Hook overcome Cresselly to win Pembroke County Cricket Club U11 Junior League Final

Winners Hook Under 11s 

Hook (246-6) beat Cresselly (217 -10) by 29 runs

Sponsor Colin John – Llewelyn Davies & Co Chartered Accountants
Umpires:  Allan Hansen & Robert Ridge
Scorers:   Natalie Jones & Jon Willington
Coaches:  Simon Cole/ Christian Phillips and Matthew Holder
Venue:   Hook Cc
Evan Martin Trophy Winner George WonnacottThis year's final was between the top two sides from both zones with Cresselly beating Haverfordwest in the one semi-final and Hook beating Narberth in the other and then coming out on top in an excellent final.
The Under11s game is played in a pair’s format   and   Hook captain Charlie Holder won the toss against his counter-part Phoenix Phillips and decided to bowl first.
Some tight bowling from Hook saw Cresselly lose wickets on a regular basis.  The batting pairs of Phoenix and Ollie Toy put on 13, Arthur Jenkins and Elin Edwards 7, Caden Jones and Jack Mears 7 and Cody Jones and Finley Rowlands 7. For Hook the pick of the bowlers were Olly Nutty 1-11, Rhys Tennick 2-10, Charlie Holder 2-10, Mason Hughes 2-12 and George Wonnacott 3-11 as Cresselly finished on 217-10
After Monday’s rained-off game, where the Cresselly bowlers dominated, the Hook batters came in with a bit more determination and Cresselly found wickets a little harder to take despite their best efforts. Ollie Nutty and Mason Hughes put on 13 for the opening stand followed by Rhys Tennick and George Wonnacott 19, Jack Llewellyn and Joe Warrender 14 and Charlie Holder and Oliver Stamp 18.
For Cresselly Jack Mears 1-12, Phoenix Phillips 1-9 and an excellent direct hit run out, Cadyn Jones 3-8 and no doubt the fielder of the match, with two suburb catches, was Finley Rowlands as Hook finished on 246-6.
This final was the inaugural year of the Evan Martin Trophy, named after a stalwart of Hook CC for many years, and after deliberations with the umpires the trophy was awarded to a jubilant George Wonnacott of Hook
Again it was great to see a large crowd of knowledgeable spectators who certainly saw some entertaining cricket. It was great to see the two teams enjoying the after-match game celebrations with Hook playing all sorts of games on the field and Cresselly in traditional style filled the cup up.
In the presentation after the match Martin Jones (Junior Organiser) congratulated both sides on reaching the final with some excellent play by both sides, which should be proud of their junior sections. He thanked Hook for hosting the final, including Andrew Thomas and Keith James, the ground staff.  Afterwards the club lay on refreshments for the players, which was well received.
He thanked umpires Allan Hansen and Robert Ridge, scorers Natalie Jones & Jon Willington, who all contributed to the evening’s entertainment.
Last and by no means least he thanked sponsors Colin John of Llewelyn Davies & Co Chartered Accountants for his continued and valuable support of Junior Cricket in the county, together with Richard Merriman, County Chairman.
Cresselly Squad members:   Rhys White, Bobby Shapcott, Mari Cole, Lilly & George
Hook Squad Members:   Dylan Keen, Nico Quinn, Morgan Jones, Rowan Nickerson

Runners up Cresselly Under 11s

Umpires Allan Hansen and Robert Ridge

Scorers Natalie Jones and Jon Willington