Llew leads Narberth to first-ever Ken Morris Cup win

Winners - Narberth

Ken Morris Cup Final:


Narberth (112 all out & 149 for 7) beat Landsker Nomads (114 all out & 117 for 8) by 30 runs

Umpires: Chris Stapleton & Steve Williams
Scorers: Emma Griffiths & Gwyneth Johns
Man of the Match: Llew Jones (Narberth)
Adjudicator: David Haynes (Haverfordwest)

Runners up - Nomads
The 2021 competitive cricket season in Pembrokeshire was brought to a highly successful conclusion as Narberth won the Ken Morris Trophy, played in memory of their club stalwart, and as usual organised over the past decade by Richard Howell, assisted by his wife Rhian.
Rob Nicholas collected the trophy on behalf of his Narberth team-mates after beating the Landsker Nomads, a guest team organised by Gareth ‘Gizmo’ Morgan, who enjoyed a three-run lead after the first innings apiece but then man of the match Llew Jones and Rhys Davies helped establish a big total second team around – and so Narberth won the trophy for the first time in their history.

Man of the Match Llew Jones with David Haynes



Nomads keep a tight rein on Narberth scoring . . .

After being asked to bat first Narberth were unable to secure the big score they had hoped for as The Nomads’ bowlers kept a tight rein on things, other than the 24 extras conceded (including 17 wides), which proved to be the top scorer.
As a result, only Aaron Keane (three fours and a six in his 22), Llew Jones (11), Rhys Davies (14) and Ceri Davies (13) managed double figures but were unable to really kick on against Richard Read (1 for 28), Manu Idagoda (3 for 19), Phil Gooch (1 for 15), Ollie Cook (1 for 14) and Gareth Morgan (2 for 1).
Narberth Batting:
Gary Nicholas ct Andrew Joseph b Manu 5
Aaron Keane b Manu 22
Shay Norcross ct Gareth Morgan b Richard Read 7
Llew Jones ct Richard Reed b Ollie Cook 11
Jamie Bohata lbw b Phil Gooch 8
Rob Nicholas b Manu 1
Rhys Davies b Andrew Joseph 14
Aled Davies ct Ollie Cook b Andrew Joseph 1
Ceri Davies b Gareth Morgan 13
Elliott Evans not out 6
Charles Harries b Gareth Morgan 0
Extras 2
Total (all out) 112
Nomads Bowling:
Richard Reed 4-0-28-1; Manu 5-1-19-3; Phil Gooch 2-0-15-1; Ollie Cook 4-0-14-1; Andrew Joseph 4-0-28-2; Gareth Morgan 0.3-0-1-2

Richard Morris presents the trophy to Rob Nicholas

. . . But Narberth bowlers also take control

The Nomads must have thought that they had a good chance of building a big first-innings lead on a good batting strip prepared by Matthew and Michael Johns but were also unable to do so as only No 3 batsman Manu ever got going with a classy 51, including four fours and a six, before he was well caught by Rhys Davies off Jamie Bohata’s bowling.
Apart from that, only ‘Mr Extras’ reached double figures with 21 as they struggled from 93 for 5 to 115 all out in 18.3 overs, a lead of only three runs, as Bohata (3 for 28) and Ceri Davies (4 for 18) did the bulk of the damage, assisted by Llew Jones (1 for 21) and Shay Norcross (1 for 41)
Nomads Batting:
Richard Read run out 3
Will Davidson-Howell ct & b Llew Jones 9
Manu ct Rhys Davies b Jamie Bohata 51
Andrew Joseph b Shay Norcross 7
Ollie Cook b Jamie Bohata 2
Gareth Morgan ct & b Ceri Davies 5
Dudley Joseph b Ceri Davies 5
Phil Gooch lbw b Ceri Davies 4
Daniel Warder ct & b Ceri Davies 1
Sam Anderson not out 6
Andrew Trainer ct & b Jamie Bohata 1
Extras 21
Total (all out) 115
Narberth Bowling:
Llew Jones 5-0-21-1; Shay Norcross 5-0-41-1; Jamie Bohata 4.3-0-28-3; Ceri Davies 4-0-18-4

Llew Jones hits out for Narberth - pic Susan McKehon



Narberth battle their way back from a poor start . . .

