Sports Awards nominations announced!

The Young Ambassadors

The waiting is over and the nominations for the 2017 Sport Pembrokeshire Awards have been revealed!
Pictured are the winners from last years awards The Young AmbassadorsA total of 145 nominations have been received in 14 categories for individuals and teams involved in a variety of different sports across the County.  
The three finalists in each category will be announced in the Western Telegraph on 15th November. The overall winners will be unveiled at a gala ceremony at Folly Farm on 24th November, organised by Sport Pembrokeshire.

Good sponsorship – and Cllr Miller is delighted

The awards are sponsored by Valero, the Western Telegraph, Folly Farm, and Radio Pembrokeshire.  
The packed-out audienceCllr Paul Miller, Cabinet Member for Economy, Tourism, Leisure and Culture, said: “We’re really pleased that so many people have yet again taken the time to nominate individuals and teams from our sporting community to be recognised in the Sport Pembrokeshire awards.
“The awards are a great opportunity to acknowledge the hard work and achievements of our local sportspeople, coaches and volunteers, as well as celebrating the wide variety of sports being enjoyed across the County.” 
The nominations are as follows:
(Some individuals/teams received more than one nomination)
Contribution to School Sport
Leah Kitson-James
Dafydd Vaughan
Cariann Griffiths
Jonny Williams
Dan Edmonds
Rick Walton
Student Contribution to School Sport
Paddy Gallagher (YDS)
Lucy Harding, Sophie Grehan & Sophie Williams (STP)
James Price (STP)
Nina Garcia (Greenhill)
William Wright (Pembroke School)
Carys Davies (Greenhill)
Club Organiser
1. Yvette Bevan (Pembrokeshire Special Needs Gymnastic Club)
2. Megan Arthur (Cricket)
3. Alison Dixon (Haverfordwest Tennis Club)
4. Simon Morgan (Neyland AFC)
5. Alan Roach (Hakin Utd)
6. Steve Whitmore (Pembs Disabled Bowls Club)
7. Sam Butts (Sailing)
8. Mel Marshalsey (Netball)
9. Simon Collings (Rowing)
Senior Team
1. Pembrokeshire Special Needs Gymnastics Club
2. Pembroke School Senior Netball team
3. Haverfordwest Disability Gymnastics Team
4. Sam & Daisy Coleman (Powerboat Racing)
Junior Team
1. Hakin United AFC U16’s
2. Welsh Disability Cricket Team – 5 Pembs players
3. Pembrokeshire Schools U11’s Football Team
4. Ysgol Preseli U16’s rugby team
5. Pembrokeshire U10’s Cricket Team
6. Fishguard Sports AFC – Girls
7. Narberth Junior Netball Club
8. Pembrokeshire Harriers
9. Crymych RFC U16’s
Unsung Hero
1. Rob Williams (Lawrenny Cricket Club)
2. Rhodri Lewis (Crymych Cricket Club)
3. Matthew Evans (Activity Wales)
4. Ben Mathias Milsom (Neyland Cricket Club)
5. Carl Keane (Dockers Boxing Club)
6. Liz and Nigel Rowlands (Athletics)
7. Trefor Evans (Cricket)
8. Paul Webb (Cricket)
9. Richard Arthur (Cricket)
10.Carwyn Phillips (Running)
11.Dom Brody (Football)
12.Zac Davies (Football)
13.Sam Rossiter (Cricket)
14.Stephen Donovan (Official / Weightlifting)
15.Darren Rogers (Official / Weightlifting)
16.Charles Hopkinson (Rotary Sports)
17.Chris Gouldsmith (fundraising)
18.Steffan Jenkins (Cricket)
19.Aileen Saunders (Kayaking)
20.Peter Davies (Neyland Rugby & Cricket)
Disability Sport Award
1. Sian Jones (Boccia)
2. Robert Jamieson (Target Shooting)
3. Dewi Evans (Boccia)
4. Jack Lloyd (Bowls)
5. Harry Thomas (Para-Lifting and Wheelchair racing)
6. Raymond Lillicrop (Bowls)
Junior Disability Award
1. Leon Davies (Gymnastics)
2. Lily Rice (WCMX- Wheelchair Motocross)
3. Leah Shipley (Gymnastics & Swimming)
4. Anthony Triebel (Gymnastics)
5. Libi Phillips (Wheelchair Rugby)
6. Jake Morgans (Gymnastics)
7. Jack Collings (Gymnastics)
Girls U16’s
1. Carys Worby (Golf)
2. Poppy Owen & Lucy Kerrison (Gymnastics)
3. Rosie Llewellyn (Triathlon)
4. Lowri Hart (Badminton)
5. Efa Wilson (Rowing)
6. Shannon Davies (Dance)
7. Charlotte Whalley (Swimming)
8. Louisa Twigg (Swimming)
9. Jasmine Owen (Badminton)
10.Ella Wintle (Athletics)
11.Lowri Boorman (Sailing)
12.Emily Roberts (Football)
13.Teigan Canton (Football)
14.Maisy Foley (Athletics)
15.Chloe Hood (Weightlifting)
16.Tirion Eynon (Cricket)
Boys U16’s
1. Matthew Johnson (Climbing)
2. Joss Lerwill (Golf)
3. Evan Watts (Football & Cricket)
4. Kyle Kenniford (Football)
5. Thomas Beegan (Water Polo)
6. Dylan Evans (Rugby)
7. Gruffydd Green (Sailing)
8. Iori Humphrys (Cross Country)
9. Rhys Harries (Duathlon)
10.Sean Barrett (Swimming)
11.Oliver Wheeler (Hockey & Athletics)
12.Aaron O’Neil (Rugby)
13.James Hart (Weightlifting)
14.Louis Thomas (Weightlifting)
Male Achievement
1. Oliver Crawford (Octopush)
2. James Tomlinson (Athletics)
3. Gethin Davies (Rugby)
4. Luke Harries (Golf)
5. Tomos Dugmore (Triathlon)
Female Achievement
1. Lleucu George (Rugby)
2. Abbie Williams (Triathlon)
3. Angharad James (Football)
4. Jasmine Joyce (Rugby)
5. Gabrielle Ridge (Canoe Slalom)
Club of the Year
1. Just Tri Triathlon Club
2. Chaos Netball Club
3. Haverfordwest Seals Swimming Club
4. St. Florence Girls AFC
5. Strength Academy Wales
6. Tenby Netball Club
7. Pembrokeshire Harriers
8. Haverfordwest Kayak Club
Coach of the Year
1. Rob Williams (Lawrenny Cricket Club)
2. Tamara O’Leary (Pembs Puffins Disability Swimming Club)
3. Amy Yelland (Pembs Special Needs Gymnastics Club)
4. Sion Jenkins (Just Tri Junior Triathlon)
5. Liz Collyer (Climbing)
6. Colin Fawcett and Daisy Picton (Hakin United)
7. Stuart Tyrie (Ju-Jitsu)
8. Chris Barker (Squash)
9. Angie Nicholls (Football)
10.Craig Nelson (Swimming)
11.Jim Horner (Weightlifting)
12.Justin Head (Weightlifting)
13.Lynn Howells (Netball)
14.Crymych RFC u16’s coaches
15.Richard Owens (Sailing)

Pictured are the winners from last year’s awards
The Young Ambassadors
The packed-out audience