County held to a draw by Aber - top six finish will go down to the wire

Manager Tony Pennock will rely on Haverfordwest County getting a favourable result against Bala Town in last game before split


JD Welsh Premier


Aberystwyth Town 1 - Haverfordwest County 1

Martell Taylor-Crossdale equalised for Haverfordwest County at Aberystwyth TownHaverfordwest County’s quest to finish in the top six at the season’s split, following this draw against Aberystwyth Town, will go down to the wire.         
Conditions at Park Avenue were atrocious as heavy rain lashed down and high winds made it difficult.

Haverfordwest County made two changes to the starting line-up that beat Barry Town United 2-0 on Boxing Day, in came Jack Wilson for Ben Fawcett and Martell Taylor-Crossdale replaced the injured Rio Dyer.  Rhys Abbruzzese also missed out on selection due to the defender having picked up his fifth yellow card of the season.
Tony Pennock’s Bluebirds have temporarily moved into sixth spot in the table, a point above seventh-placed Caernarfon Town, the latter play Colwyn Bay at home tomorrow, with a win or draw for The Canaries wll move them back to the crucial sixth spot. So, it will go down to the last game to see who will capture sixth place.
The Seasiders took an early lead through Harry Owen: ten minutes before the interval Martell Taylor-Crossdale equalised, but neither team could find an elusive winner in the second period.
The Seasiders pressed early as Owen’s shot was blocked by Luke Tabone, whilst minutes later Billy Kirkman’s curling cross-cum-shot skimmed Zac Jones’ crossbar.
At the other end Daniel Hawkins frustratingly dragged his low shot wide but in the eighth minute the hosts broke the deadlock when Owen forced swept home from close range.
The visitors were unlucky not to level matters when Crossdale-Taylor rounded keeper Jones only to see his goa- bound shot cleared off the line by Ben Woolam.
Mark Cadwallader's header and skipper Jack Thorn shot forced saves from Jones before the visitors finally squared matters when a corner wasn’t dealt with as Taylor-Crossdale found the right hand corner of Dave Jones’ net.
The Seasiders nearly took the lead a minute after the restart but Cadwallader failed to get a touch inside the box, with the goal at his mercy.
Darlington skied a long range effort over the bar before Pennock made his first change as Ben Fawcett replaced the industrious Harri Owen.
In the 66th minute Tyrese Owen replaced Kai Whitmore in midfield for the visitors’ second change; another goalmouth melee led to the ball ricocheting off Fawcett straight into the grateful arms of Dave Jones.
Near the end of the clash, it was Cadwallader who had a chance to win it but his header from inside the box flew wide as it finished all square.

Haverfordwest County will play Bala Town in the final game of the split which will be held on Saturday, 13th January 2024 at the Ogi Bridge Meadow Stadium, kick off is at 2.30pm.
 Aberystwyth Town: Dave Jones, Liam Walsh, Ben Woolam, Louis Bradford, Harry Owen, Jack Thorn (Captain), Iwan Lewis, Mark Cadwallader, John Owen, Alex Darlington, Billy Kirkman.
Unused substitutes: Sam Green, Steffan Davies, Rhys Jenkins, Thomas Mason, Luca Hogan, Owen Taylor, Akeem Hinds.
Haverfordwest County: Zac Jones, Jazz Richards, Ricky Watts (Captain), Kai Whitmore (67’ Tyrese Owen), Jack Wilson, Daniel Hawkins, Harri John (56’ Ben Fawcett), Martell Taylor-Crossdale, Lee Jenkins, Oscar Borg, Luke Tabone.
Unused substitutes: Ifan Knott, Kayden Williams-Lowe, Iori Humphreys, Daniel John, Jacob Owen.
Referee: Alex Livesey.
Assistants: Cilan Thomas & Richard Dolphin.
Fourth Official: Huw Jones.
Referee Observer: Edward King.