League cricket - done and dusted for 2019!

Pembrokeshire League Cricket - Sponsored by The Thomas Carroll Group


The season has finally closed on League Cricket in our county with County Club chairman Paul Webb and his wife Janice, joined by president Nick Evans, doing a brilliant job in getting to all the section champions and handing over the trophies the clubs are clearly so thrilled to win.

The only silverware previously awarded was to Neyland, champions of Division One, who had so dominated events this season that they had won the James Morris Memorial Cup with two weeks and 60+ points to spare.

There were still interesting matches in other divisions, however, and spare a thought for a few clubs who might consider themselves unlucky, none more so that Whitland 3rds, who were champions of the fifth division but unable to gain promotion to the fourth division because their second team was relegated from division three!

Llanrhian were mightily disappointed not to gain promotion into the third division but had their game postponed the previous week and they had to settle for third spot - but enjoyed more than a few pints as commiseration at The Sloop in Porthgain. There's always next year boys!

And a little piece of history was surely made when the afore-mentioned Whitland third XI bowled out Pembroke Dock Seconds for only TWO RUNS in eight overs - but The Dock showed great spirit in  taking two wickets by Geraint Blair before Whitland achieved victory thanks to 3 not out by Ethan Ryan! For Whitland the successful bowlers were John Fuller (4 for 1) and Barry Rees (4 for 0) as Phil Scott scored the only Dock run alongside a leg bye. Anyone know of a quicker finish in our league cricket?

Division One:

2019 Division 1 Champions Neyland

Neyland champions and Lawrenny runners-up so congrats to Sean Hannon and Joe Kidney there - both fully deserved.

Relegated are Llangwm and Burton, who both have very good players but seem unable to show the consistency needed to stay at the top, as evidenced by the number of times each club has failed to bat its full 45 overs when seemingly poised to record huge scores.

Skippers Ollie Davies (Llangwm) and Jonathan Venables (Burton) must have torn a fair bit of hair out and the message to both sides as they look to make an early return is - KNUCKLE DOWN LADS!

2019 Division 1 runners up Lawrenny

Division Two:

2019 Division 2 Champions Narberth 

Narberth's pedigree finally shone through as they travelled to rivals Llechryd knowing that a win was needed - and they did just that as skipper Davy Johns led the way with wickets and runs.

His team has made a speedy return to the top echelon and must now aim to stay there next season with a stronger squad than they previously had as Had Luff and Mike Reekie are very useful acquisitions.

Llechryd are celebrating 40 years of cricket in Pembrokeshire and this will be only their second appearance amongst the big boys and they know they won't be able to rely on the likes of John Curran, Rhys Beard, Graham Keen, John and Peter Betterly to name but a few! Good luck to both teams!

Down go Johnston and Cresselly Seconds - no complaints there but a huge well done to the Glebelands' Gang for never giving up and claiming two deserved victories late on after almost two years of losing!

Cresselly skipper Matthew Lewis has stuck with their policy of playing real youngsters like Morgan, Corey and Josh Lewis, as well as Charlie Arthur – two 13 and two 15 year olds, who will be very much part of the club’s future!

Narberth 2nds skipper Davy Jones receives the Division 2 trophy

Division Three:

2019 Division 3 Champions Herbrandston

After a highly competitive season the winners were Herbrandston and runners up Lamphey, both eager to go back into division two.

Herbie lost a few players pre-season but have more than bounced back through young skipper Ryan Davies, ably assisted by Kristan Bennett, Robert Hood, Leigh Marchant, Leigh Walters, Dean John and co.

Lamphey have also enjoyed a special season because at the start of the year they were asking for players when it looked as if they might not raise a team - so well done great club men of the calibre of skipper Rob Mathias, Hywel Gibbs, Peter McGilloway, Andrew Skeels, Grant Cole and David Blackwell, to name but a few alongside Nick Shelmerdine with the juniors!

In Division Three, going down are Lawrenny 2nds, led by James Buckle, and Whitland Seconds, who were led by Geraint Phillips and hoping to escape the ‘dreaded drop’ to help their thirds.

Herbrandston skipper Ryan Davies receives the Division 3 trophy

Division Four:

2019 Division 4 Champions St Ishmaels 2nds

St Ishmaels 2nds and Neyland 3rds have been neck and neck all season before a late spurt by Tish saw them edge home on the run in, with Robbie Thomas in charge and Karl Rhead providing a fitting end to the season as one of the county’s best sporting all-rounders seen in Pembrokeshire over many years retired having stroked 176 runs.

A man of few words, Robbie typifies all that is good about Tish sport and he will be quietly delighted to bring some silverware to the club.

It is the same story at Neyland as Ian Milsom has done a great job for them as he brings on talented youngsters with his own special brand of encouragement and support – well done Thommo and Minksy!

At the foot of the section only Haverfordwest 4ths are relegated and they have found it hard going this campaign as the needs of the other three teams in the club come first but Neil Crawshaw and his players have enjoyed themselves, nonetheless.

St Ishmaels 2nds skipper Robbie Thomas receives the silverware

Division Five:

Division 5 Champions Whitland 3rds

Although there must have been a little disappointment as Whitland missed out on promotion Gethin Benjamin and his players were more than happy with the Einion Richards Cup as section champs.

This left Kilgetty Seconds as the only team moving up to division four in 2020 with players of the calibre of skipper Anthony Lewis, Trevor Badham, Brian Cullen, Richard Gwyther, Iori Badham, and Jordan Gorman to see them across the line.

And finally, Bosherston and Stackpole Seconds ended up at the foot of division five but they also deserve every credit after Kath Huxley won her proposal to take on loan players when in trouble and she and the others involved in the club deserve a huge pat on the back.

**And finally, please note that we haven’t included any chat about clubs including top players to boost their lower teams to gain promotion or avoid relegation in the past month – but I’m sure we will have something to say in the dark winter months before the county AGM!

Whitland skipper Gethin Benjamin receives the silverware