Neyland too strong in second half

Winners Neyland


Griffiths Cup – Plate competition:


Llangwm 3 - Neyland 27

Referee: Kieran Burrow.    
Assistants: Martyn Rudd and Dave Byrne.
Neyland’s talented under 17s rounded off a good day for the club when the Griffiths Cup came to a celebratory conclusion as they beat their counterparts from Llangwm by 27-3 in an absorbing clash where the young the young All Blacks were only 5-3 ahead at half time but with the slope, drizzle and slight breeze in their favour grabbed 22 unanswered second half points.
But the young Wasps played their part and went close on a couple of occasions in the first half as Harry Makepeace, Dom Asson, Owen Phelps and Co looked sharp in their back division, with a hard-working pack in which skipper Arwyn O’Loughlin led by example, supported by Joe Phillips Flynn Tjonk and the rest.
All they had to show for their efforts, however, was a penalty by Iwan Davies after Neyland man of the match, No 10 Tyler Sutton, spotted a gap some 30 metres out and sped to the line.
Neyland added a second try early in the second half scored by outstanding hooker Sebastien McIntosh, who formed a powerful front row with Harvey Myles and Asher Gledhall, and centre Fletcher Picton added the extra points.
From then on Llangwm never gave up trying but Neyland gradually wore them down with their ability to create solid platforms via Liam Scourfield, Toby Rees and a back row of Jack Rogers, Jasper Endean and Zac Stewart for half backs Rhys Power and Sutton to make sure they used them well so that Sutton claimed the next try and Picton converted.
Then Fletcher Picton launched a huge penalty from half way to add another three points and then scored the try of the match as he sped from one side of the field to another before dummying his way in at the corner to round off the scoring.
And finally, a word about both teams helping to create a final that was a credit to both clubs as referee Kieran Burrow, ably assisted by Martyn Rudd and Dave Byrne, also had good games in a match were Gillian Griffiths, presented to trophy to Neyland on behalf of her family.
Neyland: Liam Rees: Fergus Reynolds; Callum O’Riorden; Fletcher Picton; Lucas Jones: Tyler Sutton; Rhys Power:  Harvey Myles; Sebastien McIntosh; Asher Gledhall: Lewis Scourfield; Toby Rees: Jack Rogers; Jasper Endean; Zac Stewart. Replacements: Lloyd Stephens; Owain Turner; Zac Evans; Dylan Evans; Bobby Jones; Finlay Picton;
Coaches: Colin Picton; Ollie Rothero.
Team Manager: Charlie Watts.
Llangwm: Harry Makepeace: Lucas Chamberlain; Ieuan Grey; Dom Asson; Oliver Kersey: Owen Phelps; Iwan Davies: Aled Rogers; Soloman Oxenham; Charlie Wilson: Jake Thomas; Flynn Tjonk: Evan Thomas; Arwyn O’Loughlin (Capt); Joe Phillips (VC). Replacements: Matthew Cole; Ioan Jarman; Ben Hawkins; Owen Evans; Leon Hood.
Coaches: Dafydd Bowen; Jonathan Whitticombe; Jeff Asson.  
Team Manager: Jonathan Willington.

Llangwm on the attack