Indoor Cricket - Round 4

Neyland A too strong again


Champions show their claws again

Umpire Ian Milsom

Competing teams: Johnston, Neyland A, B & C
Venue: Neyland Hub
Umpires: Ian Milsom, assisted by Peter Davies and Martin Jones
Scorers: Emma Summons and Filgi Varghese

Reigning indoor champions Neyland A showed their claws with comfortable wins in clashes with Johnston and Neyland C, whilst Neyland B gained a solid win over Johnston in an entertaining afternoon of competitive cricket played in a sporting manner.


Match One: Johnston (48 for 4) lost to Neyland A (49 for 2)

After winning the toss Johnston took the bull by the horns and elected to bat first but they were soon in trouble as Patrick Bellerby shifted openers Noah Davies and Hafiz Farooq in his first over.

Geno Cleal managed a six and four in his lively 12 but was removed by Henry Durrant – and Sean Hannon struck a key blow by bowling the dangerous Josh Hicks cheaply.

Josh’s dad Mark ended on 4 not out alongside Gethin Bateman, who showed he can bat despite being a tail-ender with an undefeated 12 (two fours) but no-one was able to raise the tempo much so that the Glebelands Gang had to settle for only 49 runs in their allotted ten overs.

Noah Davies, guesting for Johnston from Llangwm, showed his pace early on as he shifted Durrant (4) and Neyland A skipper Hannon  (13) in an excellent 2 for 15 spell from his two overs, but Ashley Sutton blitzed a quick-fire 22 (three boundaries) and Nathan Banner was with him at the end as they strolled home in only six overs.


Johnston Batting:
Noah Davies b Patrick Bellerby 4
Hafiz Farooq ct Nathan Banner b Patrick Bellerby 0
Geno Cleal ct Ashley Sutton b Henry Durrant 12
Josh Hicks b Sean Hannon 7
Mark Hicks not out 4
Gethin Bateman not out 12
Extras 9
Total (4 wickets) 48
Neyland A Bowling:
Henry Durrant 2-0-8-0; Patrick Bellerby 2-0-9-2; Nathan Banner 2-0-14-0; Nick Koomen 2-0-8-0; Sean Hannon 2-0-7-1
Neyland A Batting:
Sean Hannon ct Gethin Bateman b Noah Davies 13
Henry Durrant ct Geno Cleal b Noah Davies 4
Ashley Sutton not out 22
Nathan Banner not out 5
Extras 5
Total (2 wickets) 49
Johnston Bowling:
Hafiz Farooq 2-0-11-0; Noah Davies 2-0-15-2; Mark Hicks 2-0-23-0


Match Two: Johnston (66 all out) lost to Neyland B (67 for 3)

Johnston made it two defeats in quick succession as they also went down to a Neyland B team which bowled and fielded well in the first instance and then an excellent start provided to their reply by openers Lewis Page and George Evans saw then eventually win with two overs and three wickets in hand.

Paul Miller (2 for 11), Steve Murray (1 for 12) and George Evans (1 for 8) were the Neyland B wicket-takers as only Hafiz Farooq (13) and Mark Hicks (19 not out) managed double figures, the former falling to a nice piece of stumping by Page, who also took the key catch that shifted Josh Hicks for a duck.

Indeed, the only low spot of Neyland B’s performance in the field was the fact that they conceded 21 extras, 16 of them coming from wides.

Then Page and Evans both hit 21 in an opening stand of 47 before the former batsman was bowled by Noah Davies having stroked two fours, whilst Evans was bowled by Cleal after he had belted a six and a four.

They also lost Steve Murray (8), caught by Cleal off Josh Hicks, but by then Neyland B needed only seven runs to win – and Paul Miller and Filgi Varghese saw them home with ease.


Johnston Batting:
Noah Davies b Steve Murray 6
Hafiz Farooq st Lewis Page b Paul Miller 13
Geno Cleal run out 7
Josh Hicks ct Lewis Page b George Evans 0
Mark Hicks not out 19
Gethin Bateman b Paul Miller 0
Extras 21
Total (all out) 66
Neyland B Bowling:
Filgi Varghese 2-0-19-0; Steve Murray 2-0-12-1; George Evans 2-0-8-1; Rodney Murphy 2-0-14-0; Paul Miller 2-0-11-2
Neyland B Batting:
Lewis Page b Noah Davies 21
George Evans b Geno Cleal 21
Steve Murray ct Geno Cleal b Josh Hicks 8
Paul Miller not out 4
Filgi Varghese not out 3
Extras 10
Total (3 wickets) 67
Johnston Bowling:
Hafiz Farooq 2-0-20-0; Noah Davies 2-0-15-1; Mark Hicks 2-0-12-0; Geno Cleal 1.1-0-2-1; Josh Hicks 1-0-14-1

Neyland B

Match Three: Neyland A (149 for 2) beat Neyland C (74 all out)

Neyland A made it four wins from as many matches to go joint top with Pembroke Dock when they batted first against their own C team, built up a huge score and then restricted the opposition despite an excellent innings of 39 by Ben Mathias-Milsom.

The C team were under the cosh from the outset as Nick Koomen and Patrick Bellerby raced to 25 before retiring and although Henry Durrant and Ashley Sutton departed in search of quick runs Nathan Banner belted three straight sixes before he also stepped down with 25 to his name.

Sean Hannon raced to 19 not out with five threes and a four before Koomen and Bellerby piled on the agony with respective tallies of 37 (two fours and three sixes) and 38 not out (three fours and three sixes).
Ashley Sutton caused early chaos when Neyland C tried to start well but lost Nathan Sutton, Rhys Power and Sam Laugharne in a 3 for 8 analysis from his two overs.

Callum Power batted well for 14 before he was run out by Banner, as was Ian Milsom, but Ben Mathias-Milsom had three sixes and three fours in his 39 before Hannon ran him out on 39 to give the score some respectability.


Neyland A Batting:
Nick Koomen ct & b Rhys Power 37
Patrick Bellerby not out 38
Henry Durrant ct Ben Mathias-Milsom b Nathan Sutton 9
Ashley Sutton run out 8
Nathan Banner retired 25
Sean Hannon not out 19
Extras 13
Total (2 wickets) 149
Neyland C Bowling:
Rhys Power 2-0-31-1; Ben Mathias-Milsom 2-0-24-0; Sam Laugharne 2-0-28-0; Nathan Sutton 2-0-23-1, Ian Milsom 2-0-43-0
Neyland C Batting:
Nathan Sutton ct Henry Durrant b Ashley Sutton 1
Rhys Power ct Nick Koomen b Ashley Sutton 4
Callum Power run out 14
Sam Laugharne ct & b Ashley Sutton 0
Ben Mathias-Milsom run out 39
Ian Milsom run out 7
Extras 9
Total (all out) 74
Neyland A Bowling:
Ashley Sutton 2-0-8-3; Henry Durrant 2-0-14-0; Nick Koomen 2-0-29-0; Sean Hannon 2-0-11-0; Patrick Bellerby 2-0-10-0

Neyland C