Alec Colley Semi-Finals - Wins for Carew and St Ishmaels

Carew 2nds


Alec Colley Cup Semi-Finals

Veterans steer Carew to Alec Colley Cup Final

Llangwm (117 for 8) lost to Carew (120 for 2) by 8 wickets

Umpires: Robert Ridge and Glyn Cole.
Scorers: George/Jonathan Twigg (Llangwm) and Julie Davies (Carew).
Venue: Oatfield Park, Burton.

Glyn Cole and Robert RidgeCarew Seconds’ potent mix of experienced veterans and talented young players proved the ideal concoction at Oatfield Park as they eased home by eight wickets against their counterparts from Llangwm, although to be fair the final margin of victory didn’t quite reflect the part played by Sean Weller’s boys in an entertaining tussle.

Put in to bat first, Llangwm made an interesting start as they were awarded five runs for a no ball from a high-pitched first delivery that Martin Thomas did well to fend off to the boundary – but he was soon clean bowled by Tudor Hurle without adding to his tally.

Andrew ‘Ackie’ Harries could only muster two runs before he received a snorter from Simon Wood and saw his off-bail removed – but Waller hit 15 runs, including a six and a four before he was neatly caught in the gully be Nick Scourfield off Kerry Waters.

Phil Llewellyn and James Lewis advanced the score to 74 but then the former was adjudged lbw to Wood and the innings lost a bit of impetus despite an excellent 25(two fours) before he lost a little patience and was stumped by Morgan Grieve off Rooks’ skipper Barry Evans.

Evans not only managed to considerably slow the run rate but took his final analysis to an innings-changing 4 for 21 as he bowled Toby Asson (10) and Mike Williams (1) before having Josh Davies superbly caught by Dai Rees, running in from the long-on boundary; no mean feat in the strong winds.

Carew cruise at the start of their reply

Julie Davies and George TwiggThe Rooks set off in pursuit of their target via Brian Scourfield and Nick Scourfield, two hugely experienced players over many years, and this was evident with their ability to punish anything loose, but also able to run well for twos and threes to the outfield.

They moved slickly to 36 in the seventh over and reached 67 without incident in the 10th over when Hall (22) suffered the rare feat of being stumped by Martin Thomas off a Toby Asson wide, having stroked just one boundary but always in control of things.

Scourfield moved smoothly to 42 (one four) before he was out lbw to a shooter to give Asson his second scalp but by then The Rooks’ score had advanced to 97 in the 15th over.

Ashley Smith came in and belted two fours in his speedy 19 not out and Simon Wood gave support, although a little out of breath at Smith’s insistence on sharp running, and he finished with an undefeated 12, which included a boundary to end the game in style with wickets and overs aplenty still in hand.


Llangwm Batting:
Martin Thomas b Tudor Hurle 5
Phil Llewellyn lbw b Kerry Waters 28
Andrew Harries b Simon Wood 2
Sean Waller ct Nick Scourfield b Barry Evans 15
James Lewis st Morgan Grieve b Kerry Waters 25
Toby Asson b Barry Evans 10
Mike Williams b Barry Evans 1
Josh Davies ct Dai Rees b Barry Evans 9
Callum Jenkins not out 8
Dan Morgan not out 0
Extras 14
Total (for 8 wickets) 117 in 20 in 18 overs

Carew Bowling: Simon Wood 5-0-39-1; Tudor Hurle 5-0-23-1; Kerry Waters 5-0-31-0; Barry Evans 5-0-21-4.

Carew Batting:
Brian Hall st Martin Thomas b Toby Asson 22
Nick Scourfield lbw b Toby Asson 42
Ashley Smith not out 19
Simon Wood not out 12
Extras 25
Total for (2 wickets) 120

Llangwm Bowling: Mike Williams 4-0-25-0; Daniel Hughes 1-0-15-0; Andrew Harries 5-0-27-0; Toby Asson 4-0-25-2; Phil Llewellyn 1-0-8-0; Callum Jenkins 1-0-16-0.

Llangwm 2nds



St Ishmaels 2nds

Old-Timers shine in Tish success

St Ishmaels (81 for 5) beat Haverfordwest (80 for 5) by 5 wickets

Umpires: Jonathan Willington and Ian Milsom
Scorers: Jane Richards and Natalie Thomas
Venue: St Ishmaels Sports Ground

An unbroken stand of 38 from Stuart Carpenter and Steve Williams proved decisive as St Ishmaels won a tense encounter with Haverfordwest – sealing a first Alec Colley Cup final in 17 years in the process.

It was a haul of 3-24 from Williams that helped restrict The Town to just 80-5 in 20 overs, and then he and Carpenter kept their cool with the bat as Tish secured victory with just four balls to spare.

Home skipper Robbie Thomas opted to field upon winning the toss and his side struck an early blow through Kevin Bowen, who had Nikhil Mathias caught by Williams.

From 6-1 the visitors steadied matters with a stand of 42 between opener Dan Field and James Marchant, before Carpenter bowled Field for 31 (two fours).

That prompted trouble as in the 14th over, Williams then skittled Ross Dewstowe and Ashley James for ducks, and did the same to Town skipper Nigel Morgan after he’d made 7.

Marchant stood firm to finish 34 not out (one six) but despite difficult conditions, a target of 81 looked gettable for the hosts.

Tish battle back from poor batting start

And yet the pendulum swung early in their reply, as Will Phillips removed key men Karl Rhead and Kevin Bowen cheaply, both courtesy of catches from Mathias, and Morgan bowled Danny Flynn to leave the score 16-3.

The away captain proceeded to take 1-3 in his five overs, including three maidens, to keep the pressure on.

Carpenter took his time to settle, but was aided by Ieuan Hawkins who cracked two fours in his 17 before falling to Marchant - who then bowled Steve Hartley first ball to leave Tish 45-5 after 14 overs and still needing 36 to win.

But it was then that Carpenter and Williams began to up the rate, and the former cracked his first boundary off Mathias in the 19th over to help take the score to 77 going into the final over.

And after Marchant bowled a dot first up, it was Carpenter who hammered a six to make 29 not out and finish the job in style – with Williams unbeaten on 11 at the other end.


Haverfordwest Batting:
Nikhil Mathias ct Steve Williams b Kevin Bowen 1
Dan Field b Stuart Carpenter 31
James Marchant not out 34
Ross Dewstowe b Steve Williams 0
Ashley James b Steve Williams 0
Nigel Morgan b Steve Williams 7
Huw Scriven not out 3
Extras 4
Total (for 5 wickets) 80 in 20 overs

St Ishmaels Bowling: Kevin Bowen 5-0-12-1; Danny Flynn 5-0-15-0; Stuart Carpenter 5-0-26-1, Steve Williams 5-0-24-3.

St Ishmaels Batting:
Karl Rhead ct Nikhil Mathias b William Phillips 4
Danny Flynn b Nigel Morgan 1
Kevin Bowen ct Nikhil Mathias b William Phillips 8
Stuart Carpenter not out 29
Ieuan Hawkins ct George Thomas b James Marchant 17
Steve Hartley b James Marchant 0
Steve Williams not out 11
Extras 11, (including 5 penalty runs)
Total (for 5 wickets) 83 in 19.2 overs

Haverfordwest Bowling: William Phillips 5-0-16-2; Nigel Morgan 5-3-3-1; Ashley James 3-0-24-0; James Marchant 4.2-0-24-2; Nikhil Mathias 2-0-8-0.