Indoor Cricket - 10th October 2021


Lockyer and Williams star in Hundleton win


Pembrokeshire Vets (124 for 2) lost to Hundleton (128 for 5)

Jonathan WilliamsThe batting of Jonathan ‘Taff’ Williams and David Lockyer shone brightly as Hundleton marked their first appearance in the ‘B’ Division with an excellent win over a Pembrokeshire Veterans’ side packed with experienced players, most of whom have represented Wales at their respective age categories.
The Vets batted first and all three early batsmen reached the mandatory retirement score as Kevin Bowen (St Ishmaels) with 29 was joined by 25 apiece by Neal Williams (Cresselly) and Leighton O’Connor (Llechryd) to take them to 94 before they lost their first wicket when Mark Hicks (Johnston) was caught and bowled by Lockyer for 5 runs.
Ian Milsom (Herbrandston) belted 10 before he was run out and Rodney Murphy was still there at the end on 5 not out – their final total boosted to a healthy 124 for 2 by 25 extras (22 of them wides)!

Hundleton lose early wickets but then Lockyer and Williams took them home

In sharp contrast, Hundleton lost openers Paul Fox and Iori Humphreys cheaply as Bowen and Milsom were the respective wicket takers to good catches by O’Connor and Hicks.

But then Messrs Williams and Lockyer reached 25 and had to retire but both were quickly back at the wicket after Stuart McNiffe (11) and Gareth Vidler both fell to the wiles of O’Connor.
Williams eventually departed for 31 after hitting two fours and two sixes – but stayed at the bowler’s end as Lockyer batted superbly in reaching 50 and then speeding on so that 12 runs were needed from the final over.
Lockyer scored them in five balls and finished the game in fine style with a boundary to ease his team over the line, having smote three fours and three sixes in the process.
Pembs Vets Batting:
Kevin Bowen retired 29
Neal Williams retired 25
Leighton O’Connor retired 25
Mark Hicks ct & b David Lockyer 5
Ian Milsom run out 10
Rod Murphy not out 5
Extra 25
Total (124 for 2 wickets)
Hundleton Bowling:
Iori Humphreys 2-0-26-0; David Lockyer 2-0-26-1; Paul Fox 2-0-22-0; Jonathan Williams 2-0-21-0; Stuart McNiffe 2-0-31-0.
Hundleton Battling:
Paul Fox ct Leighton O’Connor b Kevin Bowen 1
Iori Humphreys ct Mark Hicks b Ian Milsom 9
Jonathan Williams ct Kevin Bowen b Rodney Murphy 31
David Lockyer not out 70
Stuart McNiffe ct Mark Hicks b Leighton O’Connor 11
Matthew Vidler b Leighton O’Connor 0
Extras 6
Total (128 for 5 wickets)
Pembs Vets Bowling:
Kevin Bowen 2-0-22-1; Ian Milsom 2-0-27-1; Mark Hicks 2-0-20-0; Leighton O’Connor 2-0-23-2; Rodney Murphy 2-0-24-1.

Dock B’s Brunton batters Neyland C


Pembroke Dock B (114 for 4) B beat Neyland C (53 all out)

Scorer: Nicola Murray
Niall BruntonPembroke Dock’s B team coasted to victory over Neyland C as Niall Brunton came into the side and played his part with the bat with a quick-fire innings whilst batting last of their six players, took a good catch and then when he came on as final choice bowler he only delivered four balls, one of which was despatched for 6 and the other three bringing him wickets as Neyland were shot out in only 4.4 overs!
The early run getters were Nick Daley (30) and Luke Murray (retired on 26), both hitting two fours and two sixes but then Peter Kingdom and Adam Phillips departed cheaply before Bowyn Clark (run out 13) and Brunton (17 not out) took The Dock to 114 for 4, with 18 extras boosting their final tally.

Neyland struggle as on Beavis bats well

Neyland lost Rhys Power in the first over when he was run out and Aiden Rees and skipper Sam Laugharne soon followed – and it was only Rhys Beavis’s batting power that featured from his No 5 berth, belting three sixes and a four in his rapid-fire 32 before he fell to Brunton.
Callum Power and Lucas Jones quickly followed and The Dock were good value for victory by a massive 61 runs.
Pembroke Dock B Batting:
Nick Daley run out 30
Luke Murray retired 26
Peter Kingdom ct Rhys Power b Sam Laugharne 3
Adam Phillips st Callum Power b Lucas Jones 7
Bowyn Clark run out 13
Niall Brunton not out 17
Extras 18
Total (4 wickets) 114
Neyland C Bowling:
Rhys Power 2-0-24-0; Sam Laugharne 2-0-11-1; Lucas Jones 2-0-24-1; Rhys Beavis 2-0-19-0; Aiden Rees 2-0-31-0
Neyland C Batting:
Callum Power ct Nick Daley b Niall Brunton 9
Rhys Power run out 3
Aiden Rees ct Niall Brunton b Bowyn Clarke 1
Sam Laugharne ct Luke Murray b Nick Daley 4
Rhys Beavis ct Luke Murray b Niall Brunton 32
Lucas Jones b Niall Brunton 4
Total (all out) 53
Pembroke Dock B Bowling:
Peter Kingdom 1-0-7-0; Bowyn Clark 1-0-7-1; Nick Daley 1-0-16-1; Luke Murray 1-0-17-0; Niall Brunton 0.4-0-6-3.