Indoor Cricket Reports - 31st October 2021


Neyland A maintain 100% record, with other wins for Neyland B and The Dock A

Neyland A maintained their 100% record with a comfortable win over previously undefeated Llanrhian to confirm they are still top of the indoor league tree despite some fantastic batting by Jon Strawbridge, whilst Neyland B won an entertaining clash with Narberth and a five-man Pembroke Dock A side were still a little bit too strong for Haverfordwest.

Match One


Neyland A (144 for 3) beat Llanrhian (98 for 5)

Jonathan Strawbridge - another good knock for LlanrhianNick Koomen - an immaculate 31 not out for NeylandNeyland A showed why they are regarded as the best indoor cricket team in Wales as they easily won their top of the table clash with Llanrhian, for whom Jon Strawbridge’s mighty hitting earned him the man of the match tag but even with his batting heroics his team’s previous 100%  record was blown away by 46 runs.
Strawbridge smashed seven sixes and four fours in his massive 73 not out but his team mates and ‘Mr Extras’ could only muster another 25 runs between them as Neyland bowled and fielded as well as ever, with teenager Jack Jones having the unusual distinction of taking a wicket in his first over that only produced a solitary wide.
Neyland showed their collective batting power as they scored 37 runs off Llanrhian’s first two overs, with Patrick Bellerby having to retire after belting 25 of those in the nine balls he faced.
Opening partner Nick Koomen scored off every ball he faced and came back at the end to finish with an immaculate 31 not out after Ashley Sutton and Patrick Hannon also reached the 25 retirement score, Sutton ending on an unbeaten 39 after Jack John and Sean Hannon had gone cheaply in a late chase for more runs, leaving Neyland on a massive tally of 144 for 3 wickets.

Llanrhian lose key early wickets

Llanrhian needed a great start to have any hope of beating such a score but a quick piece of work by Bellerby ran out Llanrhian’s ‘Mr Consistent’ skipper Nigel Delaney and Iwan James was caught off the ceiling net for a duck by Sean Hannon off Jack John’s miserly bowling.
Not one other batsman managed double figures and used up a few balls in the process before Strawbridge returned to the crease and further enhanced his considerable reputation as a destroyer – but although he kept the scorers busy there was simply too much to do in the time left.
Nick Koomen is held in huge esteem for his all-round play with Neyland and he grabbed 2 for 12 with his ultra-accurate bowling alongside tight spells from John and Ashley Sutton (1 for 18) as the other influential bowlers.
Neyland A Batting:
Nick Koomen not out 31
Patrick Bellerby ct Nigel Delaney b David Clarke 28
Ashley Sutton not out 39
Patrick Hannon retired 27
Jack John run out 7
Sean Hannon ct & b Karl Davies 3
Extras 9
Total (3 wickets) 144
Llanrhian Bowling:
Daf Williams 2-0-31-0; Nigel Delaney 2-0-33-0; Jon Strawbridge 2-0-17-0; David Clark 2-0-27-0; Karl Davies 2-0-30-0.
Llanrhian Batting:
Jon Strawbridge not out 73
Nigel Delaney run out 4
Iwan James ct Sean Hannon b Jack John 0
Karl Davies lbw b Nick Koomen 8
Daf Williams ct Patrick Hannon b Ashley Sutton 5
David Clark b Nick Koomen 1
Extras 7
Total (5 wickets) 98
Neyland A Bowling:
Nick Koomen 2-0-12-2; Patrick Hannon 2-0-29-0; Jack John 2-0-7-1; Patrick Bellerby 2-0-
25-0; Ashley Sutton 2-0-18-1.

Match Two


Narberth (100 for 3) lost to Neyland B (102 for 3)

Jordan Howell - 26 not out for NarberthLewis Page - 33 not out for Nayland BNeyland B’s greater experience in this form of cricket was something of a factor in their win over Narberth, whose average age was increased slightly by the inclusion of Rob Nicholas alongside his son Wil – and it was Nicholls junior who helped give his team a solid start with 25 before he was run out and Jordan Howell added 26 before he retired.