It seemed as if the Narberth second innings would follow the same pattern as the first when they collapsed to 5 for 3 with key run-makes Keane and Bohata getting ducks and Gary Nicholas only two runs as Ollie Cook celebrated his 50th birthday with two wickets and Manu the other.
But Shay Norcross managed 20 in a stand of 84 with Llew Jones and then Rhys Davies provided late impetus with an undefeated 46, including four big sixes, to revive memories of yesteryear.
Jones eventually departed for 53, with five fours and three sixes to his name, caught by Andrew Trainer off Richard Read, and a late 10 not out by skipper Rob Nicholas, alongside another 16 extras, took Narberth to a challenging tally of 149 for 7.
Narberth Batting:
Gary Nicholas ct Phil Gooch b Ollie Cook 2
Aaron Keane ct  Sam Anderson b Manu 0
Shay Norcross lbw b Phil Gooch 20
Jamie Bohata b Ollie Cook 0
Llew Jones ct Andrew Trainer b Richard Read 53
Aled Davies b Gareth Morgan 2
Rhys Davies not out 46
Ceri Davies b Gareth Morgan 0
Rob Nicholas not out 10
Extras 16
Total (7 wickets) 149
Nomads Bowling:
Ollie Cook 5-1-13-2; Manu 5-0-25-1; Andrew Joseph 1-0-21-0; Richard Read 5-0-42-1; Phil Gooch 2-0-17-1; Gareth Morgan 2-0-27-2

Manu Idawoda - best batting for The Nomads - pic Susan McKehon

. . . But Nomads find the chase too challenging once Manu went early

Chasing 147 to win was always going to be a big challenge for The Nomads but although they lost Ollie Cook early, after belting a big six before being well caught by Ceri Davies, and Andrew Joseph (for a duck) both to Llew Jones, they were still in contention at  51 for 2.

Richard Read contributed 25 (three fours and a six) and Manu looked composed on 15 (two fours) but up stepped another talented teenager from the Narberth ranks in Elliott Evans, who bowled them both and suddenly The Nomads were in trouble at 53 for 4!
Then another potential match-winner in Will Davidson-Howell was run out and after  those setbacks there was clearly only one winner, despite an excellent 37 not out Dudley Joseph (two boundaries) no-one else was again able to claim double figures as Jones (2 for 21), Evans (3 for 29) and Ceri Davies (2 for 36) took the wickets – and Narberth were deserved winners by 30 runs.

Umpires - Steve Williams and Chris Stapleton
Nomads Batting:
Ollie Cook ct Ceri Davies b Llew Jones 7
Richard Read b Elliott Evans 25
Andrew Joseph b Llew Jones 0
Manu Idagoda b Elliott Evans 15
Will Davidson-Howell run out 4
Dudley Joseph not out 37
Gareth Morgan b Elliott Evans 9
Daniel Warder ct Shay Norcross b Ceri Davies 4
Phil Gooch b Ceri Davies 0
Sam Anderson not out 4
Extras 12
Total 117 (for 8 wickets) 117
Narberth Bowling:
Llew Jones 5-1-21-2; Shay Norcross 5-0-26-0; Elliott Evans 5-0-29-3; Ceri Davies 5-0-36-2

Scorers - Emma Richards and Gwyneth Johns

And finally . . .

As usual Richard Howell conducted the post-match ceremony in style as the thanked both teams, umpires Steve Williams and Chris Stapleton, scorers Emma Richards and Gwyneth Johns, groundsmen Matthew and Mike Johns, sponsors and the large crowd which had turned out to support.
He also introduced the Morris family, who provided the splendid trophies, with Ken’s son Richard presenting the lovely trophy to delighted winning captain Rob Nicholas.
David Haynes (Haverfordwest) chose Llew Jones as man of the match and few would argue with his choice because the talented all-round sportsman had contributed in every innings of the game, and his half century, the only one of the match, certainly swung the game back in Narberth’s favour.
There was also a very nice final touch to the day as Ollie Cook, now a Nomad, who had served Narberth so well as a player over many years, received a special 50th birthday present from Gwyneth Johns, on behalf of Narberth Cricket Club, of a framed scorecard of a century he had scored, from his halcyon days as a top all-rounder at the club.

Elliot Evans - talented teenage all-rounder for Narberth - pic Susan McKehon

Groundsmen - Michael and Matthew Johns

Ollie Cook and his framed scored of his 100 against Kilgetty