Newport Ladies gain a comfortable victory against Pembrokeshire Ladies

Ffion Ashman

Pembrokeshire Ladies travelled to Newport for the third game in their Welsh Women’s Premier League campaign looking to improve on their most recent performance against the same opposition. 

They endured a tough day however as they met with another strong all round performance from Newport as Captain Rose Evans led her team to a comfortable victory.

Pembrokeshire, without several original squad members gave debuts to Chloe Lewis, Cara Evans and 12 year old Phoenix Phillips as Newport again showed their strength in depth, fielding numerous current Welsh Senior and age group internationals.

County struggle from the start

A poor start by the County saw opener Jemma Philips and number three Nia Williams depart with just 12 runs on the board. Ffion Ashman (22) and Sam Rossiter steadied things a little, adding 20 for the third wicket before Ashman was caught off the bowling of Tess Jackson (2-31).  Emilia Wilson (15) joined Rossiter (23) in a stand of 51 before the skipper was stumped by counterpart Evans.

Maisy Davies (19) and Lucy Johnson (10) made starts before both became part of Jasmine Smith’s excellent 4-8 haul.   Wickets continued to fall regularly and when Maddie Potter was last out, bowled by Safa Mohammed (2-5), Pembrokeshire had lost their last 4 wickets for just 10 runs.

Newport dominate the batting contest

After tea Pembrokeshire used 6 bowlers in search of a wicket but skipper Evans and fellow senior international Eve Jackson showed their class with 58 not out and 49 not out respectively, to register a 10 wicket win in the 17th over.

The Pembrokeshire Ladies squad would like to thank all their sponsors for such generous financial support this season, without whose contributions and assistance, the team would simply not be able to compete in the competition.

Sponsors  and supporters thanked

A very grateful thank you to, Valero Energy Ltd, Price and Kelway Solicitors, The Haverfordwest Pool Trust, Pembroke County Cricket Club and Mrs Sandra Pidgeon.

The squad would also like to offer thanks to Nick Evans and Andrew Scott-Davies, whose time and effort is greatly appreciated.

Emilia WilsonMaisy DaviesSam Rossiter