Pembrokeshire Ladies round off a challenging debut season in top Welsh cricket

Cricket News:

Pembrokeshire Ladies County team brought their inaugural season to a close with back to back fixture weekends played in glorious September sunshine.  Firstly a T20 day in Newport before rounding their season off with a rearranged 40 over game against a talented young Briton Ferry Steel team, kindly hosted by Pembroke CC.

County Ladies v Radyr

T20 Semi-Final v Radyr CC
Pembrokeshire (104-6) lost to Radyr (105-2)

Pembrokeshire skipper Sam Rossiter won the toss and elected to bat first but soon saw opener Ffion Ashman and number 3 Ava Midgley depart with just 10 runs on the board. Kacey Arran led the counter attack with four 4’s in her 23 before she was dismissed by Radyr skipper Lydia Clements.  Sam Rossiter (16) and Emilia Wilson added 30 for the fourth wicket and Lucy Johnson added late impetus with a quick fire 15, as Wilson remained undefeated on 34, with Clements (2-15) and Jamie McCallion (2-22) the pick of the Radyr bowlers.
In reply Radyr lost opener Cerys Griffiths, lbw to Emilia Wilson in the first over, before Megan Janczewski (23no) and Sian Payne steadily built momentum adding 35 for the second wicket.

Ffion Ashman removed Payne for 30 but this brought skipper Clements to the crease, stroking six 4’s in an unbeaten 45 as Radyr reached their target on 105-2 in the 15th over.

 Ladies v Briton Ferry


3rd v 4th Play Off v Briton Ferry Steel
Pembrokeshire (112-7) lost to Briton Ferry Steel (113-1)

Pembrokeshire once again opted to bat first, with Kacey Arran (18) and Ava Midgley (14) adding 38 for the first wicket before both were removed in quick succession courtesy of Daisy Banfield (2-8).  Ffion Ashman (14) and Sam Rossiter (11) put on a quick 20 for the 3rd wicket and there were double figures for both Lucy Johnson and Emilia Wilson but Seren Hughes (1-11), Mils Joseph (1-4) and Mullai Chandramohan (1-2) ensured the Pembrokeshire innings closed on 112-7.
Tight opening spells from Emilia Wilson and Ava Midgley restricted Briton Ferry to a very steady start but from 16-0 off 5 overs, openers Mila Joseph, 51 from 40 balls and Niamh Mansel (40no from 52 balls) accelerated accordingly to take them to the brink of victory.  Maddie Potter (1-9) removed Joseph but Sara Phillips (12no) saw them home in the 18th over.

Kacey Arran


40 Over Fixture at Pembroke CC
Briton Ferry Steel (157-10) beat Pembrokeshire (104-10)

In very hot conditions Briton Ferry Steel won the toss and elected to bat first.  Openers Niamh Mansel (36) and Mullai Chandramohan (35) showed their class in putting on 79 for the first wicket before Megan Arthur (1-30) struck to clean bowl Mansel.
A much improved bowling and fielding display following the drinks break saw Briton Ferry Steel lose their last 5 wickets for just 16 runs.  Maisy Davies (1-29) removed Chandramohan with her first ball, aided by a second catch for keeper Kacey Arran.  Lowis Hughes (1-11), Cara Evans (1-18), Pembroke CC’s debutant Jodie Lewis (1-8) and the impressive Ava Midgley, (3-13 from 6 overs) bringing the innings to a close in the 34th over at 157.
After a fine tea interval, during which Nick Evans thanked all our invited sponsors for their much appreciated support this season, an excellent opening spell from 14 year old Isobel Thorndike saw her remove Ffion Ashman and Ava Midgley to leave Pembrokeshire stuttering at 13-2.  As wickets continued to fall, only Kacey Arran, 46 from 30 balls including seven 4’s, and Olivia James (16) managed double figures following a good all round bowling display from Seren Hughes (2-22), Mullai Chandramohan (2-17), Emma Brazier (1-7). Sara Jenkins (1-10) and Daisy Banfield (1-14) saw the home team dismissed for 104 in the 28th over.

Good hit to leg
The Pembrokeshire Ladies Cricket Association would like to thank Cricket Wales for giving the team the opportunity to play at this higher level, despite some heavy defeats, at the hands of some far more experienced teams, the squad has thoroughly enjoyed the challenge with the experiences gained already showing gradual improvements, especially from the younger members of the group.

Many thanks to Nick Evans and Andrew Scott-Davies for their unwavering help and support from the outset and I personally would like to extend a big thank you to all the other 20 players used during the course of the season, for their efforts and commitment, we now look forward to a winter training programme with a new Coach in place as preparations begin for next season.

 County Squad and officials

Pembrokeshire Ladies Squad 2023
Sam Rossiter, Kacey Arran, Megan Arthur, Ffion Ashman, Lauren Davies, Maisy Davies, Cara Evans, Lowis Hughes, Olivia James, Lucy Johnson, Cerys Jones, Chloe Lewis, Jodie Lewis, Ava Midgley, Kelly Midgley, Rhiannon Morgan, Jemma Phillips, Phoenix Phillips, Maddie Potter, Nia Williams, Emilia Wilson.

 Ladies Batting