Young Otters celebrate hard-fought win

Winners Narberth U17s


Under 17s’ rugby:


Narberth 21 – Crymych 13

Referee: Martyn Rudd
Assistants: Joe Kiff & Dan Tomkins
Narberth fended off a strong challenge from their counterparts in Crymych to become winners of the 2022 Mike Fry Cup, the tournament for under 17 teams in the county; a trophy named in memory of a great supporter of junior rugby in the county and traditionally played at Heywood Lane, the home of Mike’s team, Tenby United.
Both sides showed their high skill levels in a hard-fought contest where The Young Otters led 10-7 at the interval and managed to stay in front, despite the yeoman work of Crymych skipper Iestyn Wood, who was their man of the match as he kept his side going, even after they were reduced to 14 men in the second half.
Opposing captain Shay Norcross gave Narberth the lead with a well-struck penalty but Crymych hit back with an excellent try from busy scrum half Tomas Davies which was converted by full back Owain Davies.

Narberth receive the Mike Fry Trophy

Vital scores at key times

Crymych skipper and their man of the match - Iestyn WoodBoth sides had half chances which they failed to develop through a mixture of over-eagerness and taking of wrong options but it was The Young Otters who recaptured the lead before the break when strong-running winger Max Morgan sped through and full back Fraser Jones added the extra points.
Crymych drew level with a well-struck penalty from Owain Davies, who also exchanged further penalties with Fraser Jones, a long-range effort from almost half way.
But then Crymych suffered the loss of a player and Fraser Jones slotted a three-pointer before The Young Otters made the game safe when flanker Yori Morgan rounded off a well-controlled lineout drive for an unconverted try.
So Narberth celebrated their success whilst Crymych were despondent in defeat - but both sets of coaches were quick to sing the praises of their young charges, whilst recognising the part played by the opposition in an absorbing clash.
Crymych: Owain Davies: Elis James; Devon Davies; Macs Page; Hedd George: Gruffydd Edwards; Tomas Davies: Kyle Kempson; Rhys Jones; Ptolemy Alleyne: Stefan Morris; Huw Reed: Jake Noott; Aneurin Vaughan; Iestyn Wood (Capt). Replacements: Kian Morris; Iolo Phillips; Charlie Fenn; Dyfrig Dellar; Ifan Vaughan.
Coaches: Aled Harries; Emyr Davies; Mark Dellar.  Team Manager: Ann-Marie Wood.
Narberth:  Fraser Jones: Alex Coaker; James Price; Brad Cramb: Max Morgan; Shay Norcross (Capt); Elliott Evans: Joel Davies; Harley Young; James Morgan: Jayden Scourfield; Harri Harries: Will Nicholas; Yori Morgan; Kyle Day. Replacements: Tom Monk; Lewis Reed; Owain Holgate; Ollie Hough; Aaron Pritchard; Ben Davies; Rhydian Jones; Owain Thomas.
Coaches: Randal Evans, Shane Higgon and Rob Nicholas    Team Manager: Simon Phillips

Runners-Up Crymych U17s