Aber narrowly beat County at Park Avenue

Frustration night for Haverfordwest County and manager Tony Pennock at Park Avenue  

JD Welsh Premier – Phase 2 Playoff Conference


Aberystwyth Town 1 - Haverfordwest County 0

Iwan Lewis grabbed the crucial winner just before half time much to the delight of Aberystwyth Town against a bitterly disappointed Haverfordwest County at misty Friday night at Park Avenue.
Tony Pennock made tow changes from the team that last played. Ricky Watts was captain, Corey Shephard who has returned from Pontypridd United started in midfield plus goalkeeper Zac Jones made his 50th appearance.
Both teams had played each other earlier in the season as the Bluebirds won 3-0 at the Ogi Bridge Meadow and just a month ago they drew 1-1 at Park Avenue.
This was the first fixture in Phase 2 and it was the Seasiders who picked up important three points, despite the visitors wasting some decent chances.
The only goal of the game came just five minutes before the break as Alex Darlington’s long free kick in the box was met by Lewis at the far post, his goal bound shot fortuitously deflected off Bluebirds’ skipper Watts and crept past Jones before the goalkeeper he could get a hand on it.
In the second period the visitors had the better of territory and chances but without any luck in front of goal much to the frustration of manager Tony Pennock.
On the hour mark, Shephard won possession in midfield, he broke before he slid a well weighted pass to Martell inside the box, the striker struck a low drive agonisingly past the post.
In the 89th minute following a goalmouth scramble Martell had a close range shot desperately cleared off the line, with the visitors appealing strongly the ball had crossed the line.
With the last throw of the dice Rhys Abruzzesse’s cross bounced in the box and was met by substitute Jack Wilson who headed wide.
Aberystwyth Town: Dave Jones, Liam Walsh, Ben Woolam, Louis Bradford, Jack Thorn (Captain), Iwan Lewis, John Owen, Zac Hartley (David Evans 67’), Jake Canavan, Alex Darlington (Steffan Davies 59’), Billy Kirkman.
Unused substitutes: Oliver Basey, Shaun Cavanagh, Thomas Mason, Akeem Hinds.
Haverfordwest County: Zac Jones, Jazz Richards, Rhys Abbruzzese, Ricky Watts (Captain), Kai Whitmore (Harri John 46’), Ben Fawcett, Daniel Hawkins (Jack Wilson 77’), Martell Taylor-Crossdale, Lee Jenkins, Luke Tabone (Aidan Macnamara 46’), Corey Shephard.
Unused substitutes: Ifan Knott, , Tyrese Owen, Iori Humphreys, Jacob Owen.

Referee: Alex McInch.
Assistants: Jordan Christopher & Connor Thomas.
Fourth Official: Huw Jones.
Referee Observer: Nigel Richards.