Sports Awards nominations announced

Huw George and Bill Carne

The waiting is over and the nominations for the 2021 Sport Pembrokeshire Awards have been revealed!

A total of 80 nominations have been received in 12 categories for individuals and teams involved in a variety of different sports across the County.

The three finalists in each category will be announced in the WesternTelegraph on 17th November. The overall winners will be unveiled at the ceremony at Folly Farm on 26th November, organised by Sport Pembrokeshire.

The awards are sponsored by Valero, the Western Telegraph, Folly Farm, and Radio Pembrokeshire.

Cllr Paul thanks nominators - and praises nominees
Cllr Paul Miller, Cabinet Member for Economy, Tourism, Leisure and Culture, thanked all those who had submitted a nomination and said the standard of entries was once again very high.

“We’re really pleased that so many people have taken the time to nominate individuals and teams from our sporting community to be recognised in the Sport Pembrokeshire awards,” he said.

“The awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the hard work and achievements of local sportspeople, coaches and volunteers and we’re looking forward to a great evening.”

The nominations are as follows:
(some individuals/teams received more than one nomination)

Young Volunteer of the Year
1. Carys Ribbon & Jess Raymond
2. Leila Egelstaff
3. Ffion Williams (Haverfordwest Seals)
4. Olivia Probert
5. Adele Bevan

Club Organiser
1. Trevor & Becki Badham and Colin Evans (Cricket)
2. Brian Millard (Disability Sport)
3. Sean Hannon (Cricket)
4. Gareth Bennett (Swimming)
5. Naomi Dalton (Boxing)

Senior Team
1. Cresselly Ladies Cricket Team
2. Neyland Cricket Club 1st Team
3. Saundersfoot Bowls Club over 55’s Fours team

Junior Team
1. Haverfordwest Artistic Gymnastics
2. Pembrokeshire Harriers SIAB Team
3. St. Ishmael’s Cricket Club U11’s
4. Haverfordwest RFC U9’s

Unsung Hero
1. Jamie Phelps (Cricket)
2. Lauren Watts (Tumbling)
3. Nick Daley (Cricket)
4. Stuart Tyrie (Ju Jitsu)
5. Lukas Gamble (Football)
6. Fee Shiels (Gymnastics)
7. Richard Arthur (Cricket)
8. Martin & Celt Edwards
9. Jenny Harries and Kelly Griffiths (Athletics)
10. Brian Milllard (Disability Sport)
11. Gareth Bennett (Haverfordwest Seals)
12. Ian Duncan (Boxing)
13. Simon Gardiner (Rugby)
14. Sarah Keogh (Tennis)
15. Dorian Howells (Rugby)
16. Simon Morgan (Football)

Disability Sport Award
1. Sian Jones (Boccia)
2. Leon Davies (Cricket)
3. Libi Phillips (Wheelchair Basketball)
4. Michael Jenkins (Shot and Discus)

Girls U16’s
1. Jessica Shiels (Gymnastics)
2. Gracie Griffiths (Athletics)
3. Josie Hawke (Surfing)
4. Lucy Wintle (Athletics)

Boys U16’s
1. Alistair Dyer (Hockey)
2. Dafydd Pawlett (Shot)
3. TJ Edwards
4. Owen Rickard (Rugby)
Good crowd at Folly Farm Theatre