Haverfordwest County are granted FAW Tier 1 Licence

Bridge Meadow Stadium

There was some excellent news for Haverfordwest County who have been granted their FAW Tier 1 licence for 2020/21 season.

David Hughes, Robert Davies and their fellow directors will be happy they have everything  in order for the start of next season when the COVID 19 pandemic has been eradicated.

The First Instance Body (FIB) met remotely to assess and consider the 12 UEFA and 18 FAW Tier 1 applications.

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the FIB Panel took full consideration of any restrictions the clubs may have encountered in their Licence application as a result of the situation.  

Eleven of the 18 applications for a Tier 1 licence have been successful, including 10 of the current JD Cymru Premier clubs and one club in Tier 2. In addition, 9 of the JD Cymru Premier clubs achieved a UEFA Licence. 
Clubs are assessed on the following criteria:
  • Sporting: Youth & Coaching
  • Infrastructure
  • Legal
  • Personnel & Administration
  • Financial and Codes of Practice
The FAW Tier 1 Licence is required for clubs to participate in the JD Cymru Premier and for those clubs who qualify for European competitions, a UEFA Licence is also a pre-requisite. 

The Club Licensing system aims to assist the continual improvement and development of football clubs at the top level within Wales. Licensing is a transparent process that enables clubs to demonstrate to their stakeholders that they meet quality standards. 

Following today’s meeting, the independent FIB Panel has decided on the following: 
FAW Tier 1 Licence and UEFA Licence for 2020/21 Season (9 clubs)
  • Aberystwyth Town
  • Bala Town
  • Barry Town United
  • Caernarfon Town
  • Cardiff Met
  • Carmarthen Town
  • Connah’s Quay Nomads
  • Penybont
  • The New Saints
FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2020/21 Season (2 clubs) 
  • Haverfordwest County 
  • Newtown
Refused FAW Tier 1 Licence and UEFA Licence for 2020/21 Season (2 clubs) 
  • Airbus UK Broughton
  • Cefn Druids
Refused FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2020/21 Season (5 clubs)
  • Bangor City 
  • Briton Ferry Llanswel
  • Flint Town United
  • Prestatyn Town
  • Swansea University
Withdrawn Applications (8 clubs)
  • Buckley Town
  • Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC 
  • Colwyn Bay
  • Cwmamman United
  • Llandudno
  • Llanelli
  • Porthmadog
  • Rhyl
The FIB Panel extended its congratulations to those clubs successful in attaining Tier 1 and UEFA licences.
Those clubs who have been refused a Licence by the First Instance Body, have ten days in which to submit an appeal.