Comfortable two-goal win for The Bluebirds

Pre-season friendly


Penrhyncoch 0 – Haverfordwest County 2

Jack Wilson scored the goal of the matchGoals in each half from Marcus Griffiths and Jack Wilson gave Haverfordwest County a comfortable victory at Penrhyncoch.

Tyler Brock, Sean Pemberton, Kurtis Rees and Elliot Thomas were not available for the visitors in this friendly played at Cae Baker.

Penrhyncoch play in the second tier of Welsh football, competing in the FAW Championship North and Mid and their manager is the vastly experienced Gari Lewis.

The visitors-controlled matters and manager Wayne Jones was pleased with his squad’s performance as the league season is fast approaching.

Marcus opens scoring

Marcus Griffiths opened the scoring in the 36th minute, a long through ball by centre back Sam Rodon fell to the new striker and he finished clinically from the edge of the 18-yard box.

After the break it was The Bluebirds who continued to press and were rewarded in the 62nd minute when they doubled the lead.

Wilson doubles the lead

Ben Fawcett’s by-line cross was met by Wilson who hammered home from inside the box.
Goalkeeper Steven Hall had a relatively quiet afternoon and the back four consisting of Jake Merry, Miles John, Scott Tancock and Rodon were solid.

Ricky Watts, Fawcett and Wilson caused the homesters all sorts of problems and The Bluebirds were good value for their win.

Last week Haverfordwest County won 3-1 against Welsh Premier Carmarthen Town at Richmond Park, grabbing the goals for The Bluebirds were Sean Pemberton, Marcus Griffiths and Tyler Brock.

On Thursday, July 25th Wayne Jones’ Bluebirds entertain Pembrokeshire Football League Division One outfit Goodwick United, the match will kick off at 7.30pm. Then the following Tuesday, July 30th they entertain Cardiff City at the Bridge Meadow Stadium, kick off 7pm.
Haverfordwest County:  Steven Hall; Jake Merry; Miles John, Scott Tancock; Sam Rodon; Ricky Watts; Marcus Griffiths; Ben Fawcett; Jack Wilson; James Bryan (trialist). Substitutes: Tim Hicks; Tom Dyson; Gareth Finnegan; Alex Pennock.