Ladies' Indoor Cricket - Week 5


Town triumph in another two matches

Participating teams - Haverfordwest, Pembroke Dock A and St Ishmaels
Umpires: Johnny Lewis, Peter Kingdom and Pete Ward
Scorers: Wendy Bradshaw and Nicola Murray
Venue: The Neyland Community Hub

Match One: Haverfordwest (99 for 1) beat St Ishmaels (40 for 6)

Haverfordwest LadiesHaverfordwest’s greater experience proved a major factor as they batted first against St Ishmaels and built up a challenging total before reducing St Ishmaels to 40 for 6 in only six of their ten overs.
Leading the way for The Town Ladies were their opening partnership of Jo Price and Awen Prior, both international players in other sports but now showing their skills in cricket and scoring 27 apiece before retiring and taking their team to 51 at the half-way stage.  
Meg Griffiths then maintained the momentum with 24 before she was run out and there were 16 extras before Leila Egelstaff and Lynne Ward scampered late runs towards a big total that included a six and seven fours alongside 12 threes – but still with 20 ‘dot balls’ as Clarissa Lewis (0 for 15) and Rachel Maguire (0 for 11) bowled well as Cath Orton,  Roxy Kehoe and Linzi Picton also battled away against The Town’s ‘big guns’.
Tish needed a good start but lost Sabrina Sweeney, Linzi Picton, Roxy Kehoe and Rachel Maguire cheaply as Leila Egelstaff (1 for 13), Awen Prysor (1 for 6) and Meg Griffiths (1 for 12)  bowled well in cahoots with Jo Price (0 for 9).
But the last wicket pair of Cath Orton (17) and Clarissa Lewis (9) batted and ran well together before the former was run out and the latter was well caught by Jo Price, still 60 runs short of their target - but the relatively inexperienced Tish team was praised by coach Johnny Lewis afterwards for their effort.

Tish Ladies

Match Two – Pembroke Dock A (94 for 4) lost to Haverfordwest (96 for 1)

Pembroke Dock LadiesThese two teams are rightly regarded as two of the top in the competition but on this occasion it was Haverfordwest who came out on top as The Dock batted first to register a healthy 94 for 4 before The Town were again impressive with the bat and reached their target for the loss of just one wicket.
The Dock’s Rachel Sander and Ava Midgeley have been consistent tun gatherers but were unable to gain a great deal of momentum as their tally stood at 38 at the half-way stage of their innings, with the former scoring 16 and the latter 12.
But Kate Griffiths hit 24 not out and Lana Jones was unbeaten on 12 as the team managed a four and 24 threes but there were also 20 ‘dot balls’, the equivalent of over three overs, as Joe Price (1 for 11), Meg Griffiths (0 for 10) and Awen Prysor (0 for 14) bowled tight lines but Lynne Ward (1 for 31) and Leila Egelstaff (0 for 25) were a little more expensive.

Then The Town showed their strength in depth with the bat as Meg Griffiths managed 17 before being run out and Lynne Ward retired on 25 – and then skipper Sam Rossiter got into the action with 21 not out and Jo Price stayed unbeaten on 20.
In total they rapped four boundaries and 18 threes but again there were 12 balls faced without scoring – although they still were comfortable winners, nonetheless.