Indoor Cricket - 6th December 2021


Llanrhian push champions Neyland A all the way

Umpires: Rob Bellerby & Allan Hansen
Scorers: Kasey Arran (Neyland) and Rachel Sanders (Pembroke Dock)
Video Camera Man: Patrick Bellerby
Scoreboard operative: Peter Davies

Venue: Neyland Community Centre Hub

Match One:


Neyland A (101 for 5) beat Llanrhian (97 for 4) by 4 runs

Sean HannonNigel DelaneyCongratulations to Neyland A for retaining the indoor cricket championship, which is sponsored by the Pembrokeshire Groundsmanship Association, but to take the silverware a week early they had to fend off the sternest of challenges from nearest rivals Llanrhian, who have been the surprise package of the league with the inspirational Nigel Delaney at the helm.
The match was shown on Face Book live and both sides were short of key players but for long periods it was Llanrhian who looked likely to inflict a first defeat in five years on Sean Hannon’s boys as they restricted them to 101 for 5 and then maintained the asking run-rate through the first half their reply but then failed to punish several lapses by Neyland fielders and eventually lost by four runs.
Asked to bat first, Neyland started well as Nick Koomen and Ashley Sutton took 31 runs off the first two overs before Jack Jones shifted the latter for 19 and Koomen retired on 25 – and the Miller brothers, Andrew (11) and Gregg (5) failed to make their usual impact as Carl Davies and Daf Williams were the wicket-takers.
Sean Hannon batted well for his undefeated 24 but Kieran Arran was run out in the late chase for runs, as was Koomen for 31 when he returned – but after scoring 63 runs at the half way stage Neyland were restricted to 38 in their final five overs as Jack Jones and Carl Davies bowled well with good support from the Llanrhian fielders.

Llanrhian start well as Williams and Delaney bat with conviction

They then made an ideal start as Neyland looked lacklustre in the field and Daf Williams and skipper Delaney both reached 25 before retiring – and they were 54 without loss at half way and looked on target for success.
But Neyland are bonny battlers and Andrew Miller, bowling at medium pace instead of his usual slow stuff, claimed 1 for 17 and brother Gregg chipped in with 1 for 15 as skipper Hannon conceded only 15 runs from two early overs before he took over the gloves.
Llanrhian lost wickets but had Daf Williams and Delaney to return - but Williams was bowled by Koomen looking for a big hit and Llanrhian were left looking for a six to win off the final ball but with their captain on 31 at the wrong end.
Iwan James (18 not out) tried hard but could only muster a single and so Neyland A edged through but skipper Hannon was quick to sing the opposition’s praises as well as say how pleased he was with the way his team never gave up and finally battled through to more silverware.
Neyland A Batting:
Nick Koomen run out 31
Ashley Sutton ct Llion Williams b Jack Jones 19
Andrew Miller ct Llion Williams b Carl Davies 11
Gregg Miller ct Jack Jones b Daf Williams 5
Sean Hannon not out 24
Kieran Arran run out 3
Extras 8
Total (5 wickets) 101
Llanrhian Bowling:
Daf Williams 2-0-26-1; Nigel Delaney 2-0-23-0; Jack Jones 2-0-13-1; Llion Williams 2-0-23-0; Carl Davies 2-0-16-1.
Llanrhian Batting:
Daf Williams b Nick Koomen 31
Nigel Delaney not out 31
Jack Jones ct Nick Koomen b Andrew Miller 4
Iwan James not out 18
Carl Davies lbw b Gregg Miller 3
Llion Williams run out 0
Extras 10
Total (4 wickets) 97
Neyland A Bowling:
Sean Hannon 2-0-15-0; Andrew Miller 2-0-127-0; Nick Koomen 2-027-1; Ashley Sutton 2-0-20-0; Gregg Miller 2-0-15-1.

