Slick Seasiders overcome gritty Otters to win Youth Plate

Tenby United - Plate winners 


2024 Pembrokeshire Youth Plate Final:


Narberth 22 - Tenby United 39


Venue: The Lewis Lloyd Ground; Narberth
Referee:  Ed Howells.
Assistant Referees: Gary Wilkes and Ifan Morgan.
The Youth Plate Final provided a perfect curtain raiser for Pembrokeshire Youth’s big night at The Lewis Lloyd Ground as Tenby United confirmed their ‘favourites’ label with a comfortable win over the Young Otters, who never gave up the battle and actually scored the final two tries to make the score line more reflective of their part in the game.
And an epic battle it was as both teams tore into each other from the first whistle but in the final analysis Tenby had more experience where it counted, with a powerful front row of  Iwan Duffy, Kyle Rossiter and Dan Howells that all wanted to be first-ball carriers at every ruck and made a lot of ground despite some very brave defending from Narberth, with scrum half Olly Hough joined by skipper Ben Davies, Aeron Williams and replacement Charlie Jones, who made a huge impact with his bit tackles when he came on. as natural leaders of a squad which never shirked a tackle and were ever-ready to run the ball at the opposition.

Strong start by The Seasiders

But The Seasiders made the stronger start when their pack drove deep into the opposition’s 22 in the opening exchanges and right winger Joel Davies popped up from the opposite wing to act as the ninth forward in scoring an unconverted try in the clubhouse corner.
After 11 minutes they added a second five points when good handling saw centre Tom Young dive over - before Narberth finally went close themselves when Ashton O’Riordan and George Jones set the platform and left winger Harry Williams looked likely to score but was ankle-tapped in the 22 to deny him a score.

Richards involved as Tenby take control

The Young Otters finally broke their points duck after 17 minutes, however, when ref Ed Howells awarded them a penalty 27 metres out and Ollie Hough landed the three-pointer - only for Tenby to add a third unconverted try, again in the clubhouse corner, as they were awarded a penalty and Tenby No 8 Iorri Richards showed good awareness as took it quickly and charged ten metres to the line.
Richards was also involved in the next Tenby try as he and Tom Faletau set up second row Cameron Brown – and despite the grit of the Narberth team, a blind-side burst by No 9 Fletcher Broadhurst set up the platform for prop Duffy to give his side a 25-3 interval lead which might have been even more if the Tenby place kickers were up to something like their best form!

Narberth - Plate runners-up


Seasiders seal success after Otters score their first try

The Otters deserve every credit for fighting back at the start of the second half and seven minutes in their forwards gained quality possession and showed good ball retention before they set up the chance for Alex Coaker to score a try converted by Olly Hough.
But Tenby made their extra man count and bounced back with another try based on their pack strength to go with the solid play behind of Rhys Parker, Joe Davies and Tristan Kraus before a quick tap and go saw prop Dan Howells plough through before outside half Will Allen converted, as he did when Alfie Luger came on and powered his way over the line to put his team 39-10 ahead.

Match officials - Gary Wilkes, Ed Howells and Ifan Morgan


Otters show real grit at the end

At this stage Narberth might be forgiven for throwing in the towel but coach Jason Jennings must have been impressed by the way that his young charges kept plugging away and their efforts were rewarded with cracking late tries from Harry Riordan, who showed great pace on a diagonal run to the, and after adding the extras Olly Hough completed an excellent performance with an interception and 50-metre sprint to the line.
So, a final margin of 39-22 was well deserved by Tenby United Youth, whose coach Mark Heywood was clearly delight with victory, whilst Narberth Youth could have few grumbles by defeat but also showed great pride in also playing their hearts out in the club’s name!

Seasiders celebrate with Delyth Summons (District Rep on WRU)
Narberth:  Rhydian Jones: Theo Tilley; George Jones; Ashton O’Riordan; Harry Williams: Archie Vallance; Olly Hough: Owain Holgate; Kyran Salmon; Owain Thomas: Harry Brown; Beau Tattersall: James Thomas; Ben Davies; Aeron Williams. Replacements:  Noah Jenkins; Harvey Perkins; Ellis Phillips; Cai Thomas; Monty Clarke; Charlie Jones; Tyla Beeken; Ioan Thomas
Coaches: Jason Jennings; Rob Ayers; Joel Davies
Team Manager: Cath Macphee
First Aiders: Ian Hough & Steve Beeken
Tenby United: Rhys Parker: Joe Davies; Tom Young; Alfie Prior; Tristan Kraus: Will Allen; Fletcher Broadhurst: Iwan Duffy; Kyle Rossiter; Dan Howells: Tom Faletau; Cameron Brown: George Duckett; Owen Grieve; Iorri Richards. Replacements: Lewis Rossiter; Lewis Fargin; Callum Cogger; Rhodri Osborne; Jayden Allen; Rhys Swarbrooke; Dylan Duffy, Cian Knights.
Coaches: Mark Heywood; Puku Faletau
Team Manager: Sarah Bolton
First Aider: Lewis Boswell

Good sportsmanship at the end of a tough tussle