Indoor Cricket Report - 15th November 2021


Neyland A beat their counterparts from The Dock with ease

There was just one match on Monday evening where Pembroke Dock A batted first and found runs very hard to come by – and the league leaders and title favourites Neyland A won with just two wickets down and with 2.1 overs still in hand.
The umpires were Rob Bellerby and Allan Hansen with Kacey Arran and Rachel Santner as the excellent scorers.

Koomen and Miller see Neyland A through


Pembroke Dock A (78 for 3) lost to Neyland A (79 for 2)

Jack John - miserly bowling and a few runs for Neyland ATom Grimwood - played well for The Dock ANeyland A called upon their vast experience in terms of player resources as they asked Pembroke Dock A to bat first and kept them under pressure from the excellent opening over by Jack John until they limited them to 78 for 3 in their allotted ten overs – and then Nick Koomen and Gregg Miller put on 48 in only four overs and both eventually retired having passed the compulsory 25 mark
It says much for The Dock’s grit that they managed to grab two wickets in quick succession but Neyland still coasted to victory as Jack John and Patrick Bellerby the unbeaten batsmen, although the latter didn’t have to face a ball, which was perhaps fortunate because he had hurt his leg in rugby the previous day and volunteered to keep wicket so that skipper Sean Hannon could bowl.
Jack John’s first over produced only two singles as he maintained a perfect line and length – and repeated the process with his second over later on to finish with a miserly 0 for 4 spell.
Veteran all-rounder Andrew Miller returned to action and showed why he has always been regarded as one of the best exponents of the indoor game as he only conceded eight runs and finished up with 1 for 11 from his two overs, including the key wicket of Dock skipper Scott Griffiths, caught by Sean Hannon for 11.
George Smith was caught by Jack John off Hannon and although Tom Grimwood (14) and Wood (12) remained unbeaten at the end the Dock could only muster 78 for 3 after managing only 30 at the half-way stage.– and that was with ‘Mr Extras’ unusually top scorer against Neyland with 16 runs!
In sharp contrast Neyland’s Koomen and Miller sped to their retirement scores and although Grimwood shifted Andrew Miller (5) and skipper Hannon was uncharacteristically slow out of the blocks and was run out for 7, there was no denying Neyland A as they maintained their 100% record at the head of the table.


Pembroke Dock A Batting:
Rhys Daley run out 14
Scott Griffiths ct Sean Hannon b Andrew Miller 11
George Smith ct Jack John b Sean Hannon 11
Tom Grimwood not out 14
Billy Wood not out 12
Extras 16
Total (for 3 wickets) 78
Neyland A Bowling:
Jack John 2-0-4-0; Andrew Miller 2-0-11-1; Nick Koomen 2-0-18-0; Sean Hannon 2-0-20-1; Gregg Miller 2-0-25-0.
Neyland A Batting:
Nick Koomen retired 26
Gregg Miller retired 26
Andrew Miller ct Rhys Daley b Tom Grimwood 5
Sean Hannon run out 5
Jack John not out 8
Patrick Bellerby not out 0
Extras 9
Total (2 wickets) 79
Pembroke Dock A Bowling:
Billy Wood 2-0-21-0; Rhys Daley 1-0-14-0; George Smith 1-0-14-0; Rob Hearne 2-0-22-0; Tom Grimwood 1.5-0-8-1