Match Two:


Neyland B (139 for 3) beat (Narberth (74 all out) by 65 runs


**(Neyland B forfeited the points because they were forced to play three players from their C team)**

Tom PritchardGeorge EvansNeyland were without several players because of illness but wanted to fulfil the fixture so organiser Peter Davies, showing his usual conviction that playing matches is the key factor, ruled they could use C team players but forfeit the points, whilst Narberth were also keen to play and readily agreed.
There was a touching moment before the start as both teams, plus Neyland A and Llanrhian, observed a minute’s silence for Mick Haltam, the Narberth and Hook player who has sadly passed away, with club stalwart Richard Howell saying what a great loss he would be to Narberth cricket.
Put in to bat, Neyland lost Rhys Power early but brother Callum (29) and George Smith (49 not out) batted well, as did Joe Campodonic (25 not out)so that Neyland sped to a very challenging final tally of 139 for 3, as the Narberth bowlers took a bit of stick.
Narberth needed someone to score a lot of runs but although Wil Nicholas (15), Jordan Howell (17) and Jac Norcross (11) got steady starts they were all dismissed by Tom Pritchard in his 3 for 12 stint, aided by a good catch by Joe Campodonic and a neat stumping from Callum Power.
George Smith had earlier bowled Rhodri Dyer (11) whilst Kyle Williams and Rob Nicholas were run out cheaply so that Narberth were dismissed for 74 in 8.4 overs – but still pouched the points as both teams said afterwards how much they had enjoyed the run out!
Neyland B Batting:
Rhys Power b Kyle Williams 3
Callum Power not out 29
George Evans not out 49
Rhys Beavis ct & b Jac Norcross 7
Joe Campodonic retired 25
Tom Pritchard run out 9
Extras 17
Total (3 wickets) 139
Narberth Bowling:
Kyle Williams 2-0-32-1; Rhodri Dyer 2-0-24-0; Jac Norcross 2-0-23-1; Wil Nicholas 2-0-30-0; Jordan Howell 2-0-  30-0.
Narberth Batting:
Rhodri Dyer b George Evans 11
Wil Nicholas ct Joe Campodonic b Tom Pritchard 15
Jordan Howell st Callum Power b Tom Pritchard 17
Jac Norcross b Tom Pritchard 11
Kyle Williams run out 3
Rob Nicholas run out 4
Extras 13
Total (all out) 74
Neyland B Bowling:
Rhys Beavis 2-0-170; Rhys Power 2-0-26-0; George Evans 1-0-9-1; Joe Campodonic 1.3-0-9-0; Tom Pritchard 2-0-12-3.

Match Three:


Haverfordwest (79 for 5) lost to Pembroke Dock A (82 for 2) by 4 wickets

Jamie WhiteTom GrimwoodPembroke Dock A were comfortable winners of their game against Haverfordwest as they restricted The Town to 79 for 5 and then reached their target in only 7.4 overs as Jamie White was the pick of their bowlers and there was the usual solid batting from youngsters Rhys Daley and George Smith.
White claimed 2 for 14 as The Town could only muster 19 runs from their first three overs – and Dan Hopley was stumped for 20 whilst Johnnie White carried his bat for 26, including the only six.
Chris Phillips chipped in with 13 but skipper Dai Davies, who has scored the majority of his team’s runs, was run out without scoring as Billy Wood (1 for 11), Smith (0 for 13) and Tom Grimwood (0 for 8) bowled very economically alongside White.
The Dock A also had a poor start as they could only muster 26 in their first three overs and lost openers Wood (9) and Griffiths (4) to run outs – but Daley and Smith both reached 26 before retiring and the game was but over before Grimwood added 13 not out in a comfortable win for The Dock A.
Haverfordwest Batting:
Danny Hopley st Scott Griffiths b Jamie White 20
Johnnie White not out 26
Chris Phillips ct Scott Griffiths b Billy Wood 13
Richard Davies ct & b Jamie White 9
Dai Davies run out 0
Jason Stobbs run out 0
Extras 11
Total (5 wickets) 79
Pembroke Dock A Bowling:
Billy Wood 2-0-11-1; Tom Grimwood 2-0-8-0; Rhys Daley 2-0-25-0; George Smith 2-0-13-0; Dai Davies 2-0-7-0.
Pembroke Dock A Batting
Billy Wood run out 8
Scott Griffiths run out 4
Rhys Daley retired 26
George Smith retired 26
Tom Grimwood not out 13
Jamie White not out 0
Extras 3
Total (2 wickets) 82
Haverfordwest Bowling:
Johnnie White 2-0-29-0;Dai Davies 2-0-7-0;Richard Davies 1-0-6-0; Dan Hopley 1-0-12-0; Chris Phillips 1.4-0-18-0.