2024 Ladies' Cricket - Week Four - 12th June


Cresselly cruise as Carew celebrate a brilliant win in the second division
(Compiled with the help of Ladies Organiser, Sam Rossiter)

There was cricket-aplenty in this week’s round of matches, collated as usual by Sam Rossiter, but a disappointment was the fact that Haverfordwest Ladies were unable to field a team and so Pembroke were awarded a walkover and 16 points when they would rather have been playing!  
In the second division Carew celebrated a cracking win against Saundersfoot, Pembroke Dock eased home against Tish in a cracking contest, and Whitland played really well to beat Kilgetty in another hard-fought contest.


Division One:




Cresselly too strong in top match


Burton 70 for 7 (4) lost to Cresselly 71 for 3 (16)

Umpires: Richard Jenkins & Morgan Scale
Scorer: Phoenix Phillips (Cresselly)
Burton won the toss at Cresselly and elected to bat first against their old rivals but the tactic back-fired as they could only muster 70 for 7, despite solid knocks by Elaine Scale (20) and Caroline Cooper (13) against tight bowling by Lucy Johnson (2 for 11) and Ffion Ashman (1 for 10), supported by tight fielding.
Then Megan Arthur (23) and Lucy Johnson formed the back-bone of the home team’s replay and they won with runs and wickets to spare, despite the efforts of Olivia James (1 for 8) and Lilly Jones (1 for 14).




Division Two:




Carew celebrate a convincing win


Saundersfoot 122 for 6 (6) lost to Carew (124 for 2 (18)

Saundersfoot elected to bat first and must have been pleased with a very solid final tally of 122 for 6 in their allotted 20 overs against their  counterparts from Carew but great innings of 26 not out by Kristin Jordan before she retired, and un unbeaten 24 from Holly Griffiths, saw The Lady Rooks pick up 18 welcome points for their performance as Talia Ennis (2 for 14) caught the eye with her bowling against them.
Jen Thomas (retired on 25) and Madi Neye (22) top scored for The Lady Seasiders as Laura Davies (2 for 14) and Freya Hicks (1 for 28) bowled well for Carew – and their whole team was understandably delight by this victory.

Whitland win well – again!


Whitland 119 for 3 (18) beat Kilgetty 100 for 6 (6)

Whitland travelled to Kilgetty and maintained their recent run of good at Kingsmoor as they won the toss, elected to bat first and in the final analysis were good value for victory by 19 runs as Kilgetty also played their part in an enjoyable game
Lani Hogben (25) and Mari Kirk were again the batters in form for The Lady Borderers before both retired and although Lowis Hughes (1 for 18) and Libby Evans (1 for 15) turned in useful bowling performances the final target set by the visitors was a challenging one.
And that’s just the way it turned out despite the efforts of Lowis Hughes (21) and Simone Richards (16) because Sally John (2 for 14) and Aoife Sharpe (1 for 18) eventually  led Whitland to a solid win as their reward.

St Ishmaels


The Dock  take honours in an Imble Lane run fest


Pembroke Dock 143 for 2 (16) beat St Ishmaels (135 for 2)

Umpires: George Smith/Rhys Daley & Johnny Lewis
Scorers: Peter Kingdom & Clarissa Lewis
There were runs galore as Pembroke Dock entertained St Ishmaels and edged home be eight runs on an evening where 278 runs were made and bowlers had to battle very hard for their wickets.
The Dock batted first and there were useful contributions, led as so often by Cheryl Hughes, Katie Griffiths and Abby Price, who all reached 25 before having to retire, with further useful contributions by Rachel Sander (17) and 13-year-old Martha Bari (21 not out) – with Jo Bradshaw claiming 1 for 20 in the Tish bowling attack.
Jo Bradshaw also reached 25 before retiring as Cath Orton (24 not out), plus 16 apiece for Sabrina Sweeny and Tracey Chandra took Tish close but useful bowling by Martha Bari (1 for 36) and Cheryl Hughes (1 for 18) helped The Dock eased through in an enjoyable evening’s cricket.