Ladies Indoor Cricket - 14th February 2024

Division One champions - Hook Ladies 


Champions Hook beat Cresselly in top of table tussle

Venue: Neyland Community Hub
Umpires & Scorers: Lauren Arthur, Rob Davies; Johnny Lewis, Clarissa Lewis, Josh Davies
Sam Rossiter receives the trophy from Lauren ArthurHook Ladies had already won the Division One title before their last match of the campaign’s final evening but confirmed their superiority by comfortably beating nearest rivals Cresselly in a game that showed all that has been good throughout the season - improved skill levels and total commitment, but always played in the best of spirits.

Hook’s early batters do well

Hook batted first again and as so often happens their top three gave them an excellent start as Katy Farr and Jemma Phillips judged their three-run strokes really well to keep pressure on the Cresselly fielders but Katy pushed her luck a little when she’d reached 21 and was run out.
Ava Midgley showed her skills too when she conceded only three runs from the second over and Meg Arthur conceded only seven runs - but for once Ffion Ashman was the most expensive bowler as she conceded 11 runs in her first over - and was even more costly with 16 runs from her second six balls.
Jemma showed why she has been regarded as one of the best female batters for a long time as she reached 25 before retiring but although Maisie Davies came and went cheaply it was Hook skipper Sam Rossiter who was not out at the end with a carefully-crafted 20 not out as she used her wealth of experience over 25 years of cricket with the ladies and in the men’s game.

Good Cresselly bowling from Ava and Meg but early batting collapses

Ava was the pick of the Cresselly bowlers as she had 7 ‘dot balls’ out of 12 and ended up with 0 for 9 as Hook finished on 74 for 2, which was not their best effort of the season by far but at least ensured Cresselly would have to bat well to reach their target.
But Cresselly got off to a dreadful start as their top three departed for just 5 runs between them as Meg Arthur hit a three but was then bowled by Maisy Davies, one of the best strike bowlers in the section, and worse was to follow as Jess Lewis was run out for a single and Ava was well caught by Jemma off Maddie Potter for the same score.

‘Ashy’ leads the batting response but they run out of time!

Ffion showed she had recovered from her bowling spell as the Welsh Premier goalkeeper hit back with a string of classy shots to show her all-round skills are not just limited to football - and found support from Sophie Cole, although they gradually fell behind the required run rate as Tia Rees conceded only seven runs in two overs and Sophie became Maisy’s second victim as she was bowled for 11 as part of Maisy’s excellent spell.
Sam and Jemma both bowled a miserly over apiece and Cresselly finished up 21 runs behind to set the seal on Hook’s fine campaign, where they have shown real consistency.

And finally . . .

They received their medals from Lauren Davies, the popular chair of the Pembrokeshire Ladies Indoor League, who also presented the fine trophy to Hook captain Sam Rossiter - who also deserves every credit for the excellent way in which she has organised both sections of Ladies Indoor Cricket.



Hook 74 for 2 (13) beat Cresselly 53 for 4 (2) by 21 runs

Hook Batting:
Kate Farr run out 21
Jemma Phillips retired 25
Sam Rossiter not out 20
Maisy Davies run out 1
Tia Rees not out 2
Extras 5
Total (for 2 wickets) 74
Cresselly Bowling:
Sophie Cole; 2-0-18-0; Ava Midgley 2-0-9-0; Meg Arthur 1-0-7-0; Ffion Ashman 2-0-27-0; Helen McMillan 1-10-0.
Cresselly Batting:
Meg Arthur b Maisy Davies 3
Jess Lewis run out 1
Ava Midgley ct Jemma Phillips b Maddie Potter 1
Ffion Ashman not out 29
Sophie Cole b Maisy Davies 11
Helen McMillan not out 0
Extras 8
Total (4 wickets) 53
Hook Bowling:
Maisy Davies 2-0-10-2; Tia Rees 2-0-7-0; Maddie Potter 2-0-13-1; Sam Rossiter 1-0-7-0; Jemma Phillips 1-0-4-0.

Division Two champions - Llanrhian


Second Division:


Linzi leads Tish well as they finish season in style

Pembroke A 65 for 2 (2) lost to St Ishmaels 67 for 2 (14) by 4 wickets

St Ishmaels’ skipper Linzi Picton certainly led her team by example as she bowled economically in restricting Pembroke to 65 for 2 in their allotted 8 overs and top scored with such commitment that they reached their target in only 5.3 overs.
And in doing so they leap-frogged their opponents into the runners-up spot behind Llanrhian, who were not playing last night and will receive the trophy, which was sponsored by Nick Evans, the president of local cricket, and medals at a later date.

Holly heads Pembroke batting

Opening bat Holly Allen led the Pembroke run-making and Ginny Davies gave support but such was the accuracy of the Tish bowling, and support in the field, that they only managed 30 at the half way stage as Ginny hit the only boundary of the innings but there were too many ‘dot balls’ to really raise the momentum.

Linzi leads Tish to deserved second spot

In sharp contrast, Linzi Picton reached retirement time having struck 8 threes, thanks to her speed between the wickets, and having faced only 10 deliveries.
Charlotte Causten gave support as opener and Lucy Pattinson came in at No 4 and added another quick-fire knock as she only faced 7 balls to take Tish home alongside Tei Tallett, with 15 balls and four wickets still in hand.
Pembroke:  Holly Allen 26 not out, Ginny Davies 10, Extras 12 - Linzi Picton 0-8, Tei Tallett 0-6,
Charlotte Causton 0-5
St Ishmaels: Linzi Picton 26 not out, Lucy Pattinson 15 not out, - Anna May 0-10, Leanne Panton 0-14

Division Two - Final Table