Reed and Couzens clean up Laugharne



Alan Brown Cup Final:


Laugharne (79-9 and 84-9) lost to Llanrhian (149-7 and 15-0) by 10 wickets

Umpires: Steve Williams and Chris Stapleton
Scorers: Jason Cole and Robert Pearce
Venue: Lawrenny Cricket Club
Man of the Match: Richard Reed

Skipper Richard Reed holds the Alan Brown CupLlanrhian retained the Alan Brown Cup as a destructive spell from Anthony Couzens, followed by a half century from skipper Richard Reed, set them up for a win over Laugharne at Lawrenny yesterday.

The Carmarthenshire side started well with the bat, but after collapsing to 79-9 in their first innings, The Cows then built a 70 run at tea and from there, never relinquished their grip.

Laugharne first innings 79-9:

After being put into bat by Reed, Laugharne started well as Andrew Edwards and James Ingleton went on the attack.

Ingleton got away with three fours and then a maximum in his 26, and Edwards also looked good for his 13, but when both fell to Chris Arundel the tide turned.

Chris Rodenhurst also made 13, but no one else was in double figures as Couzens shifted momentum with a super over, taking four wickets for no runs as Shane Williams , James Stephenson, Carl Smith, and Simon Davies all fell.

He went on to take 5-12 in a five-over spell, while Arundel took 2-24 and Nigel Delaney 2-2, and keeper Reed notched five dismissals.

Llanrhian 149-8:

Scorer Jason Price and Robert  PearceLaugharne needed to strike early, and Carl Smith did just that as he bowled one that reared up and had Paul Lewis caught behind by Rodenhurst after an early boundary.

But then a partnership between Reed and Jack Jones took the game away from Laugharne. The latter made 26 (two fours and a six) while the captain eventually went for 52, hammering six fours and a six.
Chris Arundel also cracked two maximums and two fours in his cameo for 21, and Tom Clarke (12) cleared the ropes twice.

Ingleton was the pick of the bowlers with 2-12 in five overs, but his side were left with plenty to do as The Cows led by 70 at tea.

Laugharne second innings 84-9:

Needing quick runs, Laugharne sent Smith (9) and Ingleton (2) out to open but both went in the same fashion, driving straight back to bowler Clarke.

James Devonald went in at No 3 and hit two slog sweeps for six in his 17, and Rodenhurst also cleared the hedge in his 17.

Captain Edwards also hit 13 but Llanrhian were kept firmly on top by Clarke (3-28), Delaney (3-12) and Couzens (3-25) and with Laugharne only able to go 14 runs beyond the deficit, the contest was essentially over.

Umpires Steve Williams and Chris StapletonLlanrhian 15-0:

It took Lewis and Reed just 1.2 overs to knock off the target, with Reed taking Smith for three successive boundaries, one of which was a no ball, to seal the win.

It rounded off a final which was again well hosted by Lawrenny, and in the post-match presentations it was Dave Brandon, of the Pembrokeshire Association of Umpires and Scorers, who reflected on the competition and called the umpires, scorers, and players up for their medals.

It was Reed who took the man of the match award before lifting the trophy for the second time – and the Pembrokeshire cricket season will draw to a close next Saturday when Haverfordwest 3rds play Neyland 3rds in the Ken Morris Cup final in Narberth.


First innings:
Laugharne Batting:
Andrew Edwards ct Tom Clarke b Chris Arundel 13
James Ingleton ct Richard Reed b Chris Arundel 26
Chris Rodenhurst ct Richard Reed b Nigel Delaney 13
Shane Williams ct Paul Lewis b Anthony Couzens 2
James Stephenson b Anthony Couzens 5
Carl Smith ct Richard Reed b Anthony Couzens 0
Simon Davies ct Richard Reed b Anthony Couzens 0
James Devonald ct Richard Reed b Anthony Couzens 0
Liam Reynolds ct Rhodri Owen b Nigel Delaney 0
Cas Boys not out 2
Tyler Reynolds not out 1
Extras: 17.
Total: 79 for 9 wickets
Llanrhian Bowling:
Dafydd Williams 2-0-21-0; Tom Clarke 5-1-19-0; Chris Arundel 5-0-24-2; Anthony Couzens 5-1-12-5; Nigel Delaney 3-1-2-2
Llanrhian Batting:
Paul Lewis ct Chris Rodenhurst b Carl Smith 2
Richard Reed b James Ingleton 52
Jack Jones ct Carl Smith b Simon Davies 26
Nigel Delaney b Tyler Reynolds 4
Chris Arundel ct James Devonald b Simon Davies 21
Tom Clarke ct Chris Rodenhurst b Carl Smith 12
Ben D Jones lbw James Ingleton 8
Ben Jones not out 9
Extras: 15
Total: 149 for 8 wickets
Laugharne Bowling:
Carl Smith 5-1-39-2; James Ingleton 5-1-12-2; Tyler Reynolds 4-0-47-1; Simon Davies 5-0-40-2; Andrew Edwards 1-0-9-0.
Second innings:
Laugharne Batting:
Carl Smith ct and b Tom Clarke 9
James Ingleton ct and b Tom Clarke 2
James Devonald st Richard Reed b Tom Clarke 17
Chris Rodenhurst ct Dafydd Williams b Nigel Delaney 17
James Stephenson b Anthony Couzens 4
Andrew Edwards b Nigel Delaney 13
Simon Davies lbw Nigel Delaney 0
Liam Reynolds not out 5
Cas Boyd ct Chris Arundel b Anthony Couzens 0
Tyler Reynolds ct Paul Lewis b Anthony Couzens 0
Shane Williams not out 1
Extras: 17
Total: 84 for 9 wickets
Llanrhian Bowling:
Chris Arundel 5-0-19-0; Tom Clarke 5-1-28-3; Nigel Delaney 5-0-12-3; Anthony Couzens 5-0-25-3.
Llanrhian Batting:
Paul Lewis not out 2
Richard Reed not out 12
Extras: 1
Total: 15 for 0 wickets
James Ingleton 1-0-2-0; Carl Smith 0.2-0-13-0.