Indoor Cricket - Round 5

Narberth CC


Jordan leads Narberth by example

Venue: Neyland Hube
Umpires: Allan Hansen and Ian Milsom. 
Scorer: Richard Howell.  The batting brilliance of Jordan Howell ensured Narberth added two more wins to their campaign in the latest round of Pembrokeshire Indoor Cricket League matches last night. 

Howell hit a half century as his side opened up with a win over Llanrhian, and after Haverfordwest A also beat The Cows, he repeated the feat in the final game as Narberth edged home against The Town in the final over of an exciting affair. 

Game 1: Narberth (139-5) beat Llanrhian (89-4) by 50 runs 

It was Howell and Loui Davies who got Narberth off to a storming start as they plundered 49 runs in the first three overs. 

Both batsmen had to temporarily retire after racing to 25 and then it was the slow left arm stuff of George Raymond, a last minute call up to the Llanrhian side that halted momentum when Kyle Williams got a top edge from an attempted sweep and Llion Williams took a simple catch. 

Rhodri Dyer reached 14 before he was ran out by James Morris and then two more wickets fell as Jack Jones removed Lewis Hough as Williams grabbed his second catch, and then makeshift keeper Paul Lewis ran out Llew Jones – both batsman going for ducks. 

But that meant Howell and Davies returning and both picked off any loose bowling with ease, taking the score from 100-4 to an eventual total of 139-5 after Howell was bowled by Raymond having reached 53 – with Davies finishing unbeaten on 43. 

Llanrhian never looked like getting close in their reply as Williams was skittled early on by Howell for a duck, but did manage to bat out their 10 overs as opener Lewis reached 18 before being caught by Hough off Dyer. 

The same bowler also removed Karl Davies (3) the same way and caught Raymond (3) to give Jones a wicket, but it was his namesake Jack Jones who kept the innings together as he reached 40 not out, and was supported by Morris (12 not out) as Llanrhian reached 89-5. 
Narberth Batting:
Loui Davies not out 43
Jordan Howell ct & b George Raymond 53
Kyle Williams ct Llion Williams b George Raymond 7
Rhodri Dyer run out 14
Lewis Hough ct Llion Williams b Jack Jones 0
Llew Jones run out 0
Extras 22
Total (4 wickets) 139
Llanrhian Bowling:
Karl Davies 2-0-26-0; Llion Williams 2-0-22-0; Jack Jones 2-0-32-1; George Raymond 2-0-21-2; Paul Lewis 2-0-21-0
Llanrhian Batting:
Paul Lewis ct Louis Hough b Rhodri Dyer 18
Llion Williams b Jordan Howell 0
Jack Jones not out 40
Karl; Davies ct & b Rhodri Dyer 5
James Morris not out 12
George Raymond ct Rhodri Dyer b Llew Jones 3
Extras 7
Total (5 wickets) 85
Narberth Bowling:
Jordan Howell 2-0-13-1; Llew Jones 2-0-15-1; Rhodri Dyer 2-0-19-2; Lewis Hough 2-0-25-0; Loui Davies 2-0-13-0

Llanrhian CC

Game 2: Haverfordwest A (155-4) beat Llanrhian (89 all out) by 56 runs 

Although listed as Haverfordwest A, it was technically the B side who opened their campaign for The Town with the teams now effectively swapping over to accommodate availability. 

And it was Mikey  Jones who starred in this win, the opener cracking 79 not out over two stints at the crease. 

It helped negate some dodgy running between the wickets from his side, who suffered three run outs after Chris Phillips (5) was caught and bowled by Raymond. 

Jack Scriven (5), James Marchant (0), and Will Phillips (10) all departed after misjudging singles but Jonny White (23 not out) gave Jones vital support after he returned to the crease, helping The Town to an imposing 155-4. 

Again it was Jones who led the Llanrhian reply, retiring on 25 after Lewis (7) had been bowled by Will Phillips. 

The youngster also skittled Karl Davies (0) and caught Llion Williams (8) as White struck – and the latter grabbed a second wicket by bowling Raymond (0). 

Again Morris (27) chipped in with useful late runs before being run out and Jones made 39 before eventually giving a return catch to another namesake in Mike – as Llanrhian ended 89 all out. 
Haverfordwest A Batting:
Mikey Jones not out 79
Chris Phillips b George Raymond 15
Jack Scriven run out 5
James Marchant run out 0
Johnny White not out 23
Will Phillips run out 10
Extras 23
Total (4 wickets) 155
Llanrhian Bowling:
Karl Davies 2-0-35-0; Llion Williams 2-0-16-0; Jack Jones 2-0-22-0; George Raymond 2-0-31-1; Paul Lewis 2-0-42-0
Llanrhian Batting:
Paul Lewis b Will Phillips 7
Jack Jones ct & b Mikey Jones 39
Karl Davies b Will Phillips 0
Llion Williams ct Will Phillips b Johnny White 8
James Morris run out 27
George Raymond c & b Johnny White 0
Extras 8
Total (6 wickets) 89
Haverfordwest A Bowling:
Jack Scriven 2-0-23-0; Will Phillips 2-0-14-2; James Marchant 1-0-17-0; Johnny White 1-0-12-2; Chris Phillips 1-0-11-0; Mikey Jones 1-0-12-1

Haverfordwest A

Game 3: Haverfordwest A (121 all out) lost to Narberth (122-4) by 2 wickets 

The final game of the night went down to the penultimate ball before Howell and Hough saw Narberth home. 

Haverfordwest batted first and again it was Jones who led their batting, but again run outs cost them dear. 

Jones and Phillips both reached 25 quickly but then Narberth hit back as Scriven (3) was caught by Dyer off Hough, and Marchant (0) had his off stump removed by Jones. 

White (5) and Will Phillips (18) were both run out so the openers returned, with Jones reaching 49 before he too was caught out of his ground going for a single. 

Davies made 35 but he was caught by Jones off Loui Davies, as the innings ended on 121-6 after 9.5 overs. 

The Narberth run chase was a tense one as Howell again reached the magic 25 quickly, and after Davies (12) was caught by Jones off White – Hough also scored quickly before having to retire. 

The pair was able to come back in though as Kyle Williams (7) and Rhodri Dyer (2) were both run out and Jones gave a return catch to Phillips (3). 

Needing 15 off the final over from Will Philips, Howell and Hough took 11 off the first three balls before the former cracked another boundary against the back wall to finish 50 not out, his partner ending unbeaten on 36, to make it three wins from four league games for Narberth. 
Haverfordwest A Batting:
Mikey Jones run out 49
Chris Phillips ct Llew Jones b Loui Davies 35
Jack Scriven ct Rhodri Dyer b Lewis Hough 3
James Merchant b Llew Jones 0
Johnny White run out 5
Will Phillips run out 18
Extras 11
Total (all out) 121
Narberth Bowling:
Jordan Howell 2-0-24-0; Rhodri Dyer 2-0-23-0; Lewis Hough 2-0-28-2; Llew Jones 2-0-20-0; Loui Davies 1.5-0-21-1
Narberth Batting:
Jordan Howell not out 50
Loui Davies ct Mikey Jones b Johnny White 12
Lewis Hough not out 36
Kyle Williams run out 7
Llew Jones ct & b Chris Phillips 3
Rhodri Dyer run out 2
Extras 12
Total (4 wickets) 122
Haverfordwest A Bowling:
Jack Scriven 2-0-16-0; Will Phillips 2-0-25-0; Johnny White 2-0-25-1; James Merchant 2-0-23-0; Chris Phillips 2-0-32.1

Umpire Ian MilsomUmpire Allan HansenRichard Howell