Great season celebrated at Neyland

Presidents special award winners
Neyland Cricket Club celebrated an epic season for their first team at their annual dinner, which was their final one to be held in the Athletic Clubhouse before the exciting new development about to start.

Andrew Miller and Paul WebbUnder the leadership of Sean Hannon the club was able to celebrate their success in winning the coveted first division title late on the final day, retaining the DR Morris Cup and reaching the final of the Welsh Cup at Sophia Gardens, where they short of several key players but still managed to push Ammanford all the way before missing out on what would have been a historic treble.

‘Smithy’ shines in MC role

With long-serving club Hon Secretary Andrew Smith as an admirable MC the players, supporters and guests, who included County Club chairman Paul Webb and his wife Janice, enjoyed an excellent buffet prepared by Diane Cole and family before Andrew provided wit and reminiscing aplenty in the presentation ceremony afterwards.

He included an interesting nugget that in the past six years with regard to the top three trophies, the league silverware, the Harrison-Allen Bowl and the DR Morris Cup, the club had collected an amazing 11 of them, leaving the rest of the top teams to share only seven trophies between them!

Nick Koomen and Bill CarneHe even provided the proof with the respective dates for each competition, with the league trophy resting with Neyland in 2014, 2014 and 2018; the Harrison Bowl in 2013, 2015 and 2017; and the DR Morris Cup in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2018!

He was quick to point out, however, that equally important were the second and third XIs captained respectively by Paul Miller and Ian Milsom, the junior teams and hopefully ladies' section for 2019.


Worthy of a mention

Also worthy of a mention for their vital parts in the club's progress were first team manager Peter Davies and Martin Jones, the club chairman who doubles up with his role as cricket development officer for Pembrokeshire, skipper Sean Hannon and his wife Kirsty for their part in the club; plus scorer John Laugharne, who also scores for the county team after many years' earlier involvement as a Neyland player.

Henry Durrant, Peter Davies and Sean HannonOne of the loudest cheers of the evening was reserved for Kyla Rowlands, who was awarded the Billy Lloyd Trophy as Club Person of the Year after her amazing work in providing superb teas after stepping in to help out at short notice.

Then highly-respected club president Owain Picton completed his three-year stint by mentioning all those who made the club the success it was and announced the recipients of his special annual awards for excellence.

These were:

First Team:
Sean Hannon

Second Team: Lyn Rees and Callum Power

Third Team:  Lewis Tucker

Youth: Aiden Rees and Lewis Hallett

He also welcomed Paul and Janice Webb and there were flowers for his wife Janice, plus Marilyn Carne (wife of sports journalist Bill Carne, who was also a guest). Respective second and third team scorers Jenny Seaton and Ann Tucker were also recognised, as were Kirsty Hannon and Kyla Rowland.

Club Person of the Year - Kyla Rowland and Martin JonesThe club' award winners were as follows:

Bowling: (Presented by Paul Webb):

1st XI: - Andrew Miller; 2nd X1 - Rodney Murphy; 3rd XI - Ian Milsom.

Batting (Presented by Bill Carne):

1st XI - Nick Koomen; 2nd XI - Callum Power; 3rd XI - Sam Laugharne.

Fielding (Presented by Martin Jones):

1st XI - Andrew Miller; 2nd XI - Gavin Rowland; 3rd XI - Lewis Hallett.

Other special awards were:

The John Preece Memorial Award (Player of the Year):  Sean Hannon and Henry Durrant (Presented by Peter Davies)

The Martyn Rees Award (Players' Player of the Year): Andrew Miller (presented by Sean Hannon)

The C.E.Morgan Award (2nd Team Player of the Year):  (Presented by Owain Picton to Rodney Murphy)

Third Team Player of the Year: Aiden Rees

The Ian Milsom Award (Third Team Most Improved Player of the Year): Sam Laugharne

Club captain Sean Hannon told;

"It was a fantastic evening to round off a great season and we would like to thank our special guests for their support, as well as our families and friends. It could be our last presentation at the present Athletic Clubhouse but we hope that next season will be just as rewarding in the new clubhouse soon to be constructed.

President's special award winners
Andrew Miller and Paul Webb
Nick Koomen and Bill Carne
Henry Durrant, Peter Davies and Sean Hannon
Club Person of the Year - Kyla Rowland and Martin Jones