Ladies Indoor Cricket - Division One - 31st January 2024

With just one round of matches still to play, congratulations are due to the very consistent Hook Ladies’ team for again being champions, with Cresselly and Burton currently in the next two places. Well done must also go again to Sam Rossiter for her excellent organisation of the whole programme over two divisions and a special mention for Carew Ladies, who finished bottom of the table but deserve every credit for completing their fixtures with total commitment and a sense of enjoyment that has been a credit to their club.
Venue: Neyland Community Hub:
Umpires & Scorers: Sarah Benbow, Caitlin Vaughan, Lauren Davies, Olivia James, Lucy Johnson, Kate Chandler-Hall, Rachel Sander, Will Ridge.

Match One




Cresselly 43 all out (1) lost to Burton 45 for 2 (15) by 4 wickets

Cresselly are well-known for their strong batting line up but they found it hard going against a Burton attack where Zoe Brick, Finola Scale, Becca Barton and especially Lily Thomas bowled well so that the ever-reliable Meg Arthur was their only consistent scorer before she was run out.

A target of 44 for victory was one that Burton would always be expected to reach and that certainly proved the case in this match as they did do for only 4.3 overs and with four wickets still in hand.
Finola Scale anchored the innings as she stroked a six and three threes and Zoe Brick batted confidently as she was also there at the finish to keep Burton in third place, behind champions-elect Hook and their opponents in this game.
Cresselly: Meg Arthur 24 – Zoe Brick 1-13, Lily Thomas 1-3, Becca Burton 0-11
Burton: Finola Scale 20 not out, Zoe Brick 1-13 – Ffion Ashman 1-10, Meg Arthur 1-13


Match Two


Pembroke Dock 61 for 4 (2) lost to Cresselly 64 for 2 (15) by 4 wickets

Pembroke Dock were indebted to Sian James for the bulk of their  runs as she batted well throughout their, with a measure of support from Nicola Murray and extras before Cresselly had to face a target of 62 for victory, which they achieved comfortably with wickets and an over to spare.
Sian punished anything loose and ran well between the wickets to pick up the important three runs as Meg Arthur, Helen McMillan and especially Ffion Ashman were the main bowlers for Cresselly before Zoe Minnett steered them home with excellent support from Sophie Cole as they only lost two wickets.
Pembroke Dock:  Sian James 35 not out, Nicola Murray 13 not out, Extras 11 – Ffion Ashman 2-14, Sophie Cole (1-15, Helen McMillan 1-13
Cresselly: Zoe Minnett 25 not out, Sophie Cole 20, Extras 10 - Abby Price 1-21, Nicola Murray 0-11, Kirsty Hannon 0-7, Katie Griffiths 0-7

Pembroke Dock


Match Three


Pembroke Dock 98 for 0 (12) beat Carew 38 for 1 (2) by 60 runs

Pembroke Dock got off to a great start after batting first against Carew, with their top three of Sian James, Katie Griffiths and Abby Price all batting well before reaching the retirement restriction, despite some useful bowling by Samara Hicks and Nia Simes.
Holly Griffiths led the Carew reply as she batted throughout the innings but Katie Griffiths (1 for 7) and Kirsty Hannon (1 run conceded in her only over) led The Dock bowlers, although they were unable to claim any more wickets as Freya Hicks was the other not out Carew batter.
Pembroke Dock: Sian James 26 not out, Katie Griffiths 27 not out, Abby Price 25 not out – Samara Hicks 0-14
Carew: Holly Griffiths 19 not out, Extras 15 – Katie Griffiths 1-7, Kirsty Hannon 1-0

Match Four




Carew 21 for 5 (0) lost to Haverfordwest 24 for 0 (15) by 6 wickets

Carew found it hard going against an experienced Haverfordwest bowling attack which was supported by good fielding so that every batter was restricted to single figures and extras accounted for almost half of the runs as both Jo Price and Kayleigh Vaughan bowled miserly spells with a maiden apiece as reward for their accuracy.
As a result, Haverfordwest had a very small target to chase and openers Leila Griffiths and Becky Wadia both reached 9 not out alongside six extras as they won from 2.3 of their allotted eight overs.
Carew: Extras 10 – Jo Price 2-2, Kayleigh Vaughan 1-2, Becky Wadia 1-5
Haverfordwest: Leila Griffiths 9 not out, Becky Wadia 9 not out