Ladies' Indoor Cricket - Week 10

Haverfordwest Ladies 

Burton win twice and Haverfordwest enhance their title prospects

Venue: The Community Hub, Neyland
Umpires/Scorers: Luke Butler, Finola Scale,  Rob Hearne and Jack Harries,
There were two wins in Week Ten for Burton, and one for high-flying Haverfordwest, who are pushing Cresselly all the way for the inaugural ladies indoor league title – and the pair meet in the ‘Clash of the Titans’ next Sunday.
Pembroke played twice and lost both games quite heavily but deserve a special mention for the way they have approached the season under coaches Jack Harries and Luke Butler.

Burton Ladies

Match One:  Burton (90 for 2) beat Pembroke (41 all out)

Burton set a decent score against Pembroke and then bowled and fielded well to ease home by 49 runs as they put their greater experience to good effect.
Oliva James (11) and Carla Randall (19 not out) provided good support for an excellent innings by Rhian Morgan, who retired on 25, but the top score came from the ‘Extras’ column where there were 26 runs, mainly from wide deliveries.
In total, there were 12 threes from good running between the wickets, plus two fours and a six as Sophie Jelley (1 for 15) was the only wicket-taker alongside a run out.
Bryony Shalcross batted well for Pembroke until she was run out for 13, one of four players to suffer the same fate, and Bobby Neale contributed 12 alongside a dozen extras, with Olivia James and Rebecca Barton claiming a wicket apiece to take Burton into fourth place with a week to go.

Pembroke Ladies

Match Two: Haverfordwest (110 for 3) beat Pembroke (28 all out)

Pembroke found it even tougher going against potential champions Haverfordwest, who showed their batting power in a big total of 110 for 3 before bowling Pembroke out cheaply in 6.3 overs.
Jo Price and Lyn Ward topped The Town batting in a huge opening partnership before both retired on 27, and then Sam Rossiter chipped in with 15 not out alongside 16 extras as Jo Price returned after Becky Ward, Leila Egelstaff and Awen Prysor departed cheaply to end up on 34 not out.
Adele Millican, Nirvana Thomas and Sophie Jelley claimed a wicket apiece as Haverfordwest managed 11 threes, seven fours (the most of the competition) and a six – but still didn’t manage to score from 18 deliveries, the equivalent of three overs!
When they gave chase Pembroke also a achieved a record as all of them were out caught, with Lyn Ward (3), Leila Egelstaff, Awen Prysor and Sam Rossiter pouching them off Leila Egelstaff (2 for 6), Becky Wadia (3 for 2) and Lyn Ward (1 for 8).
Karen Evans led the Pembroke batting with 10 runs as they could only muster 5 threes and five singles alongside 8 wides.
 Pembroke Dock Ladies

Match Three - Pembroke Dock B (57 all out) lost to Burton (58 for 5)

Burton made it two wins on the day as they beat Pembroke Dock B but it was a very tight finish as The Dock were bowled out for 57 and Burton needed a gritty 21 not out (5 threes) from Sarah-Jane Sutton after she was last batter standing after her five colleagues had all departed to Lowis Hughes (1 for 10), Nicola Murray (1 for 10), Demi Jones (1 for 8) and Ellen Reaves (2 for 10).
Nicola Murray again showed her consistent batting with top score of 22 for The Dock (including a six and four) whilst Carys Lloyd had 2 threes and a boundary in her 11 alongside 10 extras.
There was excellent Burton bowling figures for Rhian Morgan (2 for 9) and Carla Randall (2 for 6), supported by Olivia James (1 for 12) and Sarah Jane Sutton (1 for13), - who made an even bigger impact with the bat as she guided her team to victory.

Sunday 13th March 2022
The season finale with all 8 teams in action. Start time 9:45am.
9:45 St.Ishmaels v Pembroke 
10:30 Neyland v Pembroke Dock B
11:15 Pembroke Dock A v Burton
12:00 Haverfordwest v Cresselly 

The first three fixtures will be 8 over games, the final league- deciding game will be a 10 over apiece game.
Haverfordwest  7 6 1 573 407 12
Cresselly  7 6 1 488 381 12
Pem Dock A  7 5 2 698 543 10
Burton  7 4 3 522 402 8
Neyland  7 3 4 598 516 6
Pem Dock B  7 2 5 491 486 4
St. Ishmaels  7 1 6 405 721 2
Pembroke  7 1 6 313 664 2