The Town slam Herefordshire Champions

The winners Haverfordwest CC 

Winners Haverfordwest CC

Dales CC

Dales CC

Scorers and umpires

Scorers and umpires

Organiser Peter Davies
PCCC Chairman Paul Webb
Haverfordwest CC skipper Kieran O'Brien
Man of the match Simon Holliday


Indoor Cricket – Regional Final:


Haverfordwest CC (72 for 0) beat Dales CC (71 all out)

Umpires: Neil Croucher and Inga Bavers
Scorers: Simon Williams and Phil Mellish
Venue:  Tenby Leisure Centre
Organiser: Peter Davies
Organiser Peter DaviesHaverfordwest showed why they are the Welsh Indoor Cricket champions as they entertained Herefordshire title holders Dales Cricket Club and came away with a thumping win where they dismissed the visitors for 71 in their allotted 12 overs and then reached their target without losing a wicket and with almost half their overs still left.

This success in the Wales and the Midlands Group means that The Town have taken another step towards their dream of a final appearance at Lord’s and must now wait to find out who their opponents are in the next stage.

Holliday stars in great team performance

It was an excellent all-round team performance but again it was Simon Holliday who led from the front as he shifted Jon-Jon Jones for a duck in his opening over, took a good catch in Kieran O’Connor’s first over and then shifted Ian Jones to finish his three-over stint with special figures of 2 for 12.

Not content with that little lot he then opened the Haverfordwest batting with Ben Field and rasped four fours and a six before retiring after he had passed 25.

Skipper Kieran leads from the outsetPCCC Chariman Paul Webb

Young skipper Kieran O’Connor got The Town off to a good start by winning the toss and inviting the visitors to bat first and he also bowled three really good overs to end with a 1 for 19 haul, whilst Nigel Delaney only conceded 13 runs in his three overs and was unlucky not to have a couple of wickets.

Danny Potter grabbed the wicket of Ed Williams for 11 (one four and a six) and followed up with the only maiden of the match to finish with 1 for 19, helping to restrict Dales to only 29 for 3at the half-way mark of their innings.

If there was a blemish on the performance in the field it was the fact that they conceded 23 extras, 15 of them from wides, but had two run outs as Holliday was again involved after Mike Batson had struck a six and four in his 23 runs – and keeper Huw Scriven ran out Alfie Stanik from the final ball of the innings.

Holliday and Field bat well

Haverfordwest CC skipper Kieran O Brien
Holliday and Field then set about The Dales bowlers safe in the knowledge that there was no need for any mad-cap dashes and they reached 60 before Holliday had to retire on 26, with Field stroking  two fours and a six en route to his undefeated 21.

Nigel Delaney joined him in strolling to a winning tally, assisted by 21 extras that included 17 runs from wides, and The Town were home and dry.

Great organisation shows the county in a good light

The event was superbly organised as ever by Peter Davies, with county chairman Paul Webb there to wish Haverfordwest good luck in their next tie and Dales a safe journey home. Neil Croucher was joined as umpires by Inga Bavers, who is the first lady to umpire at this level in the county but regularly officiates The Marches League, whilst the scorers were Haverfordwest cricketer Simon Williams and Phil Mellish, who is the Hon Secretary of the Indoor League in the Dales’ area.


Dales CC Batting:
Jack Rowsell ct Simon Holliday b Kieran O’Conner 5
Jon-Jon Jones b Simon Holliday 0Man of the match Simon Holliday
Ed Williams b Danny Potter 11
Mike Batson run out 23
Ian Jones b Simon Holliday 4
Alfie Stanik run out 5
Extras 23
Total (all out) 71
Haverfordwest CC Bowling:
Simon Holliday 3-0-12-2; Kieran O’Connor 3-0-19-1; Nigel Delaney 3-0-13-0; Danny Potter 3-1-19-1
Haverfordwest CC Batting:
Simon Holliday retired 26
Ben Field not out 21
Nigel Delaney not out 4
Extras 21
Total (0 wicket) 72
Dales CC Bowling:
Mike Batson 1-0-10-0; Ed Williams 1-0-11-0; Ian Jones 2-0-24-0; Jack Rowsell 2-0-17-0; Alfie Stanik 0.1-0-5-0