Ladies' Cricket - 2024 Clive Huxley Cup First Round


Sian and Katie kill off Carew hopes


Pembroke Dock (157 for 1) beat Carew (102 for 5) by 55 runs


Umpires: George Smith & Robbie Hicks

Scorers: Peter Kingdom & Emma Hicks

Sian James and Katie GriffithsCarew’s hopes of making progress in the Clive Huxley Cup were brought to a halt at Imble Lane as Sian James and Katie Griffiths built up an unbroken  club record stand of 145 as they built up a huge score which proved out of reach the visitors’ batting line-up despite all their considerable efforts.

Nia Symes had struck early in her 1 for 12 spell before Sian and Katie’s came together as the former stroked 55 not out and Katie was undefeated  on 51 not out as she unleashed her full array of strokes as they ended up with a massive total of 157 for 1 off their allotted 20 overs.

Carew’s top scorers were Jacquie Goodwin (27), Holly Griffiths (12) and Kristan Jordan (13 not out) but good fielding by The Dock kept them behind the sizeable run rate as Abbey Price (2 for 17) and Cheryl Hughes (1 for 17) bowled tight spells.

It meant The Dock eased through as comfortable winners - but both teams deserve credit for the way in which the game was played.

Whitland too strong for Kilgetty

Whitland (136 for 7) beat Kilgetty (88 for 7) by 48 runs


Umpire: Micky Marsh (Kilgetty)

Scorers: Corey Henwood and Colin John

Lani Hogben was the Whitland batting star as she top scored in taking her team to a big score at Kingsmoor Cricket Ground before Teigan Ryan and Amy Morgan were their best bowlers against a determined home team in which Lewis Hughes caught the eye with her bowling prowess.

Lani stroked her way to an extremely good 67 not out and received welcome support from  Alys John (22) as they reached 136 for 7 despite superb bowling from Lewis Hughes (4 for 8) and when Kilgetty gave chase their top scorers were Ceri Jones (14) and Chloe Bland

But Tegan (3 for 7) and Amy Morgan (2 for 7) bowled well for Whitland to restrict Kilgetty to 88 for 7) and deservedly take the Borderettes into the second round.

Pembroke beat Tish in a low-scoring tussle

St Ishmaels (68 all out) lost to Pembroke (70 for 6) by 4 wickets


Umpires: Ian Milsom & Rob Davies

Scorer: Kevin Bowen (St Ishmaels)

Pembroke LadiesPembroke made the journey to St Ishmaels and returned with a quarter-final spot as they bowled the host club out cheaply and held on to win despite a few scares en route.

Rachel McGuire (13) and Linzi Picton (10) were the only Tish batters to manage double figures as Bobby Neale (3 for 12), Holly Allen (2 for 7), Summer Russant (2 for 6), Leanne Panton  (2 for 21) showed the consistency to be found in the Pembroke attack.

Then Chloe Jones (17) and Holly Allen, who confirmed her all-rounder status with an important 16 not out, as Linzi (2 for 9), Rachel (2 for 16) and Lola Phillips (1 for 4) battled in vain to keep Tish hopes going  before they went down by 4 wickets.


Quarter-Final Draw (Matches to be played on 13th June):

Cresselly v Haverfordwest

Burton v Pembroke

Hook v Saundersfoot

Whitland v Pembroke Dock