Sport Awards 2019 nominations announced

Pictured are Fishguard & Goodwick Ladies Hockey Club, who were finalists in the Team of the Year category in last year’s Sport Pembrokeshire Awards.

Pictured are Fishguard & Goodwick Ladies Hockey Club, who were finalists in the Team of the Year category in last year’s Sport Pembrokeshire Awards.

The waiting is over and the nominations for the 2019 Sport Pembrokeshire Awards have been revealed!
A total of 186 nominations have been received in 13 categories for individuals and teams involved in a variety of different sports across the County.  
The three finalists in each category will be announced in the Western Telegraph on 20th November. The overall winners will be unveiled at a gala ceremony at Folly Farm on 29th November, organised by Sport Pembrokeshire.
The awards are sponsored by Valero, the Western Telegraph, Folly Farm, and Radio Pembrokeshire.  
Cllr Paul Miller, Cabinet Member for Economy, Tourism, Leisure and Culture, said he was delighted that so many people had submitted nominations – the second highest amount ever received. 
“The awards are a fantastic opportunity to recognise the hard work and achievements of local sportspeople, coaches and volunteers and to celebrate the variety of sports enjoyed across the County,” he said.  
The nominations are as follows:
(some individuals/teams received more than one nomination)
Young Volunteer of the Year
  1. Jazz Miller
  2. Nicola Hayton
  3. Lucy Harding
  4. Adele Bevan
  5. Harry Twigg (Cricket)
  6. Katie Daniel (Fishguard Thunderbolts)
  7. Emily Grey
Club Organiser
  1. Simon Nicholas (Milford Haven Golf Club)
  2. Jo Salmon (Pembrokeshire Harriers)
  3. Haverfordwest Gymnastics Club Committee
  4. Phil Williams (Greenhill School)
  5. Andrew Skeels (Lamphey Cricket Club)
  6. Royston Badham (Karting)
  7. Finola Findlay (Dancing)
  8. Jason Chapman (Merlins Bridge AFC)
  9. Stu Penfold (Porthmawr Surf Lifesaving Club)
  10.  Haverfordwest Gymnastics Club
  11. Alison Lewis (Pennar Robins FC)
Senior Team
  1. Tenby Penguins Open Water Swim Club
  2. Pembrokeshire Yacht Club – Junior Rowing Section
  3. Crymych RFC Youth
  4. Tenby Bowls Club
  5. West Wales Ladies Bowling Assoication
  6. Pembroke RFC 1st XV 2018/19
  7. Merlins Bridge AFC
Junior Team
  1. Jack and Ben Morgan (Swimming)
  2. Niamh Edwards, Tamzin Cooper & Poppy Owen (Gymnastics)
  3. Thomas Richardson & Mia Walsh (Gymnastics)
  4. Camrose FC Under 16’s 2018/19
  5. Pembrokeshire Harriers U15’s Boys Relay Team
  6. Scarlets Wheelchair Rugby
  7. Ysgol Y Preseli Equestrian Team
  8. Haverfordwest Disability Gymnastics Squad
Unsung Hero
  1. Sean Hannon (Neyland Cricket & Football)
  2. Andrew Williams (Herbrandston Football & Cricket)
  3. Grant Cole (Lamphey Cricket Club)
  4. Richard Arthur (Cresselly Cricket Club)
  5. Jayne Cole (Haverfordwest Cricket Club)
  6. Helen Hodges (Lamphey Cricket Club)
  7. Geoff Daye (Lamphey Cricket Club)
  8. Daisy Da Gama Howells (Skateboarding)
  9. Brian & Colin Thomas (Haverfordwetst County FC)
