Hook ladies complete coveted double of league and cup

League winners Hook Ladies

Burton Ladies (76 for 3) lost to Hook Ladies (77 for 6) by 4 wickets

Nick Evans presents cup to Hook captain Sam RossiterHook Ladies clinched the League title with victory over nearest rivals Burton in the penultimate round of fixtures to secure the coveted double of league and Clive Huxley Memorial Cup.
Invited to bat first, Burton reached 76-3 in their 20 overs as Finola and Elaine Scale both retired on the regulation 25, as Leanne Jones and Kath Adams picked up a wicket apiece.

Hook battle back after set-backs

In the Hook reply, Ffion Ashman(2-15) removed Jo Kerrison early on but Sam Rossiter and Leanne Jones added 40 for the second wicket, before the former also retired on 25.  Elaine Scale then removed Jones for 20 and when Finola Scale (2-18) accounted for both Kate and Elin Miller a third close finish of the season between the two sides ensued. 
Kath Adams (10 not out) and Janet Bevan eventually guided Hook to victory in the 19th over for the loss of six wickets, to the evident delight of the Hook supporters.
As bad weather accounted for the final round of fixtures, the following week Nick Evans, the president of the Pembroke County Cricket Club, presented the League trophy to Hook captain Sam Rossiter.