Young Otters complete a cup double

Under 17s Cup Final - winners Narberth

Mike Fry Under 17s Cup Final:


Narberth U17s 41 - Pembroke U17s 14

Venue: Heywood Lane, Tenby
Under 17s Cup - Narberth captain  Dafydd GibbyNarberth’s talented young players completed a double success within a week as they followed up their narrow win against Crymych in the under 18s’ Griffiths Cup with this success for their under 17 squad in the inaugural Mike Fry Cup against a gritty Pembroke side that never gave up trying and although they lost carried their colours well to complete an epic season for the Crickmarren club.

Experience pays dividends

One of the major differences between the sides was the fact that although both are highly skilful and committed The Young Otters had the edge in terms of experience since over half the team had already collected Griffiths’ Cup winners’ medals, especially in key positions like centre, outside half and in all three rows up front.

Narberth took the lead with an excellent unconverted try by centre Rhys Kemble, who was a constant thorn in the Pembroke defensive flesh that was soon followed by a second score, this time from open-side flanker Lewis Whalley before No 10 Lewis Hough converted.

Scarlets battle in vain to score

There was no shortage of effort from The Young Scarlets as skipper Evan Phillips, Shane Gwyther, Jonathan Woods and Theo Davies led their forward effort and half backs Jarred Sharratt and Kyren Gray tried to get some forward motion and a platform from which to attack.

But Kemble sped through for his second try, which Hough converted – and Narberth were 24-0 ahead at half time as outside centre Dylan Walsh crossed the whitewash for an unconverted try.

Otters increase lead – but Scarlets show real spirit

Under 17s Cup - match officialsAn early second-half try by Narberth from winger Rhys Meredith Barrett extended that lead but Pembroke showed tremendous spirit as they kept plugging away and were finally rewarded with a nicely-conceived try by No 10 Kyren Gray which half back partner Jared Sherrat converted, as he did when full back Harry Turner also crossed the whitewash following a period of pressure.

But Scarlets’ supporters’ hopes of another fight-back, that has categorized the club’s efforts this season, were halted when The Young Otters added late tries by No 8 Stephen Pilot and replacement Rhys Davies.
It meant that Narberth skipper Daf Gibby received the splendid new trophy and both teams certainly gave this new competition the impetus it deserves in memory of a great supporter of youth and junior rugby in our county.
Narberth U17s: Ryan Scourfield: Ifan Rees; Dylan Walsh; Rhys Kemble; Rhys Meredith Barrett: Lewis Hough; Jordan James: Jac Norcross; Tom Clarke; Kaleb Higgon: Daf Gibby; Griff Evans: Owain Hughes; Lewis Whalley; Stephen Pilot. Replacements: Isaac Hughes; Dylan Lloyd; Rhys Davies; Harri Harries.

Pembroke U17s: Harry Turner: Joseph Watkins; James Jones; Rhys Griffiths; Jonathan Smith: Kyren Gray; Jared Sherrat: Evan Phillips; Shane Gwyther; Liam Brunton: Josh Aron; Jonathan Woods: Dewi Roberts; Med le Breton-Booth; Theo Davies. Replacements:  Ethan Stewart; James Allen; Curtis Palmer.

Under 17s Cup Final - Pembroke