Newell double helps Bala to victory against Haverfordwest County

Bala Town two-goal hero George Newell celebrates scoring with teammates 


JD Cymru Premier


Bala Town 2 - Haverfordwest County 0

Super striker George Newell scored a brace which helped Bala Town secure a comfortable victory against Haverfordwest County at Maes Tigid.
After this win Bala Town sit fifth in the table as the Bluebirds stay eighth position, Tony Pennock’s men failed to build on their impressive 3-2 midweek home win against Penybont.
The hosts started brightly and were unlucky not to take an early lead as Paulo Mendes’ vicious strike crashed against Zac Jones’ crossbar.
Midway through the first period the menacing Jack Wilson cut into the area before he curled an effort narrowly wide, a minute later Daniel Hawkins saw his goal bound shot blocked by Town defender Kyle Harrison.
In first half stoppage time the hosts broke the deadlock as lively Newell won a flick on from close range before he shifted the ball onto his left foot and slotted past Jones.
In the second period Wilson came close levelling matters as his thunderous strike flew wide of Kellan Absalom’s goal.
On the hour mark Bala are awarded a penalty as Aeron Edwards is brought down inside the area, Newell coolly slotted home the resultant penalty into Jones’ right hand corner.
That second goal killed off the game as Tony Pennock’s men faced the long journey home with the bitter taste of defeat.
Bala Town: Kelland Absalom, Nathan Peate (Captain),  Nathan Burke, George Newell, Osebi Abadaki, Ryan Rogers (70’ Kieran Smith), Ross White, Aeron Edwards, Paulo Mendes, Kyle Harrison, Ollie Shannon.
Substitutes not used: Iwan Roberts, Cesaire Lingouba, Luke Wall, , Theo Knight, Naim Arsan.
Haverfordwest County: Zac Jones, Rhys Abbruzzese, Ricky Watts, Luke Tabone, Lee Jenkins, Martell Taylor-Crossdale, Harri John (62’ Ben Fawcett), Tyrese Owen (76’ Kayden Williams-Lowe), Aidan Macnamara, Jack Wilson (76’ Rio Dyer), Daniel Hawkins.
Substitutes not used: Ifan Knott, Oscar Borg, Iori Humphreys, Jacob Owen.
Referee: Aaron Jones.
Assistants: James Sheils & Matthew Johnson.
Fourth Official: Iolo Johnson.
Referee Observer: John Davies.

Man of match George Newell scores from the spot