Indoor Cricket - Division One - 19th November 2023

The Pembroke six which beat The Dock Umpires: Jonathan Willington and Steve Williams
Organiser: Patrick Hannon

Amazing range of scores as Neyland A reach 151 for 2 and Llanrhian are 14 all out!

The three matches on Sunday morning at the Neyland community Hub featured some interesting to say the least with surely one of the biggest margins of victory ever, the lowest score achieved in men’s indoor cricket – and some interesting and enjoyable cricket sandwiched neatly in between.

Pembroke Dock (86 all out) lost to Pembroke (87 for 4)

This eagerly-awaited local derby was a hard-fought tussle before the Treelet Troop beat the Imble Lane cohort!
The Dock got off to a poor start as ace run-maker George Smith departed for a duck but Tom Grimshaw maintained his good form with 38 on his two visits before he was run out, as were Rhys Daley (8) and his dad Nick (5). Club captain Scott Griffiths made 21 before he suffered the same fate and Ryan Eynon failed to trouble the scorers – but their tally was boosted by 14 extras as Jack Harries’s 1 for 5 hauls from 10 deliveries was the stand-out bowling for Pembroke.
Then Harries led the Pembroke batting, as he usually does with top score of 34 not out as Gareth Long (14), Jon Rogers (10) and Luke Butler (16 not out) also made useful contributions. James Tomkinson (1) and Sam Davies (6) came and went in quick succession – leaving the Harries/ Butler duo to steer their team to victory with seven balls to spare despite the efforts of Grimwood (1 for 18) and ‘old warhorse’ Nick Daley (3 for 18) for The Dock.

Neyland B (91 for 5) beat Llanrhian (14 all out)

Sam Laugharne - 36 not out for Neyland BBoth teams could only muster five players but it was Neyland B who adapted by far the better as they reached a reasonable 91 for 5 before shooting out Llanrhian for 14 runs in six overs!
Louis Page was run out for 25 and Sam Laugharne topped Neyland’s batting with an unbeaten 36 to tie things together before George Evans (12) and Jamie Smith (6) were run out as their innings included four fours, two sixes and only 10 ‘dot balls’.
Then Llanrhian’s innings quickly developed into such chaos that even Iwan James, one of the best batsmen in local indoor cricket, failed to score alongside Billy Clarke, with singles for Tom Clarke and Karl Davies as Steve Bachelor was top scorer on three! That meant only five runs came from the bat as ‘Mr Extras’ had nine runs to his name!

Neyland (152 for 2) beat Hook (40 all out)

Paul Murray - led Neyland A by example as he top scoredAlmost as shell-shocked must have been the Hook players as they endured a massive 112-run defeat as Neyland A showed their firepower to reach a massive tally and then really turned the screw in the fielding and bowling stakes to bowl out a team rightly regarded as one to watch in the future because they have so many fine young players in the club.
Paul Murray (29), Ross Hardy (25), Andrew Miller (27) and Brad McDermott-Jenkins (26) all reached the retirement figure of 25 in double-quick time and the only ‘failures’ were Sean Hannon (caught by Aled Phelps off Daf Bowen for 24) and Jack John (adjudged lbw to Harry Makepeace for 15!).

A measure of Neyland A’s batting quality can be gauged from the fact that there were seven fours, four sixes, 24 threes and only 10 balls without a run being scored!
Liam Miller (6) was caught by his father Andrew off Ross hardy and although Rhys and Aled Phelps reached 11 and 17 respectively they were both run out as Neyland ramped up the pressure before Harry Makepeace (0), Bowen (2) and Bradley Flood (2) quickly left the scene so that Hook were shot out in only six overs.
 Brad McDermott was the only Neyland bowler to complete two overs as he returned figures of  1 for 8 as Jack John (0 for 9) Hardy (1 for 5), Miller (1 for 4) and Hannon (1 for 4) played their part – and the scary thing is that they still have the likes of Nick Koomen, Patrick Bellerby, Patrick Hannon and others not currently available!