  10. John Williams (Cricket)
  11. Simon Morgan (Neyland Football Club)
Disability Sport Award
  1. Matt Bush (Para-Taekwondo)
  2. Rhys Davies (Swimming)
  3. Cameron White (Bowls)
  4. Raymond Lillycrop (Bowls)
  5. Jonathan Hubbard (Bowls)
Junior Disability Award
  1. Michael Jenkins (Discus & Shotput)
  2. Lizzie Booth (Gymnastics)
  3. Libi Phillips (Wheelchair Basketball / Wheelchair Racing)
  4. Lily Rice (WCMX)
  5. Emma Wilkinson (Swimming)
  6. Harry Malone (Cricket)
  7. Aleksander Teslenko (Gymnastics)
  8. Lucas Roach (Gymnastics)
  9. Eva Jones (Gymnastics)
  10. Madison Jones (Gymnastics)
  11. Caitlin Jackson (Gymnastics)
  12. Daisy Darley (Gymnastics)
  13. Bleddyn Gibbs (Weightlifting)
Girls U16’s
  1. Hollie Jenkins (Golf)
  2. Gracie Griffiths (Race walking)
  3. Phoebe Noott (Hockey)
  4. Ffion Wilmott (Boxing)
  5. Kacey Arran (Cricket, Hockey, Football)
  6. Ella Wintle (Athletics)
  7. Lleucu Lloyd (Athletics)
  8. Lucy Wintle (Athletics)
  9. Lisa Smart (Equestrian / Dressage)
  10. Opal Rayner (Football)
  11. Kasumi Tran (Golf)
  12. Lottie Whalley (Weightlifting)
  13. Katie Dickinson (Bowls)
Boys U16’s
  1. Euan Dyer (Hockey)
  2. Rhys Llewellyn (Cross Country)
  3. Dewi Thomas (Triathlon)
  4. Charlie Arthur (Cricket)
  5. Tyree Thompson (Athletics)
  6. Finley Lewis (Cricket)
  7. Liam Topp (Athletics)
  8. Dan Davies (Weightlifting)
Male Achievement
  1. Adam Hughes (Football)
  2. Ollie Wheeler (Hockey, Athletics and Football)
  3. John Collier (Triathlon)
  4. Sam Joseph (Karting)
  5. Gareth James (Karting)
Female Achievement
  1. Nia Matthews (Under Water Hockey)
  2. Chloe Edwards (Under Water Hockey)
  3. Victoria Charnock-Crawford (Under Water Hockey)
  4. Ysie White (Bowls)
  5. Katie Thomas (Bowls)
Club of the Year
  1. Pembrokeshire Puffins
  2. Pennar Robins Junior Football Club
  3. Pembroke Netball Club
  4. Fishguard Thunderbolts
  5. Neyland Cricket Club
  6. Milford Haven Gymnastics Club
  7. Vibe School of Dance
  8. Cresselly Cricket Club – Juniors
  9. Pembrokeshire Tri Club
  10. Haverfordwest Gymnastics Club
  11. Pembrokeshire Disabled Bowls Club
  12. Tenby Bowling Club
  13. FF Dancers
  14. Porthmawr Surf Lifesaving Club
  15. Scarlets Wheelchair Rugby Club
Coach of the Year
  1. Wayne Griffiths (Pembrokeshire Harriers)
  2. Stuart Davis (Karting)
  3. Carl Keane (Boxing)
  4. John Roberts (Football)
  5. Jill Bryant (Swimming)
  6. Stefanie Faye Mansel (Dressage)
  7. Alice Watts and Faye Omnett (Netball)
  8. Brian Millard (Disability Sport)
  9. Phill Thomas (Swimming)
  10. Mikey Newman (Parkour)
  11. Colin Picton (Rugby)
  12. Daisy Lewis (Gymnastics)
  13. Stefan Jenkins (Cricket & Football)
  14. Nick Shelmerdine (Cricket)
  15. Nick Russell (Swimming)
  16. Pembrokeshire Disabled Bowls Club Coaches (Bowls)
  17. Richard Taff Owens (Sailing)
  18. Finola Findlay (FF Dancers)
  19. Mattew D’Ivry (Merlins Bridge AFC)
  20. Jo Sommers (Haverfordwest Gymnastics Club)
  21. Suzanne Wakefield (Elements Gymnastics Academy)
  22. Shane Abbott (Neyland AFC)