Young Charlie pounces with a cracking second half winner for Bluebirds

Charlie Young celebrates scoring his first senior goal for The Bluebirds

Charlie Davies celebrates scoring his first senior goal for The Bluebirds




Haverfordwest County 1 – Llantwit Major 0

Substitute Charlie Davies struck a cracking second-half winner to secure Haverfordwest County a narrow victory over Llantwit Major at the Conygar Bridge Meadow.

The visitors beat Trethomas Blueuebirds 3-0 to win the Welsh League Division Three title and gain promotion to Division Two in their final home game of last season. This is highest standard the club has achieved in its 50 plus year history.

The Bluebirds should have taken the lead in the 30th minute; striker Joe Leahy missed a sitter from inside the box.

Minutes later and 17 year old Dan Williams saw his goal-bound shot desperately cleared off the line, after the midfielder rounded visitors’ keeper Jack Lansdown.

Cracking finish

The Bluebirds finally broke the deadlock in the 57th minute with a beautifully created goal. Right back Matthew Broome threaded a ball through the channel to the industrious Ricky Watts, his by-line cross fell to Leahy inside the box, the striker intelligently turned and fed Charlie Davies just inside the 18 yard area, and the Bluebirds Academy product struck a brilliant left-footed rising shot that flew into Lansdown’s top right hand corner.

Bright prospects

Alaric Jones, only 16, came on and impressed with a number of penetrating runs and superb left foot crosses into the box. Another Bluebirds Academy product Leon Luby struck a terrific 30 yard rocket that crashed off the bar.

The visitors could have levelled matters right at the death, but Bluebirds’ newly installed goalkeeper Conah McFenton pulled off a stunning save to deny Jack Jones.

On Tuesday, 8th August, Haverfordwest County entertain Carmarthen Stars at the Conygar Bridge Meadow, kick-off is at 7.30pm.

Haverfordwest County: Conah McFenton, Matthew Broome, Kristian Speake, Sean Pemberton (Captain), Sam Rodon, Ricky Watts, Steffan Williams, Greg Walters, Joe Leahy, Dan Williams, Luke Raymond. Substitutes: Chris Brown, Leon Luby, Frazer Finley, Charlie Davies, Alaric Jones, Nick Jones.

Llantwit Major: Jack Lansdown, Jamie Miller, Glyn Davies, Jonathan Fletcher, Sean Williams, Jake Roberts, Jonathan Butler, Kris Smith, Lee Jones, Josh Jones, Gareth Davies. Substitutes: Lewis Brown, Ben McCrum, Josh Morgan, Mark Evans, Luke Beattie.

Referee: David Badger.
Assistants: Gavin Southcott & Angus Scourfield.

Steffan Williams plays the ball down the line

Steffan Williams plays the ball down the line