Indoor Cricket - 11th October 2021


Neyland experience counts as Narberth youth gain more practice


Neyland A (130 for 4) beat Narberth (94 all out)


 Andrew Miller - played as if he has never been away from indoor cricketKieran Allen - three wickets for NeylandNeyland A again showed their class as they gained a comprehensive win over a talented young Narberth team which still needs to acquire the experience necessary to challenge the champions.
Put into bat, Sean Hannon’s boys reached 94 before they lost a wicket as Nick Koomen and Andrew Miller reached the statutory retirement score of 25 and Patrick Hannon struck 24 before he was caught by Wil Nicholas off Rhodri Dyer.
Keiran Arran (10), Nathan Banner (16) and Sean Hannon (15) maintained Neyland’s momentum before Koomen (33 not out) and Miller (28 not out where he revived memories of yesteryear) took them to a challenging 130 for 4 wickets.
Narberth lost a key wicket early on as skipper Jordan Howell was run out for only 5 – and although Louie Davies (19) and Jamie McCormack (25) batted well they were never able to match the required run rate as the score stood at 45 at the half way stage of the innings.
Rhodri Dyer (14) and Wil Nicholas (25) tried hard to increase the pressure as Neyland applied pressure but Dyer was bowled by Miller and Nicholas became one of Keiran Arran’s three wickets alongside McCormack and Elliott Evans.
Patrick Hannon also bowled well in two miserly overs where he gave away only ten runs and shifted Loui Davies as Neyland were good value for a 34-run success but Narberth showed that if they can build on this performance the prospects for them are promising in time to come!
Neyland A Batting:
Nick Koomen not out 33
Andrew Miller not out 28
Patrick Hannon ct Wil Nicholas b Rhodri Dyer 21
Keiran Arran run out 10
Nathan Banner ct Loui Davies 16
Sean Hannon run out 15
Extras 7
Total (4 wickets) 130
Narberth Bowling:
Rhodri Dyer 2-0-21-1; Elliott Evans 2-0-27-0; Loui Davies 2-0-19-0; Jordan Howell 2-0-30-0; Wil Nicholas 2-0-23-1.
Narberth Batting:
Jordan Howell run out 5
Loui Davies ct Nathan Banner b Patrick Hannon 19
Jamie McCormack b Keiran Arran 25
Rhodri Dyer b Andrew Miller 14
Wil Nicholas ct Patrick Hannon b Keiran Arran 25
Elliott Evans ct Nathan Banner b Keiran Arran 0
Extras 6
Total (all out) 94
Neyland A Bowling:
Patrick Hannon 2-0-10-1; Nick Koomen 2-0-17-0; Sean Hannon 2-0-13-0; Andrew Miller 2-0-18-1; Kieran Arran 1.5-0-34-3.

Town stumble at first hurdle


Haverfordwest (80 for 4) lost to Llanrhian (82 for 0)

Haverfordwest - lost their opening fixtureHaverfordwest have always been one of the top three indoor clubs in the county but they are currently struggling to field a strong team – and this was very much in evidence in their delayed opening fixture as they could muster only 80 runs and saw Llanrhian reach their target without losing a wicket and with three overs in hand.
Yet opening bats Johnny White and Richard Davies made a steady start  before the former was run out for 26 and the latter was 26 not out at the end of ten overs.
Skipper Dai Davies managed 20 not out in limited time but no-one else managed double figures as Nigel Delaney’s team fielded really well in support of accurate bowling so that they had a relatively easy task of chasing down 81 to win.
Nigel Delaney - led Llanrhian by example with more runs and a wicketJon Strawbridge - another blistering innings for LlanrhianDelaney opened the batting with Jon Strawbridge who retired with 28 runs after fewer than three overs for the second week in succession, including three straight sixes, and with Delaney still regarded as one of the most consistent indoor cricketers over a long period ending undefeated on 24 alongside wicket-keeper Iwan James on the same score it was very much one-way traffic as Llanrhian find themselves joint top with Neyland A after two games.
Haverfordwest Batting:
Johnny White run out 20
Richard Davies not out 26
Daniel Hopley ct & b Daf Williams 5
Dai Davies not out 20
Clive Tucker b Karl Davies 0
Jason Stobbs Nigel Delaney 1
Extras 8
Total (4 wickets) 80
Llanrhian Bowling:
Jon Strawbridge 2-0-15-0; Daf Williams 2-0-16-1; Karl Davies 2-0-17-1; Llion Williams 2-0-18-0; Nigel Delaney 2-0-14-1.
Llanrhian Batting:
Jon Strawbridge retired 28
Nigel Delaney not out 24
Iwan James not out 24
Extras 6
Total (0 wickets 82)
Haverfordwest Bowling:
Clive Tucker 2-0-20-0; Johnny White 2-0-16-0; Daniel Hopley 1-0-16-0; Dai Davies 1-0-8-0; Richard Davies 1-0-15-0.

Neyland B win well as Dock fall short


Neyland B (113 for 3) beat Pembroke Dock A (91 for 4)

Neyland BNeyland B battled hard for their 23-run victory over a Pembroke Dock B outfit that is still coming to terms with the needs of the indoor game but have already provided evidence that they are going to be  useful once they learn to pace their innings and cut out basic bowling and fielding errors.
Neyland suffered an early blow when they batted first and Paul Murray followed an early boundary with a leg injury as he set off for a quick single – but George Evans and Joe Campodonic were soon into their stride before Evans had to retire and Campodonic was run out for 24.
Jamie Smith was also run out cheaply but Brad McDermott-Jenkins batted well for his 23 not out and Gavin Rowland contributed a very good undefeated 25 – and Smith returned to end the innings on 30 not out as The Dock could be pleased that they only conceded three extras in Neyland’s 113 for 3, with George Smith the pick of their bowlers as he conceded only 14 runs in his two overs and talented teenager Rhys Daley conceding four more in his same spell.
But The Dock lost Smith for 8 and Daley for 9 – and when Tom Grimwood departed for 13 the Dock were well behind the run rate as well as the loss of three key wickets.
Jamie White was again The Dock’s most consistent batsman with 29 not out and found support from Archie Hillier-Wood (18 before he gave a return catch to Gavin Rowland).
Connor Carroll (6 not out) was still there at the end with White but it was Neyland’s overall performance saw them pouch their first win of the season and The Dock still seeking theirs.
Neyland B Batting:
Paul Murray retired hurt 5
George Evans not out 30
Joe Campodonic run out 24
Jamie Smith run out 5
Brad McDermott-Jenkins not out 23
Gavin Rowlands not out 25
Extras 3
Total (3 wickets) 115
Pembroke Dock A Bowling:
Jamie White 2-0-15-0; Connor Carroll 2-0-32-0; George Smith 2-0-14-0; Tom Grimwood 2-0-20-0; Rhys Daley 2-0-18-0.
Pembroke Dock A Batting:
George Smith run out 8
Rhys Daley ct Brad McDermott-Jenkins b Joe Campodonic 9
Tom Grimwood ct Joe Campodonic b George Evans 13
Jamie White not out 29
Archie Hillier-Wood ct & b Gavin Rowland 18
Connor Carroll not out 6
Extras 8
Total (4 wickets) 91
Neyland B Bowling:
Jamie Smith 2-0-15-0; George Evans 2-0-16-1; Brad McDermott-Jenkins 2-0-23-0; George Evans 2-0-8-1; Gavin Rowland 2-0-28-0.