Important win in north Wales for battling Bluebirds

Rio Dyer scored crucial second half winner for Haverfordwest County at Caernarfon Town 

JD Welsh Premier


Caernarfon Town 0 - Haverfordwest County 1

Rio Dyer’s second half goal earned Haverfordwest County an important win against Caernarfon Town in their quest to reach a top six spot.
Earlier in the season the Bluebirds drew 1-1 with the Canaries, however this time they gained three valuable points at the Oval which puts them in seventh place, with four games to go before the split.
The only goal of the game was scored in the 72nd minute, Danny Hawkins played a neat one-two with Harri John, before the striker put the ball on a plate to Dyer, who got beyond the defence before he took a touch then neatly tucked the ball past keeper Hari Thomas.
In a competitive first period where neither side could find the back of the net, it was the Bluebirds who created the better chances.
Early on Daniel Gosset struck from outside the box, but his effort flew wide.
At the other end Hawkins cut in before he unleashed a shot on target which Thomas saved, minutes later Taylor-Crossdale had a shot from point blank range which Thomas stopped.
Lively Hawkins pounced on a mistake at the back by Dion Donohue before the striker struck a low effort wide. Jack Wilson saw his 25-yard free kick pushed wide by the busy Thomas.
Shortly after the interval Zack Clarke played in Sion Bradley but his low effort flew wide of the target.
In the 73rd minute the Bluebirds broke the deadlock with an exquisite goal scored by Dyer, brilliantly set-up by Hawkins.
Bluebirds’ goalkeeper Zac Jones pulled off a brilliant save to deny Bradley’s free kick, was the only real scare, in stoppage time Dion Donohue  was shown a straight red card, as Tony Pennock’s men stayed strong till the final whistle as they claimed three famous points in north Wales.
Caernarfon Town: Hari Thomas, Gruffydd Williams, Dion Donohue, Sion Bradley, Daniel Gosset, Adam Davies, Marc Williams (93’ Josef Faux), Ben Maher (82’ Darren Thomas), Zack Clarke, Louis Lloyd (82’ Iwan Cartwright), Phillip Mooney.
Unused substitutes: Tomos Prichard, Ben Wynne, Cai Griffiths, Harry Hughes.
Haverfordwest County: Zac Jones, Rhys Abbruzzese, Ricky Watts (Captain), Kai Whitmore (92’ Tyrese Owen), Daniel Hawkins, Martell Tayler-Crossdale (46’ Harri John), Lee Jenkins, Rio Dyer (92’ Jacob Owen), Oscar Borg, Jack Wilson (64’ Jazz Richards), Luke Tabone.
Unused substitutes: Ifan Knott, Kayden Williams-Lowe, Iori Humphreys.
Referee: Tom Owen.
Assistants: Richard Dolphin & Harvey Smallman.
Fourth Official: Alex Livesey.
Referee Observer: Michael Jones.