County gain revenge with top all-round team performance

The Pembroke County Cricket team and officials 

 Inter-League Cricket:


South Wales Cricket Association (91 all out) lost to Pembroke County Cricket Club (229 for 7) by 138 runs


Venue: Llandyssul Cricket Club

Scorer: John Laugharne


In-form opener Patrick Bellerby (Neyland)The Pembroke County Cricket Club gained ample revenge for an earlier defeat against the South Wales Cricket Association at Llandyssul as they batted, bowled and fielded far better than the opposition, who had a much-changed team from the one who turned out at Imble Lane, Pembroke Dock.

But leading the home side was Julian Griffiths, who plays for Felinfoel but whose roots are in Milford Haven, where his father Dai and mum Karen were heavily involved with the town’s rugby club – whilst former Whitland CC skipper Iestyn Scourfield was also involved.

Bellerby shines with the bat – again!

Leading the way for Pembrokeshire in terms of batting was Neyland’s in-form opener Patrick Bellerby, who followed up unbeaten innings of 98 and 107 with top score of 64 that gave him a total of 269 runs in four days!

He shared an opening stand of 82 with Neyland colleague Nick Koomen, who was first out when he was stumped by Bleddyn Morgan off the bowling of Tom Clarke for 36, including six boundaries.

 He was replaced by Joseph Kiff (Llangwm), who showed his attacking qualities with a six in his 27 out of another partnership of 38 runs before he was adjudged lbw as part of a 2 for 19 analysis for Clarke from eight accurate overs as he joined Joe Swift (4 for 10) as the pick of the South Wales’ bowlers.

Bellerby’s innings finally ended on 64 as he was caught off the bowling of Joe Swift having looked a class act with eight fours and a big six to his name.

Toby Hayman (Burton) also added 25 in good time and although Ross Hardy (Neyland) and Brad McDermott-Jenkins (Lawrenny) went relatively cheaply there was a useful 23 not out by Jonathan Thomas (Whitland) before Tom Davies (Carew) injected a vital late contribution as his innings of 25 included two fours and a six.

Disastrous start for South Wales

Tom Davies - runs and wickets for Carew all-rounderA tally of 229 for 7 in 40 overs was a challenging score to chase for South Wales but it soon assumed mountainous proportions as they collapsed to 16 for 4 as Pembrokeshire made an electric start in the field.

Skipper Sean Hannon (Neyland) had to be sharp to pouch a good catch behind the wicket off Tom Davies to shift Rob Crawford for a duck and then Yacoob Ali (one of the key home batsmen) was run out by a direct hit from the boundary by McDermott-Jenkins.

Worse was to follow as Ben Edkins (6) and Jack Donovan (3) were dismissed respectively by Henry Durrant (Neyland) and Tom Davies, who caught the former player whilst Jonathan Thomas pouched the latter.

At this stage South Wales were desperately in need of a big stand but it didn’t come as Bleddyn Morgan managed 12 runs but fell to a splendid return catch from Andrew Pawlett, the St Ishmaels left arm slow bowler flinging himself full length to his right to take a sensational one-handed catch!

Davies bowled Joseph Paske to complete fine figures of 3 for 18 in seven overs (three maidens) to leave South Wales looking desperate on 34 for 7 but skipper Julian Griffiths  contributed 14 (two boundaries) before Bellerby was again involved with  a catch off Ceri Brace (Carew), who also shifted Iestyn Scourfield for a hard-hitting 18 (four fours), assisted by Jonathan Thomas’s good catch.

The South Wales’ blushes were spared a little as Jonathan Cheal took them from 67 for 9 from his batting position of No 10, smashing five fours in the process before he fell to Thomas with their top score of 23.


County Quotes:

Sean Hannon (County skipper):

“We were delighted to win by 138 runs and it was good to see such a commitment and some great performances, especially in the field, where I must admit I was the only one to drop a catch.

There is a great team spirit building and everyone is very happy to be included in a relatively young team.”

Paul Webb (County Club Chairman):

We know that South Wales were not at full strength but we had also made several changes from our earlier game against them – and we are heartened by the way this talented group has gelled into a more than useful squad.”

Richard Merriman (County Selector):

“We have aimed to select in-form players and this performance shows it is paying off as Sean Hannon leads by example and there is 100% commitment from the others. In general they are young players who can serve Pembrokeshire for years and everyone who has joined our squad has been a credit to their clubs, as well as the county.”



Pembroke County Cricket Club Batting:

Nick Koomen st Bleddyn Morgan b Tom Clarke 36

Patrick Bellerby ct Iestyn Scourfield b Joe Swift 64

Joseph Kiff lbw b Tom Clarke 27

Toby Hayman ct Ben Edkins b Joe Swift 25

Jonathan Thomas not out 23

Ross Hardy ct Julian Griffiths b Joe Swift 7

Brad McDermott-Jenkins ct Julian Griffiths b Joe Swift 8

Tom Davies ct Ben Edkins b Yacoob Ali 25

Henry Durrant not out 2

Extras 12

Total (for 7 wickets) 229


South Wales Cricket Association Bowling:

Iestyn Scourfield 5-0-18-0; Julian Griffiths 5-0-15-0; Rob Crawford 4-0-27-0; Tom Clarke 8-0-19-2; Jason Power 3-0-27-0; Joe Swift 8-0- 10-4; Yacoob Ali 7-3-44-1

South Wales Cricket Association Batting:

Rob Crawford ct Sean Hannon b Tom Davies 0

Yacoob Ali run out 8

Ben Edkins ct Tom Davies b Henry Durrant 6

Jack Donovan ct Jonathan Thomas b Tom Davies 3

Bleddyn Morgan ct & b Andrew Pawlett 12

Joseph Paske b Tom Davies 2

Iestyn Scourfield ct Jonathan Thomas b Ceri Brace 18

Julian Griffiths ct Patrick Bellerby b Ceri Brace 14

Tom Clarke lbw b Ross Hardy 0

Jonathan Cheal ct Nick Koomen b Jonathan Thomas 23

Joe Swift not out 1

Extras 4

Total (all out) 91

Pembrokeshire County Cricket Club Bowling:

Henry Durrant 6-1-12-1; Tom Davies 7-3-18-3; Andrew Pawlett 8-4-9-1; Brad McDermott-Jenkins 3-1-14-0;  Ceri Brace 5-1-24-2; Ross Hardy 3-2-4-1; Jonathan Thomas 2-0-8-1


The Pembroke County Cricket team and officials

In-form opener Patrick Bellerby (Neyland)

Tom Davies - runs and wickets for Carew all-rounder