenkins b Brad Evans 13
Kurtis Marsh b Prem Sisodiya 21
Matthew Davies b Brad Evans 0
Henry Durrant not out 6
Extras 14
Total (all out) 245
Glamorgan CCC Batting:
Brad Evans 9-0-47-3; Andy Sylvester 9-0-49-2; Evan Davies 3-0-22-0; Prem Sisodiya 7.2-51-3; Gregg Thomas 8-1-51-2; Kieran Bull 4-1-15-0.