Scotcher's first half penalty earns Bluebirds the points

​Ben Fawcett has a low shot at goal

Ben Fawcett has a low shot at goal
Danny Williams is through with just the keeper to beat
Ashley Bevan turns his marker

Haverfordwest County 1 - Goytre 0

Danny Williams is through with just the keeper to beatElliot Scotcher’s first half penalty sealed a hard fought victory for Haverfordwest County against Goytre at the Conygar Bridge Meadow Stadium.

This was the Bluebirds’ fifth win from six games, and the margin of victory was slender, but some poor finishing in the second period should have seen Wayne Jones’ team secure the win by a bigger margin.

The defining moment of the match came in the 25th minute when Elliot Thomas was brought down by Goytre keeper Giles Cutlan who received a yellow card, when on another afternoon it could have easily been red.

Scotcher is spot on

From the resultant spot-kick Scotcher made no mistake with a cool finish from 12 yards.

Bluebirds’ goalkeeper Steve Hall had a relatively quiet afternoon thanks to a well orgainsed defence where assistant boss Tim Hicks marshalled Alaric Jones, Martyn Carroll and Antonio Facciuto.

Ricky Watts took a heavy knock to the head and was replaced by Tom Dyson in midfield; the latter worked tirelessly in the second period.

Ashley Bevan turns his markerCounty make changes

The hard working Jack Wilson was replaced by Ashley Bevan and Leon Luby came on at left back instead of Carroll.

Fawcett came close to scoring on a number of occasions, the teenager glancing a near post header just over the crossbar and also struck a wicked shot just wide, Danny Williams was guilty of missing a one-on-one with Cutlan.

However, the Bluebirds stayed firm for a thoroughly deserved three points and are sitting four points behind leaders Penybont, but the Bluebirds have a game in hand.

Haverfordwest County: Steve Hall; Martyn Carroll; Antonio Facciuto; Tim Hicks; Alaric Jones; Ricky Watts; Elliot Thomas; Elliot Scotcher; Ben Fawcett; Danny Williams; Jack Wilson. Substitutes: Tom Dyson; Leon Luby; Ashley Bevan, Fraser Finlay.

Goytre: Giles Cutlan; Ross Shergold; Eli Thomas-Frost; Alex Evans (Captain); Dion Molyneux; Ben Burns; Connor Coffy; James East; Lewis Sommers; Daniel Stoneman; Christian Mbongompasi. Substitutes: Ryan Davies; Ousman Touray; Soale Abdullah.

Referee: Ryan Kenny.

Assistants: Tom Bateman & David Badger.