Loui Davies chipped in with 13 and Rhodri Dyer contributed 16, whilst Nicholls senior scored 8 not out alongside 12 extras which took Narberth to 100 for 3 but there wasn’t a single boundary in their ten overs and they were unable to raise the tempo after reaching only 46 by the half-way stage.

Neyland B also started well via Lewis Page and Brad McDermott-Jenkins before both retired but they had George Evans run out for 13 and both Steve Murray and Phil Keen departed early – but Tom Pritchard was 6 not out as they reached their target with nine balls remaining as page finished well on 33 not out and McDermott-Jenkins was still waiting in the wings with 27 to his name alongside 15 from ‘Mr Extras’!
Narberth Batting:
Wil Nicholas run out 25
Jordan Howell not out 26
Loui Davies b Tom Pritchard 13
Kyle Williams run out 0
Rhodri Dyer not out 16
Rob Nicholas not out 8
Extras 12
Total (3 wickets) 100
Neyland B Bowling:
Steve Murray 2-0-18-0; Phil Keen 2-0-18-0; Brad McDermott-Jenkins 2-0-17-0; George Evans 2-0-21-0; Tom Pritchard 2-0-23-1.
Neyland B Batting:
Lewis Page not out 33
Brad McDermott-Jenkins retired 27
George Evans run out 15
Steve Murray b Kyle Williams 6
Tom Pritchard not out 6
Phil Keen ct & b Kyle Williams 0
Extras 15
Total (3 wickets) 102
Narberth Bowling:
Jordan Howell 2-0-22-0; Wil Nicholas 2-0-25-0; Kyle Williams 2-0-21-2; Rhodri Dyer 1-0-15-0; Loui Davies 1.2-0-18-0

Match Three


Pembroke Dock A (146 for 3) beat Haverfordwest (132 for 5)

Rhys Daley - 49 not out for Pembroke Dock ADai Davies - 52 not out for HaverfordwestThere were runs galore in the final match before a five-man Pembroke Dock A eased home by 14 runs despite a valiant effort with the bat by The Town’s skipper Dai Davies.

As The Dock batted first it was Rhys Daley and Scott Griffiths who led the way before having to retire before Archie Hillier-Wood (23) and George Davies (18) also maintained the momentum.

Daly and skipper Griffiths returned to add more late runs, with both not out at the end with respective unbeaten scores of 49 and 39., whilst Dan Hopley was again the pick of The Town bowlers with 2 for 25.

The Town made a steady start through Clive Tucker (29), Richard Davies (16) and Hopley (13) but were unable to maintain the necessary run rate and at half-way they had scored 59, which left them needing 88 from their final five overs.

Skipper Davies was again the mainstay of their batting and he struck for fours and four sixes en route to 52 not out but The Dock bowled and fielded well to achieve a creditable win in view of their numerical disadvantage.
Pembroke Dock A Batting
Rhys Daley not out 49
Archie Hillier-Wood b Dan Hopley 23
Scott Griffiths not out 39
George Smith ct Dai Davies b Clive Tucker 18
Tom Grimwood b Dan Hopley 4
Extras 13
Total 2 wickets) 146
Haverfordwest Bowling:
Clive Tucker 2-0-24-1; Richard Davies 2-0-29-0; Dai Davies 2-0-25-0; Dan Bruce 2-0-33-0; Dan Hopley 2-0-25-2.
Haverfordwest Batting:
Clive Tucker run out 29
Richard Davies c George Smith b Tom Grimwood 16
Dan Hopley ct & b Scott Griffiths 13
Dai Davies not out 52
Dan Bruce ct George Smith b Rhys Daley 7
Jason Stobbs run out 7
Extras 8
Total (5 wickets) 132
Pembroke Dock A Bowling:
Archie Hillier-Wood 2-0-21-0; Tom Grimwood 2-0-22-0; Scott Griffiths 2-0-25-1; Rhys Daley 2-0-26-1; George Smith 2-0-34-1.