Men's Indoor Cricket - 14th January 2024

Neyland A, Hook and Pembroke to compete in the section play-offs


Venue: The Community Hub, Neyland

Umpires: Jon Willington & Chris Stapleton

Scorers: Ginny Davies, Rachel Sander & Kirsty Hannon

There were some tense moments in Sunday morning’s matches as Pembroke’s hopes of a play-off place nose-dived a little with a surprise defeat against a Hook team that could only muster five players but they all raised their game to defeat an opposition team that was without three key players in Jack Harries, Sam Davies and Paul White – and deservedly claim a place in Sunday’s play-offs.

It meant that Llanrhian could snatch the third place alongside Hook and Neyland A but the champions smashed them by a massive 75 runs and so a relieved Pembroke are in Sunday’s trio to compete for the title and chance to represent the county in the forthcoming Welsh Finals.

Match One:


The Hook team that has played most of the season and came second


Hook’s five players earn a play-off spot as Miller and James shine with bat and ball


Pembroke (93 all out) lost to Hook (94 for 3) by 3 wickets

Pembroke made a good start when Gareth Long (20) and Luke Butler (28) made a speedy start with the former stroking two fours in his 15 balls faced and the latter going even better with three boundaries in only 13 balls faced as Hook were without key player Daf Bowen and were without a replacement.

It meant that regular Hook keeper Liam Miller had to bowl two overs and he did really well to shift Alan Webster (8) and Gareth Mitchell (0) in his final figures of 2 for only 12 - and equally impressive was Callum James as he took a return catch when Butler returned for a second spell at the crease but was soon walking back to the  changing rooms, plus Jamie Kaijaks, making a rare appearance in blitzing 25 (two fours from only 11 balls) but also giving a return catch to the lurking James.

James ended up with fantastic figures of 2 for 11 as Jacob Lay also claimed a wicket and Pembroke were dismissed for 93, an excellent performance for Hook’s five players.

Liam Miller and James then continued to dominate events with the bat as they opened and sped to 25 apiece from only 38 balls in total between them before No 3 Lay (4) departed and, Aled Phelps (4) and Bradley Flood (2) were run out in the space of only 12 runs and Pembroke must have smelt blood as openers Miller and James returned with the pressure on.

But they were soon back in the swing of things as they reached their target with 11 balls in hand as James finished on 35 not out from 18 deliveries, running superbly between the wickets, and Miller belted five boundaries in his unbeaten 49 from 19 balls to take their team to finals day on Sunday!

For Pembroke, Gareth Long (1 for 20) was the only Pembroke wicket-taker and they were clearly disappointed by this defeat - but perked up later with news of Llanrhian’s demise, which meant that the two promotion winners last campaign join the long-time league champions on indoor cricket’s big day!

Luke Butler - led Pembroke by example in the absence of old pal Jack Harries


Match Two:


A Pembroke Dock team that has played well this season


Dock experience pays dividends


Neyland B (105 for 4) lost to Pembroke Dock (106 for 2) by 4 wickets


Pembroke Dock used their wealth of experience in indoor cricket to gain victory over a younger Neyland B side as they chased down a sizeable score for the loss of only two wickets, with four balls left in hand.

Neyland lost Iestyn Miles (8) early on but Jamie Smith opened for Neyland with an impressive undefeated 28 and was joined by No 3 Lewis Power (retired on 26) as the teenagers advanced their total into the 50s - and there were also useful contributions from Sam Laugharne (11), George Evans (11) and Steve Murray (12) as their innings included nine fours and a six, 13 threes but with 12 unused ‘dot balls’.

For The Dock, the wicket-takers were Scott Griffiths (1 for 10), Nick Daley (1 for 22) and Rhys Daley (1 for 20).

Then The Dock openers Adam Phillips and Tom Grimwood gave them a brilliant start with a quick-fire spurt that brought 45 runs from the first three overs before both retired on 25 - and Rhys Daley chipped in with 23 not out that was understandably slower but very important in the context of the game as his dad Nick (12), skipper Scott Griffiths (8) and Rob Hearn (0) came and went.

He was there when The Dock reached their target as they hit 18 threes, three fours and one six and with 14 ‘dot balls’ - but still with that four-ball buffer as George Evans (1 for 20) and especially Steve Murray (1 for 13) were the pick of the Neyland bowling attack.

Match Three:


Neyland slam bemused Llanrhian


Neyland A (152 for 1) beat Llanrhian (77 all out)

Paul Murray - led Neyland A with fantastic all-round performanceNeyland A rounded off their set programme of league matches having already gained entry for the play-offs but dramatically ended Llanrhian’s hopes of joining them as every one of the batsmen made massive contributions (other than No 6 Brad McDermott-Jenkins who only faced two balls for his unbeaten 2)!

Skipper Paul Murray struck two sixes in his 25 not out before retiring but it was on the bowling front with an amazing 4 for 9 haul from his second over and just missing out on a hat-trick as he grabbed three wickets from four balls! Murray normally keeps wicket indoors but Sean Hannon was unable to bowl after he sustained a football injury the day before and with no replacement available, he bravely battled on with the gloves!

Murray had a willing opening partner in Ross Hardy, who blitzed four sixes en route to 38 before he was dismissed by Llion Williams (1 for 28) from the final ball of the innings after scoring ten runs from the previous two balls.

The onslaught continued via Andrew Miller (27 not out), Jack John (29 not out) and Hannon (25 not out as he limped his way through the pain and included in the Neyland run glut were nine sixes, four fours, 13 threes and a few sporadic ‘dot balls’.

Richard Reed showed his batting class as he opened with 26 for Llanrhian but became one of Miller’s victims alongside Karl Davies (12), Billy Clarke (5) and Llion Williams (0). Iwan James is also highly regarded as an indoor batsman and he contributed 22 before getting run out in the inevitable need for a run chase.

Hardy also claimed 1 for 5 from ten deliveries but there was no denying Neyland’s potent force as the ordinary season was brought to an entertaining close - and now there are the play-offs to look forward to!

The final league table compiled by organiser Patrick Hannon