2024 Ladies' Cricket - Week Three - 5th June

Hook Ladies

Division One:


Hook maintain their winning streak

Haverfordwest 51 all out (2) lost to Hook 172 for 1 (20) by 121 runs

Umpires: Chris Goodridge/Andrew Phillips & Rob Lewis
Scorers: Adam James & Kate Miller
Hook continued their excellent start to the campaign with a crushing win over Haverfordwest where they showed their all-round strength with the bat, ball and in the field against a home side which never gave up trying nonetheless.
Emilia Wilson (26), Jemma Phillips (25), Sam Rossiter (25) and Kacey Arran (25) all retired when they had reached the required tally of 25 runs and there was also an unbeaten 21 from Maisy Davies as Angie Tilley claimed 1 for 32 for The Town Ladies.
Meg Evans and Pam Asson chipped in with 13 apiece when Haverfordwest batted but wickets fell at regular intervals to Kacey Arran (2 for 19), Maisy Davies (2 for 7), Chloe Lewis (3 for 7) and Emilia Wilson (1 for 0) as Hook celebrated one of the biggest wins in their long involvement with ladies’ cricket.

Cresselly Ladies


Cresselly cruise to another big win

Lucy Johnson (Cresselly)Pembroke 32 all out (2) lost to Cresselly 153 for 3 (20) by 121 runs

Umpires:  Gareth Long & Will Davies
Scorers: Ginny Davies & Lauren Davies
Cresselly cruised to victory at Treleet by an equally sizeable margin against Pembroke, who were dismissed for 32 in pursuit of Cresselly’s mammoth score but they deserved credit for hanging on for 18 overs against a very strong opposition which included some very experienced county regulars.
Four of the Cresselly batters reached their maximum before retiring, led by Ffion Ashman (28), Lucy Johnson (25), Ava Midgley (25) and Chelsea Morris (25) before Bobby Neale (17 not out) batted really well for Pembroke.
Then the Cresselly bowlers took over, assisted by some tight fielding, as Ava Midgley (3 for 2) and Lucy Johnson (4 for 5) and Ffion Ashman (2 for 6) and Meg Jenkins caused the bulk of the damage.


Division Two:


The Dock edge home in a real cliff-hanger

Kilgetty 89 for 2 (7) lost to Pembroke Dock 90 for 7 (15) by 3 wickets

Umpires: Micky Marsh & Nick Daley/Josh Powell
Scorers: Corey Henwood & Peter Kingdom
There was a tight finish as Kilgetty entertained Pembroke Dock at Kingsmoor and it was the visitors who lost the more wickets but grafted home with just two balls left of a cracking contest.
Simone Richards (15 not out) and Chloe Bland (17 not out) did well late on for the home side after Rachel Sander (2 for 2-22) led The Dock bowling.
Chloe Bland (2 for 15), Lowis Hughes 1-10) and Daisy Bland (1 for 10) then did some damage for Kilgetty but Katie Griffiths (20) continued her good form and was supported by Katie Gibbins (14) as The Dock celebrated a narrow win.


Carew continue to improve but Tish take the honours 

Carew 86 for 7 (6) lost to St Ishmaels 87 for 4 (17) by 6 wickets

Umpires: Robbie Hicks & Johnnie Lewis
Scorers: Sarah Benbow & Clarissa Lewis
Carew again showed how much they are improving as a unit when they batted first and reached a solid 86 for 7 thanks to Kate Chandler-Hall (15), Holly Griffiths (10) and Kirstie Waygood (10) against some accurate bowling for Tish by Gwen Davies (2 for 10), Lola Phillips (2 for 24) and Chloe Badrock (2 for 17).
Then Freya Hicks (2 for 24) and Nia Simes (1 for 24) led the Carew bowling but Jo Bradshaw (24) and Linzi Picton (11) used their experience to good effect in seeing the visitors home by 6 wickets.


Whitland win well as Saundersfoot pushed them hard

Whitland 137 for 3 (19) beat Saundersfoot 102 for 6 (6) by 35 runs


Umpires: Harry Fuller & Chris Parker
Scorers: Colin John & Roger Stanford
Whitland produced one of their best batting performances to see off newcomers Saundersfoot as Mali Kirk (245) and Alys John led the way with 25 and 26 respectively before retiring, ably assisted by Angharad James (24) as Maddison Naye led the Saundersfoot bowling with an accurate 2 for 23.
But a total of 137 for 3 was to prove too challenging and The Seasiders’ Ladies fell short despite the efforts of Maddison Naye (18), Talia Evans (retired on 26) and Kate Joseph (13) as Aoife Sharpe (3 for 15), Amy Morgan (2 for 16) and Liz Richards (2 for 24) were the pick of the Whitland bowlers in a good all-round team effort.

Saundersfoot Ladies