Neyland miss out against impressive Canterbury

The Neyland team proudly display their medals

The Neyland team proudly display their medals
The scorers
Neyland enjoy the sights as they emulate The Beatles on the Abbey Road Zebra Crossing
Introductory page from the days programme
More details from the big day for Indoor Cricket in the UK


Indoor Cricket:


Neyland CC (103 all out) lost to Canterbury CC (105 for 1)


Umpires: Todd Holland, Keith Oram & Chris Stokes

Scorers: Ian Milsom (Neyland) and Louisa Arnold (Canterbury)


Venue: MCC Cricket Academy facility at Lord’s Cricket Ground



Neyland’s hopes of securing the National Indoor Cricket title at the third time of asking ended in the semi-finals of this prestigious competition ended at the MCC Cricket Academy facility at Lord’s Cricket Ground as they went down to defeat against Canterbury, who went on to comfortably take the silverware.

The opposition arrived as Kent Champions, and easy winners of all their matches, alongside Grasshoppers CC (Shropshire) and South Wilts CC (Wiltshire). Their squad included two previous National championship winners and had quick bowlers in Max Campbell, Justin McVicar and Isaac Dilkes, who is a current member of the England Under 19s team.

Small wonder then that on winning the toss they invited Neyland to bat and restricted them to only 45 runs in their first six overs, having lost Nick Koomen, who was bowled by Dilkes

for 11, made from 12 deliveries.

Patrick Bellerby, was then run out by a swift return from Stuart Drakeley, for 9 runs in 12 balls, to leave Neyland at 42 for 2 as ‘Mr Extras’ chipped in with 22 runs at this stage.

Neyland unable to increase tempo against fast bowling and tight fielding

The scorersAshley Sutton contributed 12 in as many balls before he was well caught by Drakeley off Ben Cooper and skipper Sean Hannon added 10 in five deliveries before Dilkes proved too fast for him as Justin McVicar took the catch to leave Neyland at only 65 for 4 with just four overs remaining.

Patrick Hannon certainly increased the tempo after a slow start as he had six dot balls but then belted a six, six threes and three twos in his in his score of 30, eventually caught by Sam Burt off McVicar.

Dilkes ended with 3 for 18 in his three overs as Henry Durrant departed for a duck and Neyland completed their innings with one ball still left and their final tally owed much to 31 extras, comprising nine runs apiece from byes, leg byes and wides, plus four no balls.

Lightning start to Canterbury response

In sharp contrast to Neyland’s slow start, Canterbury openers Dilkes and Burt started like trains as The Hannon twins Sean and Patrick conceded 13 and 20 runs respectively in the first two overs and from there they knew they could relax a little as Koomen conceded only two runs in the third over.

Both eventually retired, with Dilkes ending on 26 not out, including six threes and two fours (11 balls) and Burt’s 25 including six threes from his 23 deliveries faced.

Drakeley also chipped in with 19 before he was bowled by Henry Durrant with the score on 95 before Ben Cooper (17 not out) and Campbell saw their side home with nine balls to spare.

Neyland captain Sean Hannon:

“We battled really hard after being put in to bat but in the final analysis Canterbury were too good for us on the day and we had no complaints. But again it’s been a wonderful occasion as we tried to fly the Neyland and Pembrokeshire flags with style.

“I would like to thank my brilliant squad and supporters, especially Ian Milsom (Scorer), Martin Jones (Chairman), Andrew Smith (Secretary) and Rob Bellerby (Treasurer) of Neyland Cricket Club, who all stayed overnight in London to support us, and everyone from around the county who wished us luck.”

Neyland enjoy the sights as they emulate The Beatles on the Abbey Road Zebra Crossing 



Neyland Batting:

Nick Koomen b Isaac Dilkes 11

Patrick Bellerby run out 9

Ashley Sutton ct Stuart Drakeley b Ben Cooper 12

Sean Hannon ct Justin McVicar b Isaac Dilkes 10

Patrick Hannon ct Sam Burt b Justin McVicar 30

Henry Durrant b Isaac Dilkes 0

Extras 31

Total (all out) 103 (in 11.5 overs)


Canterbury Bowling:

Max Campbell 3.0.19-0; Justin McVicar; Isaac Dilkes; Ben Cooper

Canterbury Batting:

Isaac Dilkes retired 26

Sam Burt retired 25

Stuart Drakeley b Henry Durrant 19

Brad Cooper not out 17

Max Campbell not out 3

Extras 14

Total (1 wicket) 104 (in 11.3 overs)

Neyland Bowling:

Sean Hannon; Patrick Hannon; Henry Durrant; Nick Koomen; Patrick Bellerby

Introductory page from the days programmeMore details from the big day for Indoor Cricket in the UK