Young Wasps battle to good away win

A great score for Llangwm Youth


Louie Voyce - Youth Rugby:


Young Wasps battle to good away win


Fishguard & Goodwick Youth 10 - Llangwm Youth 17

Venue: The Grange, School Field, Fishguard
There was action aplenty at The Grange as Fishguard & Goodwick Youth entertained their counterparts from Llangwm in a league match where both showed commitment aplenty and no shortage of skills before The Young Wasps edged home by three tries to two.
But it was The Young Seagulls who took the early lead as Owain Morris, Osian Smith, Taine Williams and skipper Ifan Evans helped establish the platform and hooker Will Robinson ploughed over the line for an unconverted try.
But Llangwm also had excellent performances from flanker Tom Rickwood, especially in defence, plus Alfie Kehoe, Dylan Rowles and Dylan O’Loughlin – and it was  centre Joe Johns who benefitted from their efforts alongside Kieran Sinclair, Sonny Zipperlen and Charlie Kelly, and crossed the whitewash for Liam Miller to add the extra points that put them two points ahead at half time.
Fishguard also started the second half well and were rewarded with an unconverted try from centre Monty Lavin, who was put in space by Dom Sinnett, Dafydd Davies and Louie Voyce – but they were held up over the line four times by magnificent defence from Llangwm No 9 Alfie Elrick, aided and abetted in defence by Rickwood and Alfie Kehoe.
And Llangwm had the better of the final quarter as James Hamilton featured with some great runs and off-loads that earned the No 8 the man of the match award, with Iori Curtis, playing on permit from Haverfordwest, scoring their second try and winger Kieran Lewis speeding over for the final score of a competitive game to earn The Young Wasps their third win of the season.

Excellent Fishguard defence

Fishguard & Goodwick Youth: Louie Voyce: Sam Lloyd; Dom Sinnett; Monty Lavin; Ieuan Davies: Dafydd Davies; Jack Thomas: David Pugh; Will Robinson; Ben Jones: Dom Mackin; Owain Morris: Osian Smith;  Ifan Evans (Capt);Taine Williams.
Llangwm Youth: Sonny Zipperlen: Kieran Lewis; Joe Johns; Kieran Sinclair; Charlie Kelly: Liam Miller; Alfie Elrick: Isaac Hitchings; Seb Franklin; Jenson Ritchie: Dylan O’Loughlin; Dylan Rowles: Alfie Kehoe; Tom Rickwood; James Hamilton. Replacements:  Seth Hughes; Jack Phillips; Riley Thomas; Iori Curtis; Morgan Crow; Iestyn Mason.
Pictures by Rachel Kehoe

Another try for The Young Wasps