Indoor Cricket - Division One - 7th January 2024

Venue: Neyland Community Hub
Umpires: Chris Stapleton & Jon Willington
Scorers: Fraser Watson & Ginny Davies

Llanrhian back to winning ways


Daf Williams led Llanrhian to victoryHook (49 all out) lost to Llanrhian (51 for 3)

Llanrhian were able to field arguably their strongest team to play against Hook and opened this week’s Sunday morning four-match session with a comfortable win as they bowled out the opposition for only 49 in 6.1 overs and just took one ball more to ease home by three wickets.

Hook openers Liam Miller and Daf Bowen got them off to a good start with 10 runs from Daf Williams’ first over – but then seemed to get a dose of the vapours as Miller (10) and Bowen (6) were run out and Callum James was later run out with scoring – with Llion Williams grabbing 2 for 8 in his one over as he shifted Bradley Flood (8) and Rhys Phelps (top scorer with 18) as Daf Williams pouched both catches and Karl Davies claiming 1 for 10 in support.

Daf Williams then anchored the Llanrhian response as Davies (5), Billy Clarke (7) and Tom Clarke (9) departed cheaply but by then Daf Williams had reached 23 not out and Iwan James struck the winning run despite the efforts of James (1 for 13), Rhys Phelps (1 for 6) and Bowen (1 for 12) as bowled and fielded quite well but still need to pace their innings a little better!



Pembroke edge home in tense finale


Llanrhian (109 for 4) lost to Pembroke (107 for 2)

Alan Webster - more big hitting for Pembroke against LlanrhianJack Harries - more runs and wickets for Pembroke in match twoLlanrhian then came close to making it a win double but were denied as Pembroke showed their improvement since gaining promotion as they held their nerve to win with just two balls left of their ten overs.
Leading the Llanrhian batting were Karl Davies (19), Billy Clarke (17), Tom Clarke (25 not out) and Iwan Jones (18 not out) after Daf Williams (7) had departed early and Llion Williams (8) were both run out, with Jack Harries again the pick of the Pembroke bowlers with 1 for 21 in a final tally of 109 for 4.
Harries is currently staking a strong claim to be considered the best indoor all-rounder and again he retired on 25 from only 15 balls in a productive opening stand of 51 with Gareth Long (even faster with 23 from 10 deliveries).
Sam Davies (6) didn’t last long but Luke Butler (16 not out) and Alan Webster (two fours in his typically belligerent 26 not out from 13 balls) before Paul White hit the winning runs from the only ball he faced and Pembroke eased home with those two balls still to spare!

Pembroke win a local-derby thriller


Pembroke (107 for 5) beat Pembroke Dock (98 all out)

Nick Daley - superb 43 not out for The DockPaul White - carried Pembroke home in match threeAny game between Pembroke and Pembroke Dock is regarded as vital because victory ensures the cricket bragging rights until they meet again and this one was no exception – with Pembroke were delighted by their final tally and The Dock were inevitably disappointed to eventually finish on 98 all out in 9.4 overs to miss out by 10 runs.
What made this match even more special was the fact that both team’s scores depended to a huge extent on tail-enders as Paul ‘Chalkie’ White came in last with Pembroke on 72 for 5 and batted on his own for an outstanding 35 not out – and the father and son duo of Nick and Rhys Daley joined forces in a stand of 57 runs before a late run out denied them possible glory!
Jack Harries (25 in only 9 balls), lost regular partner Gareth Long (9), followed as run out victims by Luke Butler (14) and Sam Davies (7), whilst Alan Webster sped to 10 but was then bowled by Rhys Daley – and when Paul White ran out skipper Harries with no addition to his score it seemed a low score was in order.
But White responded in the best possible way as he scored his runs from only 18 deliveries as the pick of the Dock bowlers were the Daley duo, of Nick (1 for 9) and Rhys (0 for 15).
The Dock started their reply disastrously as again skipper Harries showed his worth by removing danger men George Smith (0) from a return catch and then opposing captain Scott (caught behind by Butler) to leave The Dock on 0 for 2!
Tom Grimwood (20) and Adam Phillips (11) put on 33 but then disaster struck again as both departed within one run of each other, one run out and the other caught by Harries (who else?)  off White, to seemingly have the game lost by The Dock.
But someone forgot to read the script to The Daleys as they had to catch up with a slow run rate, but dad Nick belted four straight sixes and reached 43 from only 16 balls, whilst Rhys gave terrific support with 21 in 13 deliveries.
Suddenly a shock appeared on the cards but then the pressure inevitably told and both were run out, leaving Pembroke very relieved with a second win on the day but The Dock could at least take some consolation for their part in a cracking contest!

Neyland A show their champions’ class


Pembroke Dock (76 for 3) lost to Neyland A (79 for 0)

Ross Hardy - big hitting for Neyland APaul Murray - led Neyland A by exampleAfter their battle with Pembroke in their previous round perhaps it was inevitable that The Dock should be a little jaded as they could only muster 76 for 3 against current champions Neyland, who showed their strength in depth as they chased their target down without losing a wicket and in only half of their allotted time.
George Smith (3) departed early for The Dock before Tom Grimwood (18) and Scott Griffiths (27 not out) raided the tempo with support from Adam Phillips (18) – but Nick Daley 0) and son Rhys (3) departed quickly as Neyland maintained a vice-like grip on the ruin rate through Brad McDermott-Jenkins (a miserly 1 for 6). Jack John (0 for 14), Andrew Miller (0 for 21), Sean Hannon (0 for 11) and Ross Hardy (1 for 25), assisted by typical ground fielding.
It was felt by pundits that it wouldn’t be enough to test Neyland and that’s just how it turned out as skipper Paul Murray (25) and Ross Hardy (26) both reached retirement status, the latter belting two consecutive sixes in the run-fest, which saw Sean Hannon (13) and Andrew Miller (14) as the not out batsmen after only five overs, including four sixes, four fours and 13 threes – and only four ‘dot balls’!