Indoor Cricket - Round 7


Haverfordwest B show their strength in first outings of the season

Haverfordwest B showed that they are still the senior side in the club and a force to be recognised with still in the Indoor League and started their new campaign with a bang as the enjoyed wins over their relatively strong A team and Hundleton, whilst The Town A string eased through against Neyland C in the other Sunday morning clash.
Umpires: Chris Stapleton & Steve Williams
Scorers: Ian Milsom, Mike Price and Peter Davies
Venue: Neyland Hub

Match One: Haverfordwest A (99 for 5) lost to Haverfordwest B (99 for 2) by 4 wickets

Ben Field in good form with batHaverfordwest A were determined to show their vastly more experienced B team a thing or two but in the final analysis were unable to score enough runs from their allotted ten overs and so Dai Davies and Co reached their target for the loss of only two wickets, with 10 balls still in hand.
Mikey Jones (10) and Chris Phillips (26) gave the A team a solid start and James ‘Tacky’ Marchant produced their best batting with an undefeated 40 alongside Will Phillips (12) but Archie Thomas and Simon Williams both departed cheaply.

Skipper Dai Davies was the pick of the senior side’s bowling with a splendid 3 for 13 haul and old timer Clive Tucker looked as good as ever as he claimed 1 for 12 in support.
Simon Holliday and Danny Potter got the A team off to a strong start before Holiday was adjudged leg before to  Simon Williams (24) and Danny Potter struck 21 before Archie Thomas did well to effect a run out.
But Ben Field showed his class with 26 runs before he had to retire but by then The Town A were in a winning position before Lee Summons finished strongly with 22 not out and Mr Tucker was with him at the finish.
Haverfordwest A Batting:
Mikey Jones ct Lee Summons b Dai Davies 10
Chris Phillips run out 26
James Marchant not out 40
Archie Thomas ct Lee Summons b Dai Davies 3
Will Phillips b Clive Tucker 12
Simon Williams ct & b Dai Davies 0
Total (5 wickets) 98
Haverfordwest B Bowling:
Danny Potter 2-0-19-0; Dai Davies 2-0-13-3; Lee Summons 2-0-20-0; Simon Holliday 2-0-24-0; Clive Tucker 2-0-12-1
Haverfordwest B Batting:
Simon Holliday lbw b Simon Williams 24
Danny Potter run out 21
Ben Field retired 26
Lee Summons not out 22
Clive Tucker not out 1
Extras 5
Total (2 wickets) 99
Haverfordwest A Bowling:
Chris Phillips 2-0-30-0; Will Phillips 1.2-0-12-0; James Marchant 2-0-22-0; Simon Williams 2-0-20-1; Archie Thomas 1-0-15-0

Match Two: Haverfordwest B (162 for 2) beat Hundleton (63 for 4) by 99 runs

Jonathan Taffy WilliamsThe gap in experience was massive in this tough fixture for a Hundleton team playing in their first season but they deserve every credit for battling away and although they lost heavily produced a couple of useful individual performances that bode well for the future.
Simon Holliday and Lee Summons opened and retired with respective scores of 26 and 38, with the former having a late chance to add to his total but was run out without adding any further runs.
Dan Potter (28) and Ben Field (26) also retired having reached a score of 25+ and it was left to Dai Davies (23 not out) and Tucker (11 before a late run out) saw The Town B to a massive score despite the efforts of the Hundleton bowlers to stop them scoring freely.
The village side suffered an early blow when Kevin Bowen, playing on loan from St Ishmaels was well caught by Tucker off Holliday and Stuart McNiffe also departed cheaply as Holliday claimed his second victim in a 2 for 17 spell.
But Jonathan ‘Taffy’ Williams showed what a good player he can be in this format before he was caught for 23 by Summons off Potter and it was left to David Lockyer (29 not out) to increase their total alongside Iori Humphreys (5 not out) against really tight bowling by Potter (1 for 10), Dai Davies (1 for 16), Tucker and Summons.
Haverfordwest B Batting:
Simon Holliday run out 26
Lee Summons not out 38
Danny Potter retired 28
Ben Field retired 26
Dai Davies not out 23
Clive Tucker run out 11
Extras 10
Total (2 wickets) 162
Hundleton Bowling:
Kevin Bowen 2-0-30-0; Stuart McNiffe 2-0-36-0; David Lockyer 2-0-32-0; Evan Davies 2-0-34-0; Jonathan Williams 2-0-28-0
Hundleton Batting:
Jonathan Williams ct Lee Summons b Danny Potter 23
Kevin Bowen ct Clive Tucker b Simon Holliday 0
Stuart McNiffe ct Lee Summons b Simon Holliday 4
David Lockyer not out 29
Iori Humphreys not out 5
Evan Davies b Dai Davies 0
Extras 2
Total (4 wickets) 63
Haverfordwest B Bowling:
Danny Potter 2-0-10-1; Simon Holliday 2-0-17-2; Dai Davies 2-0-16-1; Clive Tucker 2-0-10-0; Lee Summons 2-0-10-0

Match Three: Haverfordwest A (111 all out) beat Neyland C (91 for 3) by 18 runs

Chris Phillips played well for the Town AHaverfordwest A were sent on their way to what looked likely to be a very big score as Mikey Jones (24) and Chris Phillips (44 after returning for a second bite of the charry) got them off to a flier but James Marchant (11) and Archie Thomas (11) both got themselves run out from good work in the field by Ben Mathias-Milsom and Nathan Sutton.

Simon Williams was run out cheaply by promising Neyland newcomer Jack John and Will Phillips also departed early, with ‘Mr Extras’ (12) taking them to a useful, but not huge final tally.

Neyland needed a good start but they lost in-form opener Callum Power for a single before Jack John and Rhys Power departed after reaching double figures.

But Mathias-Milsom and skipper Sam Laugharne gave them hope but failed to raise the run rate high enough despite Laugharne retiring on 25 and Mathias-Milsom reaching 28 not out in an unbroken stand with Nathan Sutton (9 not out) – ending up still 19 runs short of their target as Chris Phillips (1 for 15), Marchant (1 for 19) and Archie Thomas (1 for 15) were joined by Will Phillips (0 for 15) and Williams (0 for 19) in tight spells.
Haverfordwest A Batting:
Mikey Jones ct Nathan Sutton b Ben Mathias-Milsom 24
Chris Phillips ct Sam Laugharne b Jack John 44
James Marchant run out 11
Archie Thomas run out 12
Simon Williams run out 3
Will Phillips b Rhys Power 5
Extras 12
Total (all out) 111
Neyland C Bowling:
Jack John 2-0-19-1; Rhys Power 2-0-20-1; Sam Laugharne 2-0-22-0; Ben Mathias-Milsom 2-0-20-1; Nathan Sutton 2-0-24-0
Ben Mathias-Milsom and Ian MilsomNeyland C Batting:
Callum Power ct Simon Williams b Chris Phillips 1
Rhys Power ct James Marchant b Archie Thomas 10
Jack John b James Marchant 10
Ben Mathias-Milsom not out 28
Sam Laugharne retired 25
Nathan Sutton not out 9
Extras 8
Total (3 wickets) 91
Haverfordwest Bowling:
Chris Phillips-2-0-15-1; Will Phillips 2-0-15-0; James Marchant 2-0-19-1; Simon Williams 2-0-19-0; Archie Thomas 2-0-15-1

Umpires Steve Williams and Chris Stapleton