Indoor Cricket - 24th October 2021


Cricket action aplenty on a Sunday morning at The Hub!

Umpires: Steve Williams and Chris Stapleton
Scorers: Nicola Murray (Pembroke Dock), John Laugharne and Peter Davies (both Neyland)
The superb facilities at the Neyland Hub Community Centre were once again alive on Sunday morning as three more matches took place in the Pembrokeshire Indoor Cricket League, with the Pembrokeshire Veterans able to celebrate their first victory of the season by beating Neyland C, Hundleton continued their good form by beating Pembroke Dock B in the ‘B’ section and Haverfordwest continued to struggle in the upper echelon before losing to Neyland B

Match One:


Excellent win for Hundleton


Hundleton (112 for 3) beat Pembroke Dock Cricket Club ‘B’ (100 for 5)

Ben AdamsLuke MurrayHundleton continued to show how they have improved at the indoor version of cricket as they batted first against Pembroke Dock B and scored 112 for 3 wickets before restricting The Dock to 100 for 5 in response.
Ben Adams continued his good form with 31 not out from two stints at the crease and shared a solid opening stand with Paul Fox (17) before Dave Lockyer departed for a duck from a run out – but then Jonathan Williams used his experience alongside teenager Iori Humphreys with respective scores of 25 and 27 before both had to retire.
Stuart McNiffe chipped in with 12 before caught by Luke Murray off Nick Daley, who was the pick of The Dock’s bowling with 2 for 22.
The Dock made a superb start to their relay as Adam Phillips and Murray both raced to 25 and had to retire but Daley was run out for a duck and there weren’t many runs from Peter Kingdom (9), Niall Brunton (0) and Josh Powell (9) as Addams completed an excellent all-round Performance with 2 for 22) and there was a wicket apiece from Fox and McNiffe.
Their loss meant a return to action for Phillips and Murray but by now the clock was against them and although they had 37 from Phillips (before he was neatly stumped by Lockyer) and Murray (38 not out) they couldn’t reach their target and Hundleton were delighted winners!
Hundleton Batting:
Ben Adams not out 31
Paul Fox b Nick Daley 17
David Lockyer run out 0
Jonathan Williams retired 25
Iori Humphreys retired 27
Stuart McNiffe ct Luke Murray b Nick Daley 12
Extras 0
Total (3 wickets) 112
Pembroke Dock B Bowling
Peter Kingdom 2-0-22-0; Adam Phillips 2-0-27-0; Nick Daley 2-0-23-2; Luke Murray 2-0-17-0; Niall Brunton 2-0-23-0.
Pembroke Dock Batting:
Adam Phillips st David Lockyer b Ben Adams 37
Luke Murray not out 38
Nick Daley run out 0
Peter Kingdom lbw b Stuart McNiffe 9
Niall Brunton b Paul Fox 0
Josh Powell lbw b Ben Adams 10
Extras 6
Total (5 wickets) 100
Hundleton Bowling:
Ben Adams 2-0-17-2; Iori Humphreys 2-0-18-0; Paul Fox 2-0-22-1; Stuart McNiffe 2-0-26-1; Jonathan Williams 2-0-17-0.

Match Two:


First win for Pembs Vets


Neyland C (74 all out) lost to Pembs Veterans (76 for 3)

Neal WilliamsStuart CarpenterCongratulations to Pembs Veterans on their first win of the campaign, which clearly shows there is still some life in the old dogs as they dismissed Neyland C for 74 runs and then batted really well to reach their target for the loss of only two wickets with a massive four overs still in hand.
Sam Laugharne (23) and Nathan Sutton (20) topped the Neyland batting but Neal Williams, normally a wicketkeeper, grabbed two early wickets and there was one apiece from Leighton O’Connor and Stuart Carpenter alongside two run outs as they fielded well.
Kevin Bowen (13) and Williams (17) then gave The Vets a solid start which was maintained by O’Connor (16) and Carpenter (20) as the undefeated batsmen at the finish as The Vets hit three fours and two sixes alongside ten runs from ‘Mr Extras’!
Neyland C Batting:
Nathan Sutton ct Matthew Hicks b Neal Williams 20
John Nash ct Leighton O’Connor b Neal Williams 6
Callum Power ct David Haynes b Leighton O’Connor 9
Sam Laugharne run out 23
Jason Milne b Stuart Carpenter 10
Rodney Murphy run out 5
Extras 1
Total (all out) 74
Pembs Veterans Bowling:
Mark Hicks 2-0-21-0; Kevin Bowen 2-1-9-0; Neal Williams 2-0-16-2; Stuart Carpenter 2-0-4-1; Leighton O’Connor 2-0-24-1.
Pembs Vets Batting:
Kevin Bowen run out 13
Neal Williams lbw b Nathan Sutton 17
Leighton O’Connor not out 16
Stuart Carpenter not out 20
Extras 10
Total (2 wickets) 76
Neyland C Bowling:
Callum Power 2-0-37-0; Sam Laugharne 1-0-9-0; Jason Milne 1-0-15-0; Nathan Sutton 1-0-6-1; Rod Murphy 1-0-15-0.

Match Three:


Haverfordwest continue to struggle


Haverfordwest (73 for 5) lost to Neyland B (74 for 3)

Dai DaviesSteve MurrayHaverfordwest are clearly struggling with an inexperienced team as only Dai Davies remains from the squad which was in the county’s top two – and on this occasion they lost easily to Neyland B as skipper Davies maintained his commitment as club captain and scored 49 not out alongside Jason Stobbs (11) a tally of 73 for 5 after a slow start where only 21 runs came by the halfway stage.
The Neyland bowlers all maintained a good line and length with Steve Murray showing what a good cricketer he can be with a 2 for 8 haul that he followed up with top score of 25 before faced the mandatory retirement rule.
George Evans scored 23 before he was run out and after Davies claimed the prized scalp of Brad McDermott-Jenkins (caught by Jake Merry) it was left to Phil Keen (6) and Tom Pritchard (7) to finish things off in eight overs, the latter doing it in style with a strongly driven six!
Haverfordwest  Batting:
Richard Davies ct Tom Pritchard b Steve Murray 0
Jake Merry ct Brad McDermott-Jenkins b Phil Keen 5
Daniel Copley b Steve Murray 1
Dai Davies not out 49
Jason Stobbs ct Tom Pritchard b George Evans 11
Johnny White run out 5
Extras 2
Total (5 wickets) 73
Neyland B Bowling:
Steve Murray 2-0-8-2; Phil Keen 2-0-15-1; Tom Pritchard 2-0-15-0; George Evans 2-0-14-1; Brad McDermott-Jenkins 2-0-14-0..
Neyland B Batting:
George Evans run out 23
Lewis Page run out 0
Steve Murray retired 25
Brad McDermott-Jenkins ct Jake Merry b Dai Davies 6
Phil Keen not out 4
Tom Pritchard not out 7
Extras 9
Total (3 wickets) 74
Haverfordwest Bowling:
Johnny White 2-0-8-0; Jake M0erry 2-0-13-0; Richard Davies 1-0-18-0; Dai Davies 2-0-18-0; Daniel Copley 1-0-11-0.