Blues' bag Bishop Cup glory in Pill Parks' mud

Winners Haverfordwest in the dark at Pill Parks!

Bishop Cup:

Llangwm 0 - Haverfordwest 38

Haverfordwest retained the Bishop Cup at a mud-strewn Pill Parks but perhaps more importantly also pouched what might prove to be a vital five league points as the game doubled up as a fixture in Division Three (West) A.

The Blues had led by 38 points to three after their previous tussle in Haverfordwest and it seemed as if they would take the verdict here by an identical tally to give them a 76-6 winning margin but the visiting coaching staff were adamant that referee Martyn Jones (Carmarthen), who had a good game in such awful conditions had over-ruled Luke Hayman's penalty attempt right on half time as unsuccessful, despite at least one of the touch judged signalled it was good.

Haverforwest set up a determined drive

In the final analysis it mattered little as The Blues ran in three tries in each half, four of them converted by outside half Mikey Jones, who was also adjudged man of the match by referee Jones (no relation!), for the way that he controlled play from his pack's hard won possession.

The match was never going to be pretty in such abject conditions and everyone who contributed to play on both sides deserved a medal for their commitment and eagerness to try and play entertaining rugby.

Jamie Zambas on a charge

But in the first quarter there were errors aplenty as The Blues tried to use their forward power but stout resistance from the likes of Ieuan Power, skipper Gethin Thomas, and Mike Cockburn (on permit from Milford Haven) in the front row, alongside the work-rate of Rhys Thomas, Ian Griffiths and especially James Lewis in the tackling stakes.

But Haverfordwest always held that little edge and they took the lead after 26 minutes from a move that half backs Elgan Roberts and No 10 Jones practised pre-match, with the latter's diagonal kick finding winger Unaia Balekinesiga, who outjumped his opponent and powered his way to the line.

Both packs take a deserved breather

Another Jones’ kick set up Haverfordwest's second score from a low diagonal grubber kick to the same corner for centre Jack Evans - and then a penalty kick to the opposite corner allowed hooker Lewis Tingay (called in before the start because Matt Clayton was injured pre-match), to cross the whitewash with Jones adding the extra points.

Llangwm also had their half chances mind, as centres Yale Grice and Joe Lewis posed a threat alongside full back Luke Hayman were ever-ready to run ball at the opposition.

Griffiths, Reynolds and winger Dan Morgan helped create a chance in front of the posts but The Wasps elected for a scrum - before a second penalty gave them a similar chance which Hayman seemed to kick but was denied.

The Blues started the second period with a bang as a cleverly flipped pass by outstanding No 8 Ashley George allowed centre Jake Evans to sidestep his way to the posts for an easy Jones' conversion.

As The Blues' pack got well on top in the final stages there were further tries by Clancy, one from a splendid 45 metre charge to the line, and the other from closer range, to set the seal on a deserved Blues’ victory, with their five points putting them on top of the table alongside Lampeter Town and St Clears.

*Llangwm chairman Michael John presented the Bishop Cup to Haverfordwest captain Matty Phillips and the man of the match award, traditionally provided by the James' Family was presented to Mikey Jones by Miss Lauren Fair on behalf of the family.

Llangwm: Luke Hayman: Dan Morgan; Yale Grice; Joe Lewin; Ewan Griffiths: George Evans; Dan Thomas: Ieuan Power; Gethin Thomas (capt); Michael Cockburn: Dave Reynolds; John O'Boyle: James Lewis; Rhys Thomas; Ian Griffiths. Replacements: Gavin Jones; Steve Rees; Matthew Lewis; Ollie Davies; Rhys Mason.


Haverfordwest: Rhys Baker: Unaia Balinesiga; Jack Evans; Jake Evans; Johnny White: Mikey Jones; Elna Roberts: Jamie Zambas; Lewis Tingay; Tom Carrington: Paul Thomas; Jack Clancy: Gareth John; Matty Phillips (Capt); Ashley George. Replacements: Geraint Sargeant; Rhys Watkins; Lee Summons, Will Blackburn; Liam Brown; Rhydian Walters.



Haverforwest set up a determined drive

Jamie Zambas on a charge

Both packs take a deserved breather

Winners Haverfordwest in the dark at Pill Parks!